We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing garden that takes you back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)

Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)
No.137 Anren Street, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
021-63260830
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 838 Attractions in Shanghai
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A classical garden complete with period style buildings. The Garden was created by Pan Yunduan a Government Officer for his family finishing in 1577.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An amazing garden that takes you back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A wonderful places to go..Takes you back in time in a city of skyscrapers everywhere. If you are a photographer, enjoy the perspectives through the various shape entrances and lots of photo spots in this place..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    846
    301
    39
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful but hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I can't imagine finding this place without help of a guide, or a taxi driver perhaps. It's a beautiful garden with oodles of Chinese history, buried deep inside old Shanghai. You'll be smothered by lots of natives selling their wares, even inside Yu Garden. I would definitely suggest using the knowledge of a tour guide because there is no audio headset system and signage lacks in many areas. Overall, though, no trip to China would be complete without spending some time in a garden like this. A tip as you move from room to room -- watch the thresholds, they are customery and signify the importance and power of the owners (the higher the threshold, the more important the owner).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Yu Yuan is a must on a first visit to Shanghai - we really enjoyed it. The only time during our stay in the city that we felt that we were in "Old China". Beautiful buildings, ponds and lakes and lovely gardens. Peaceful atmosphere and not too noisy despite the crowds. It was fairly crowded on a warm Monday at noon in mid-October, but not too bad. Probably best to avoid weekends, however...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“avoid going onn weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

enjoy the stop here - lot of things to see n buy i.e gifts etc. the old shanghai street is jz nearby so do go there for local snacks.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Crowded but beautiful with many shops. We also walked to Temple area, lots a fun and delicious dumplings

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Contentment (Yugarden) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Contentment (Yugarden), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.