We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and easy dining off the Bund” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandmother restaurant

Grandmother restaurant
70 Fuzhou Road, Shanghai, China (People's Square)
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 11,633 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: People's Square
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: People's Square
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Casual and easy dining off the Bund”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We arrived in Shanghai late in the day and the hotel was able to arrange a dinner reservation for us on the recommendation of our guide. If you want to see the lights of Pudong at night, the location just steps off the Bund is perfect.
Casual but attentive service and a large selection of regional dishes, all very reasonably priced and delicious. After a busy day of sightseeing, it is a perfect dinner location. We came back a second time for lunch on our last day in Shanghai.
Great value and fresh hot food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good Quality Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had our hotel call ahead and make a reservation and we were glad because it was pretty full on a Saturday night. The menu comes with pictures and an English title ( a little obscure at times ).
We had several different dishes and the beef hot casserole was my favourite but none were bad and the steamed broccoli with garlic was delicious. This was our first full day in Shanghai and we were easing into the cuisine, and this was a good local restaurant to start off our culinary adventure, with some traditional and non westernised chinese food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, close to the Bund”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We walked in on a Tuesday night and were sat down straight away. The menu is also in English with pictures, so it is easy to see what you order. The braised porkbelly is just WOW! And we also loved the Gang Bao Chicken. Because it is so close to the Bund, it's great to have a after-diner-walk along the river and enjoy the beautiful skyline!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Thumbs Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

we had grandmother restaurant at wuxi instead. my main destination was actually shanghai but fortunate enough to have a local who drove me up to wuxi. nice food & reasonable price ... Q for about 1 hour, probably is due to spring festival..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We found this restaurant from our Lonely Planet Pocket Shanghai guidebook. It's not far from the Bund and Nanjing Road which makes it pretty central. We arrived late in the lunch period so didn't have to wait for a table. Food was excellent and amazingly reasonable prices.

We revisited the restaurant and would definitely go back again. Just wish there was a Chinese anywhere near as good back in Scotland!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandmother restaurant also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Grandmother restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandmother restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.