We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice complex of Chinese gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)

Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)
No.137 Anren Street, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
021-63260830
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Private Tour: Yuyuan Garden, Chenghuangmiao...
Ranked #15 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 2,438 Reviews
Type: Gardens, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A classical garden complete with period style buildings. The Garden was created by Pan Yunduan a Government Officer for his family finishing in 1577.
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very nice complex of Chinese gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The garden is very nice place in the heart of Shanghai and you can see so many interesting buildings, secluded places and trees. This place is usually crowded but really worth it. The best time to visit is the morning before the travel coaches coming.
Recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,084
    956
    344
    46
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A jewel within old town of Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The charm is forever there and intact despite of the ever increasing hustles and bustles outside. Good job the local government protecting this ancient, southern Chinese style garden dating back to 16th century. It is of typical southern Chinese style garden with ponds with gold fish, zigzaging cobbled paths and covered walkways and bridges through bushes, flowers and trees. Just fascinating. It is within easy reach of public transit such as subway and bus. it is walkable from the Bund, the waterfront of Huang Pu River filled with skyscrapers.Child's memory was vividly brought back for sure...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic few hours of beauty and greenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Yes, it can be crowded, but worth it - and much more than a garden, it's really the complete estate dating back hundreds of years. There are multiple buildings to see and acres of gardens, ponds and art. It was our first stop with our private guide and we're happy we had a guide, since we saw a great deal more than we would have noticed on our own.....the different types of architecture of the different dynasties, all the Chinese sayings that are incorporated into buildings and gates, all the architectural details that tell so much about old China and old ways of life. You'll get more out of it with a guide, but even if not, it's a beautiful introduction to Chinese traditions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Very nice and quite place in the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This garden is situated about 15 min walk from the bund. It is one of the most beautiful garden I have seen. It is better to go there with a guide p in order not to miss all the sights. There are a lot of tourists there but the roots are made so, that it doesn't bother. You should definitely spend several hours there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice Classical Chinese Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have a small Chinese Classical Garden in Vancouver (The Sun Yat-Sen Garden) so we were interested to see a large one. There is certainly a lot of it. There were also a lot of people. Definitely worth a visit, but be prepared for the crowds--you won't be doing much quiet contemplating here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Contentment (Yugarden) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Contentment (Yugarden), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.