We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu)

Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu)
No. 1 Century Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
8621 58791888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$142*
and up
Private Tour: The Face of Modern Shanghai
Ranked #17 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 2,464 Reviews
Type: Architectural Buildings, Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Speed to the top of the world’s third tallest TV and radio tower for a spectacular view, or just gaze at this beautiful structure from afar, especially striking when lit up at night.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not the best experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was extremely crowed, way much more than you can expect in tourist attractions. The queue was never ending and the lifts could not handle the number of people. Entered at 6pm to take the time and see the sunset from there... By the time we reached, the sun was already down since a while... At night, the glass window are so full of traces than with the light inside, it is impossible to make decent photo... Disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    896
    332
    72
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well worth the queues to see the fantastic views over the city. The labeled windows tell you what parts of the city you are looking at as well as showing distances to other parts of the country. The glass floor is also a lot of fun and helps you appreciate how high the buildings actually are - something you suddenly seem to take for granted as soon you land in this city. I know there are cheaper / free places to view from but I think this is very well done and worth paying for.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Loved the Pearl Tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I remember seeing a photo of this tower a few years ago and wanted to see it ever since. I loved the Pearl Tower. I loved the architecture and lights at night. It is definitely unique in appearance. I went up to the viewing platform and really enjoyed the views. Be sure to look down through the viewing windows at the center for breathtaking views of the hotel in the center of the tower. It is a short walk to the river with views of the Bund. I highly recommend a visit to the Pearl Tower.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great view of shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The pearl tower offers a great view of Shanghai. It's a full panaromic view so you can walk the entire circumcumference of the tower once you reach the viewing tower. At first it can be quite disorientating. You enter the building to an airport style security with loads of queuing fences. Then you get your liquids taken off you and your bagage gets put through an x-ray machine. You then walk around the balcony at the base of the tower to queue up in further fenced areas ready to get into a few lifts which take you to the viewing floors. When you reach the viewing floors it's generally very busy but you get to take some great pictures of skyline. Up there they have a much needed drinks and ice creams available (as well as souvenir shops) which was much needed because I'd had my bottles of water taken from me. It's rather confusing how you descend the tower though, it took walking into several corridors and them telling me we don't have the tickets for that floor and eventually we worked out how to descend the tower to the next viewing levels. You then eventually pass through an amusement arcade with a roller coaster which looks rather under used, but then it's probably badly placed because by the time you reach it, you are ready to head out of the tower.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best views of Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great 360 degree views of Shanghai. On last trip we went up the World Financial Centre - Oriental Pearl is better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu) also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.