We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yu Yuan - dont buy just see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yu Garden (Yuyuan)

Yu Garden (Yuyuan)
No.218 Anren Street, Huangpu District | near Fuyou Road, Shanghai 200010, China
021-63260830
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Yu Garden (Yuyuan) like an insider
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Private Tour: Yuyuan Garden, Chenghuangmiao...
Ranked #6 of 1,305 things to do in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A classical garden complete with period style buildings. The Garden was created by Pan Yunduan a Government Officer for his family finishing in 1577.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yu Yuan - dont buy just see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Visited on 3 Dec 2012. It is less crowded on a weekday morning. The place houses interesting shops and a great variety of merchandise. The ponds, buildings and architecture are interesting too.
But the same things sold by the shops in the streets outside the yu yuan area are definitely cheaper. Dont miss the actual garden inside the yu yuan area. Many roam outside the actual garden and got lost with the colourful cafes, shops, restautrants, sights etc.... Pay a fee to enter the garden which is a quieter area and find out more about Chinese history. I asked a security guard at one of the department stores inside the yu yuan gardens for direction to the actual garden and he replied there's no actual garden !!! Luckily I had done my homework earlier and asked the guard at entrance no 7. He was knowledgeable and directed me to the right corner.
The Nanxiang dumplings in Yuyuan Gardens are over rated. The dumpling skin's too thick . Tasted better ones in other parts of Shanghai. Definitely much better ! Better to try other dishes in the restaurant. The staff at the Nanxiang restaurant are also very rude and unprofessional. I will not visit the restaurant a second time.
Be careful of the shops especially those selling Chinese sweets and wu xiang dou (五香豆)... example when you are deciding whether to buy the product, suddenly someone comes in beside you and buy enthusiastically, telling the sales girl he has been searching for this for a long time, giving you the impression itz a good bargain when its not .... he is employed by the shop. Found out this during my visit there. Learnt a lesson from here.
Overall, this place is good to go for a first time visit to Shanghai.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,253
    1,094
    383
    51
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An amazing garden that takes you back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A wonderful places to go..Takes you back in time in a city of skyscrapers everywhere. If you are a photographer, enjoy the perspectives through the various shape entrances and lots of photo spots in this place..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful but hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I can't imagine finding this place without help of a guide, or a taxi driver perhaps. It's a beautiful garden with oodles of Chinese history, buried deep inside old Shanghai. You'll be smothered by lots of natives selling their wares, even inside Yu Garden. I would definitely suggest using the knowledge of a tour guide because there is no audio headset system and signage lacks in many areas. Overall, though, no trip to China would be complete without spending some time in a garden like this. A tip as you move from room to room -- watch the thresholds, they are customery and signify the importance and power of the owners (the higher the threshold, the more important the owner).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Yu Yuan is a must on a first visit to Shanghai - we really enjoyed it. The only time during our stay in the city that we felt that we were in "Old China". Beautiful buildings, ponds and lakes and lovely gardens. Peaceful atmosphere and not too noisy despite the crowds. It was fairly crowded on a warm Monday at noon in mid-October, but not too bad. Probably best to avoid weekends, however...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“avoid going onn weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

enjoy the stop here - lot of things to see n buy i.e gifts etc. the old shanghai street is jz nearby so do go there for local snacks.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yu Garden (Yuyuan) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yu Garden (Yuyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yu Garden (Yuyuan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.