We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend this hotel to a friend!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.66 Caobao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200235, China (Everbright Convention and Exhibition Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,246 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I would not recommend this hotel to a friend!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Hotel is very convenient for people who attend exhibition at the Everbright Convention Centre. That's the only positive thing i can reckon from this hotel.
The room is small and was not cleaned well. This is a cheap hotel so I didn't expect much but was below the normal standard. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    79
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
2
1
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife booked the hotel, and was immediately told that I had been upgraded too business class at no extra cost. This was great and I couldnt wait to see the room. The hotel is big and the staff seemed a bit cold but I was impressed with the size of the room, and the breakfast that came with the room was satisfactory. I feel this hotel had perhaps enjoyed better days. I though the breakfast staff were good though and always kept my coffee mug full.

Also the hotel is very near the Caobao metro station which to me was very important. You will always get a strong smell of tobacco from Chinese hotels until the managers ban smoking.

all in all quite satisfactory.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a business suite at no extra cost. maybe because my wife booked me under my wester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

As per title: the room was big, just like the hotel lobby. The hotel was within 100 meters of the exhibition centre, so ideal for this business trip. For vacation purposes I would never stay here: the staff is absolutely not interested in helping you. They seem to be more busy talking to each other than anything else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a shockingly poor hotel. Staff are dressed in old, tatty uniforms which reflect the old and tatty rooms. My bedroom stank of smoke, had chewing gum on the floor, no working AC, no working fridge and was not cleaned well at all.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. The Hua Ting up the road is, although still a bit rough, far better than this place. I honestly believe it should be condemned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days to attend a conference. The conference room was very good and the air conditioning worked. However, in the hotel lobby and rooms the air conditioner was running but the rooms were hot and stuffy. It seems that it could not keep up and it was the end of September. I can only imagine what it would be like to stay here during the summer.

We did not have a problem with the hot water.

1. The hotel overcharges for the rooms, you can book for half price by using a third party, my colleagues were paying $135/night at the conference because they booked directly at the hotel web site. I had the same room and paid $65/night although I prepaid.

2. Usually Chinese hotel staff are flexible and accommodating. Not in his case. We went to breakfast with no cash, they refused to put the breakfast charge on our room at both the restaurant and front desk, so I went back to the room, got my cash and we went out for a nice Chinese breakfast.

3. The restaurant served buffet style food which is average for a hotel buffet, but many times, I opted to go out and have a fresh cooked meal.

4. The hotel is old and the rooms look dirty.

5. The elevators are too slow when you are in a hurry. Fortunately, the hotel was not very full so the wait for the elevators were not insufferable.

6. Room service would forget to replace shampoo and soap each day.

I would not advise staying at this hotel, there are many other hotels nearby that might be cheaper and do not pay the full price whatever you do.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel

Address: No.66 Caobao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200235, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Everbright Convention and Exhibition Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,246 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everbright Hotel Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.