We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words cannot explain ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acqua e farina italian Restaurant

Acqua e farina italian Restaurant
No.1138 Pudong South Road | Shanghai one, B02, Shanghai, China (Lujiazui)
021-68882993
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 11,638 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Description: Acqua e Farina mean Water and flour in english , from this two classic recipe take shape most of the famous Italian dishes..This new Italian spot in Shanghai, Pudong area close to the river, is a celebration of the Italian style. Nice an comfortable environment ,Friendly staff ,Italian, Chinese , Spanish and Portuguese language, offer also outdoor , free WiFi and parking..Set lunch, Sunday brunch and special dinner menu are available..
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Words cannot explain ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We came into the restaurant after a colleague of mine wanted to try non-Asian food. I searched for Italian food and boom! We stepped into this place and the owner Mr. Messina greated us with a great smile. As we sat down the ambience was great with amazing starters. Also the cost unbelievably reasonable. As we got the main courses the owner came by and started chatting about his past and how he started his restaurant in Shanghai. Surprisingly he brought us a special rack I lamb dish which was not introduced to the public. WE LOVED IT! All 6 of us were blown away with the service, quality of food, and service by the staff and owner. It is a must go if your looking to diversify your food choices in a great City!

From your Indonesian, Malaysian, Australian, Australian, Shanghainese, Singaporian, and American friends!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Buddy..what a great night was the last? Amazing is the right word..Lucky all of us to meet all of you..Nice and lovely person like you guys make our job easy and happy..We want wish all the best for all of your future progect and dreams..Cheers from me and all the staff of Acqua e Farina..

Riccardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just got home from eating a fabulous dinner at Acqua e Farina in Pudong. What a treat! The menu is fabulous - lots of variety and reasonably priced. Had the best risotto I've ever had and I order it everywhere I go. My husband ordered a pasta dish and couldn't stop raving about it. Both of our salads were great - not too much dressing and the lettuce was crisp and fresh. Nice wine list also. The wait staff spoke English and the chef introduced himself and offered us a complimentary limoncello. Such a treat, will definitely be back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello miss Tina, what a great time was sharing and enjoy a good time here with ou and your husband ..Really thank you for choosing us as your diner spot last night..greetings from Acqua e Farina and all of us..

Riccardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Glad we found this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We live on the Pudong side of the river and there aren't many good, reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance. We found Aqua e Farina in the Enjoy Shanghai book and walked up there on Saturday night. It was quite a find. The food was excellent with lots of choices for meat eaters and vegetarians. Being a vegetarian myself I liked the way menu items were clearly labeled. The eggplant lasagne and beef tenderloin are both highly recommended. The waiter let us taste the house wines before deciding, which was unusual but nice. The staff were great and spoke excellent English - a rarity in China. We were given a complimentary limoncello with our coffee and the chef shook our hands on our way out! The ambiance is casual but chic. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello Jules, thank you for coming in our restaurant and for your review , was really nice meet you here..we love make our friends happy and in comfortable feeling..we will constantly upgrade our menu' with different vegetarian dish to satisfy as much we can our special guest like you..stay tuned :)

Riccardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere, value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful food lovely atmosphere and great chef. The chef came and introduced himself and the staff spoke perfect English and were very friendly. Love it !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
One of the reason make our job rewarding is meat such beautiful person like you guys..hope your trip in Asia will give you a lot of fun and incredible experience that you can share at home..Take good care and thank you again for your beautyful reveiw..

Riccardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Divine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I come here regularly for an affordable and delicious meal. The food is fantastic and so is the atmosphere. Portions are a perfect size, and if you feel like eating a whole lot at a reasonable price, Sunday brunch is highly recommended. Definitely make the effort to speak with the owner, Riccardo Messina, although by the time you sit down he will most likely already have greeted you. This is the perfect restaurant to come eat alone, with friends, on a date, and even for a business lunch. Anyone in Shanghai, especially Italians, definitely should go check it out... You wont be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello dear Carolina , thanks for the review ,we really apreciade..it is always great to see you, having fun and good time here..Hope everything fine for you and all the best of your dream come true..take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acqua e farina italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Acqua e farina italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.