We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jing'an Temple

Jing'an Temple
No.1686 Nanjing West Road, Shanghai, China
021-62566366
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 296 Reviews
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful architecture. Not sure how much of the old temple was used to build this one when it was "moved". Still it's beautiful to look at. I see no reason not to make this a stop on your visit, if you have the time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    136
    64
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nothing much inside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I wouldn't go here. The outside is pretty, but it is surrounded by shops and on holidays, disabled people. The inside is just like a big warehouse, I was really disappointed it wasn't much of a temple. There are much better temples to see in Shanghai. There is a great women's temple up in the jewish quarter that I loved.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“East meets west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

walking around the outside walls you might be unaware the temple even exists as high end shops have been built into the surrounding walls.
But once you get to the front gate their is no mistaking this impressive temple. Golden pagodas and large lion statues loom large and inside is an array of shrines. It is interesting spending time watching some of the local people's rituals in the temple as they go about there day.
I got a chance to view this temple from one of the surrounding buildings and this does put the impressiveness of the temple into perspective.
Entry is 40RMB, I think all up I spent just over an hour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best temples I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been to a lot of temples but this one was stunningly beautiful and one of the best I have ever been to. I liked it more than Shanghai's Jade Buddha Temple which is more on the tourist map. This is a very modern temple with stunning stained woodwork alongside elaborate gold roof work. A MUST DO is to climb the stairs and look inside where buddha statues are housed. Once inside walk to the back of the room and you will round a corner where there is the most stunning marble relief sculpture. I could not stop clicking my camera. The relief depicts many scenes and stories from Buddha's life and will wow you as it did me. My visit here I consider to be one of the greatest highlights of my visit to Shanghai.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Jing'an Temple in the rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

i visited while there was typhoon activity...kind of unusual for early June. The people lighting incense in the central court were having to hold an umbrella. The rain and wind was clanging the bells on the huge incense burner of the courtyard. The myanmar teak is serene in the rain. The rain spouts of the eaves are golden dragon heads and they were shooting out rivulets of water. Still the faithful were in rooms reading with the monks. It is a real temple in the midst of the city. The mall next door will seem very inconsequential after the profound serenity of this temple.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jing'an Temple also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Jing'an Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jing'an Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.