We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful location for our introduction to China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai

Save Saved
You added 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
88 Xintiandi, Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.380 Huangpi South Road, Shanghai 200021, China (Xintiandi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy up to RMB125 credit
Ranked #13 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Thames Ditton
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A wonderful location for our introduction to China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

First stop on our tour of various locations in China. Hotel located in a newly refurbished area which has both traditional charm, and is also full of bars and restaurants, so an easy place to start without a guide to show you the ropes, albeit not cheap.
Hotel has a very unassuming reception, but once you get to the room - wow! Our room was both very large and well appointed.
Service in the breakfast room very attentive with plenty of choice. On the day we left we were too early for breakfast, and were provided with breakfast in picnic form, which was really very basic and disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    44
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
41
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed here recently on a business trip and this hotel definetely tops as one of the best boutique properties. I always find boutique properties as either hit or miss kind of place and this one stood up to its expectations. The reception is fairly small and was not impressive, but once you walk inside the rooms, the whole feel of the place changes in a pleasant manner.

The rooms are very spacious for a city hotel, nice lounge sofa's and a big work table. For frequent business travellers to Shanghai who is tired of the small city room, this could be a ideal fit. Bedroom is tucked away from the living room and the room is decorated quiet fashionably with chinese paintings and contemprorary furnishings.

The only one small defect I found in the room will be the small bathroom, compared to the size of the room bathroom is relatively small without a seperate shower. Apart from that rooms was very nice.

Overall service was quiet good, tried room service a few times which was quick.

Location of the hotel is ideal, close to the night life area with so many bars and restaurants in close by proximity.

All-in-all, this hotel is a very charming, elegant , boutique property and overall i had a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

A real gem, from the moment we walked in there was a feeling of relaxed elegance. The hotel has managed to retain a feeling of being a small friendly hotel with beautiful decor whilst giving the service of a 5 star international hotel. I left my phone and camera there and they managed to track me down at my next destination. They then sent the 2 items on to me charging only £3.50 for post and packing. Would really recommend this hotel however if you are a light sleeper them perhaps ask for rooms at the front(overlooking the park) as there was some noise from the street. We did not find this a problem and enjoying looking out at all the life going on

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Although this is an expensive hotel the decor is absolutely stunning. We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor and the room is beutifully arranged with a foour poster bed, work desk, sofa and numerous Chinese antiques in an extremely tasteful style. One could certainly stay here for an extended period and feel very at home.

My only criticism of the room would be that of the bathroom which considering the rest of the room only had a combined bath/shower and not a particuarly big one at that (although quite deep).

The location is right on the edge of the Xintaindi entertainment district which for those that enjoy their shopping and nightlife is perfect. If one wishes to get to the Bund or Pudong then it is only a short taxi ride away (although make sure your driver is certain of the destination before you start). I would advise however that if you are an early to bed and light sleeping person than the lower floors may not be for you as there is some very slight noise from the bars below.

Breakfast is OK but if the weather is good then it can be taken on the balcony overlooking the park which is an excellent start to any day.

Overall this is a wonderful hotel and will definately return when I am in Shanghai again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

I've been 10 days at 88xintinadi during a business travel. The hotel is placed in one of the best area of Shanghai, full of shops, bars and restourants. The hotel is very nice, big rooms and a nice spa with jacuzzi, sauna and swimming pool. The entrance hall is a bit small, breakfast is nice. Recomended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Have stayed at 88 Xiantiandi three times now and it is always a treat. Huge rooms you hardly want to leave. Curtained bedroom area. Fabulous bed, great pillows, spacious and stylish lounge/suite area, fully equipped for the business traveler, great lighting and electronics. Delicious breakfast buffet. Now, if only the hotel could make sure it woudn't rain when I come to town. It is also a 5 minute walk to Green Massage and YPlus Yoga, which are both fantastic and make for a perfect day.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed at Xintiandi last December to watch the new years celebration. This hotel is pretty fantastic, the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The rooms with the view of the lake were a great place to watch the fireworks from. The hotel was impeccably clean with contemprorary furnishings and the hotel staff is extremely helpful. The location is also ideal, since it is right next to a main shopping area. While the hotel was a little more expensive, it was worth it for the view. This hotel also has executive residences for the frequent business traveller. I can’t imagine a much better place to stay if I were travelling for work.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai

Address: No.380 Huangpi South Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#304 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in the heart of Shanghai's lively Xintiandi community, 88 Xintiandi is at the centre of style. Surrounded by exclusive boutiques, chic restaurants and historic buildings, guests can indulge in a host of dining, entertainment and shopping options.Stay in one of the property's 53 spacious rooms and suites and enjoy understated luxury and engaging pleasures, including the full-service Club Lounge including daily breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktail, and state-of-the-art gym. 88 Xintiandi guests can also access the spa and indoor pool within the adjacent The Langham Xintiandi.With its subtle style and alluring ambience, 88 Xintiandi boasts the intimacy and comfort of a private residence and the efficient, personal service you expect from a premium property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Xintiandi Executive Residence Hotel Shanghai
88 Xintiandi Executive Residence Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 88 Xintiandi, Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.