We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yu Garden (Yuyuan)

Yu Garden (Yuyuan)
No.218 Anren Street, Huangpu District | near Fuyou Road, Shanghai 200010, China (Old Town)
021-63260830
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$59*
and up
Shanghai Old Town Walking Tour Including Yuyuan...
Ranked #7 of 1,287 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A classical garden complete with period style buildings. The Garden was created by Pan Yunduan a Government Officer for his family finishing in 1577.
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful but hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I can't imagine finding this place without help of a guide, or a taxi driver perhaps. It's a beautiful garden with oodles of Chinese history, buried deep inside old Shanghai. You'll be smothered by lots of natives selling their wares, even inside Yu Garden. I would definitely suggest using the knowledge of a tour guide because there is no audio headset system and signage lacks in many areas. Overall, though, no trip to China would be complete without spending some time in a garden like this. A tip as you move from room to room -- watch the thresholds, they are customery and signify the importance and power of the owners (the higher the threshold, the more important the owner).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank winwinwin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Yu Yuan is a must on a first visit to Shanghai - we really enjoyed it. The only time during our stay in the city that we felt that we were in "Old China". Beautiful buildings, ponds and lakes and lovely gardens. Peaceful atmosphere and not too noisy despite the crowds. It was fairly crowded on a warm Monday at noon in mid-October, but not too bad. Probably best to avoid weekends, however...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“avoid going onn weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

enjoy the stop here - lot of things to see n buy i.e gifts etc. the old shanghai street is jz nearby so do go there for local snacks.....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Racjoehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Crowded but beautiful with many shops. We also walked to Temple area, lots a fun and delicious dumplings

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LEMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is the must seem city highlights in Shanghai, perhaps a bit more touristy but still worth a visit. Recommending you to hire a guide, so you will be able to understand and know so much more than simply see the building.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yu Garden (Yuyuan) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yu Garden (Yuyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing