We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel to your Saves list
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

First trip to China, picked the hotel based on colleagues advice. Didn't regret it. Large and spacious hotel, with a great view if you get to the higher floors. Interesting view too, all kinds of activities on peoples roofs. :) Every day I got back from work, a different Chinese figurine was on the bed. Nice touch.

It is in a great location, close to stores, a large mall, the subway, a nice little park where old people play various types of games :) and some great restaurants. Nanjing West road is not where you find great deals, though, mostly brand stores, that is expensive brand stores.

Scared of Chinese food? Don't fret, there is McDonalds, Burger King, Krispy Kreme, Tony Romas etc. within 5 minuts of walking. However, please try some of the more exotic choices close by! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room up there! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenu at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    223
    114
    26
    9
See reviews for
31
44
46
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is Big, and it has a very good Lobby Interrior. The room is modern and spacious, with a very high speed internet in it (not free though). Located in a very famous Nanjing Road, near a lot of Shopping Malls. And also close to MRT Station, so it is a perfect spot to stay in Shanghai ;)

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel located at the center of the "happening area". Clean but some of their things are quite old and needs to be replaced...like the hair dryer, it seems like it was from circa 1980's to 90's. They have a nice lobby, truly asian design with beautiful fresh flowers everyday. But this is not a five star hotel. And most of the staff do not speak English

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your appreciation of the shopping area location of our hotel. The oriental touch and the focus on detail are always the attractions of JC Mandarin.
It is true that JC Mandarin is one of the international hotels opened in over 20 years ago, with complete renovation in the lobby, ballroom and restaurants. Brand new beds, mattress, linins and amenity were changes in rooms last year. Our team will continue to provide language training program to our staffs to improve their communication skills.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan City, Philippines
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of Nanjing Road, Shanghai's shopping mecca. It's lobby is very spacious & tastefully decorated. Our room on the 8th floor has a nice view of the city skyline & it's quite big with twin double beds. Too bad wifi is not free, it's RMB120/24 hrs internet. Anyway, no use having it 'cause facebook,twitter nor any social network in the whole of China is allowed..Buffet breakfast is quite sumptuous but it seems they offer more or less the same fare each morning we were there(3 breakfasts). Also, the dining area staff insists to have us seated together with our group instead of giving us the freedom to sit anywhere we wish.Feels we were somewhat discriminated. Anyway, we insisted on having our way & we prevailed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel location. RMB60/hour is another choice for Wifi in rooms. Wifi is also on complimentary in our restaurants. Our chef provides different seasonal dishes every days and give the over 30 selections including Japanese, Continental breakfast, American breakfast and Chinese cuisines. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do for you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for four days recently and really liked the property. The rooms are somewhat dated and in need of light updates but overall very nice. The breakfast and internet add-on is well worth the price and highly recommended. Staff was attentive and helpful. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive floors, it's worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended. The building itself is a bit old but the interior is absolutely OK. It is unfortunate that obviously some guests in non-smoking rooms do not adhere to the non-smoking rule, one can smell the smoke in the next room. One sometimes hears the noise (TV/talking) from the next room. My mattress was a bit hard to sleep on. The lights can only be regulated from one side of the bed. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We will strongly insist on non-smoking rule and continue to make improvement.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Location is what makes this hotel five star. It is on west Nanjing road and very close to subway station. It has been a good hotel at one point but now it cannot be five star with western standards.Be aware Wifi is extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#338 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.