We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao to your Saves list
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2270 Hongqiao Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Hongqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #101 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

What struck me was the attentiveness of the staff. Really warm and helpful - at all levels. BRAVO!!
The hotel itself is large but inviting. The room was comfortable, but it was warm in the room (I should have asked for help, but didn't bother).
Food at the restaurant was alright. Nice gym facilities.
The hotel is located about 1 hour from Pudong Airport. There are good restaurants about 5 mins taxi ride or 15-20 mins walk away. It is also close by the Metro station to take you down-town. I took a cab, which took about 45 mins in traffic.
I will sat there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    146
    46
    10
    2
See reviews for
2
11
18
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfach, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This five star hotel is centrally located within 20 walking minutes from hong mei lu and pearl city.
It offers an excellent but pricy breakfast including german pretzels, bread and made to order omelettes, fresh juices are naturally also available as well as excellent coffee. In the executive level rooms you also have a nespresso machine and access to the lounge whe daily free drinks are offered. Try to get a room with a view to the courtyard itmight havea small balcony so you can sit outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is definitely a good hotel, fine rooms, comfortable beds, great amenities, clean, and good service, (except for concierge which is average).

However, although rooms were refurbished, the infrastructure is old. Has bathtub only no separate shower, and shower in bathtub does not have a hand shower.

The hotel is expensive and overpriced compared to other hotels in the same category in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week recently for a business trip. After staying at a few other Marriott properties in Shanghai, I decided to try this one out. I like the entrance to the hotel. It's very spacious with several areas to sit and chat. The breakfast has lots of offerings and is pretty much the exact same that you'll get at any of the Marriotts in Shanghai. There is a Starbucks in the building and an American grill restaurant that is pretty good. The dinner buffet is good, though expensive. The gym is nice with free weights and plenty of modern equipment. The rooms are a bit average. While the rooms are clean and have decent internet service, they are a bit dated. The bathroom fixtures and showers are substandard.

As for location, Pearl City is only a 10 minute walk away, so there is some decent shopping close by. There are also several western restaurants in the area. The zoo and Hongqiao airport are both close. There is a subway stop (#10 line) near the hotel as well. The only downside is that it's quite far from the Pudong and bund area, where a lot of the nightlife is. If you're working in the south or western areas of the city, then this is a good choice. The area seems to be pretty quiet at night so sleeping was comfortable there.

The staff was very good and I had good experiences everywhere I went in the hotel. I can't say if the price is good or not as our company has a corporate rate with them so I'm not sure the usual cost.

Room Tip: The elevators have a pretty loud chime in the hallways, so I'd recommend staying away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

there really isn't a center to Shanghai, but this hotel is well located. Walking distance to pearl city shopping and the zoo. The staff are friendly and speak english, the breakfast buffet as a huge mix of both western and chinese food, and the swimming pool is amazing. If you're not in the mood for Chinese food, there is a decent american BBQ restaurant (Bubbas) and a Japanese restaurant right next door. The rooms are very nice and clean and the exec lounge has great service and a conference room that you can reserve. Having said all that, for future business in China I will probably stay at the brand new Shanghai Renaissance hotel that is located across the street from my company's offices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights. It is a beautiful hotel with pleasant furnished rooms. What stand out is the efforts made to serve you and make you feel satisfied. Not cheap but certainly a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great hotel with very friendly employees thru out. The room was clean and comfortable and I enjoyed my stay here. The health club is of good quality and opens at a good time. My one compliant, small, is that in the room there is a battery operated clock which ticks loudly - I ended up taking out the batteries to sleep but feel this could be improved with an electronic or digital clock. Good tv programs. We ate in the coffee shop for dinner, buffet was nearly $100 for two but there was a good spread. Coffee in the room could be improved for quality, but again very small - there is a Starbucks across the entrance way in the building next door.

Room Tip: I was here for business which was good but for a tourist I would recommend elsewhere - previously I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao

Address: 2270 Hongqiao Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#91 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#283 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a high-end residential west area of Shanghai, the Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao is only 5 minutes’ walk from the nearest #10 Metro Longxi Road station, 15 minutes’ drive from Hongqiao International Airport & Railway Station. Since the hotel is close to both Hongqiao Economic and Technological Development Zone and Linkong Economic Zones, guests enjoy easy access to the people square, the Bund, Pudong area via adjacent Yan’ an Expressway and to Jiangsu Province by superhighway.This five-star hotels offers spectacular terraces garden views with 313 rooms and suites. All rooms are well furnished with international standards of comfort and technology systems with 32-inch LCD TV, high speed Internet access and a full array of first class amenities. Furthermore, the hotel has outstanding meeting facilities that incorporate great flexibility and proximity. With 1,900 square meters of function space, it will be well organized by experienced team with state-of-the-art technology for every efficient meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Marriott, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.