We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel to your Saves list
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 443 Reviews
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is at real walking distance from the Convention Center and rates ar reasonable for the quality so there is no better choice if you are in Shanghai for this kind of business.
Rooms and service are good.
The lobby is equipped with sofas and you can see people entering the hotel from the lobby bar so you can have business meeting in the lobby, and this is becoming quite difficult in some Chinese hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you and your boss have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    223
    114
    26
    9
See reviews for
31
44
46
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SHANGHAI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location, most of the staff very serviceminded. Breakfast excellent exept staff attention,
buffet dinner nighttime far away from value for money. Hard beds as always in Asia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you and your boss have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is really well located on Nanjing west road and the perfect postion just next to Exhibition center.
Rooms are clean, beds are perfect, not too many noise and sport center is very clear and poeple very helpfull.
Only point is that you are between two metro station... but is good as well to walk 5 minutes sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfast, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you and your boss have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

To be fair, I chose this hotel for its rate that was very reasonable compared to the hotel opposite. The staff were skilled and quite helpful, and the property is conveniently located if you're in Shanghai for business. These are the reasons why I rated it Average rather than Poor.
BUT: the rooms are really old, the mattresses are a joke, housekeeping obviously overlooks dust behind and on the side of furniture, stains in bathroom... What can I say, it's probably not very dirty, but it does not look or feel clean. The breakfast buffet is huge but the food quality is quite average, same for room service. Think twice before booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Your comments are very important to us in evaluating our service standards and we would like to let you know that we are doing all we can to improve our services and our facilities.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that we have caused you.
We are in the process of planning renovations in our rooms which will take place in the coming months.
Therefore we ask for your understanding and hope that you will give us another chance to show you our improvements.
When you plan to come to Shanghai, we can arrange to accommodate you in one of our newly designed rooms.
Hoping that you will allow us to demonstrate the hospitality and personalized service that we are known for.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai JC Mandarin in the near future.
Best Regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice Hotel in heart of West Nanjing Road.

The Hotel is in great Location for shoppers with all the brands like Salvatore, LV, etc, right opposite and Zara, Isetan nearby. The Shanghai Exhibition Centre is right next door, the Jing’ An temple is 10 minute walk. Gives you the flavor of all that Shanghai stands for.

Great Lobby, Rooms are a little old fashioned but well appointed and comfortable with nice views. Housekeeping and other services are spot on.

The Café on the ground level has decent International fare at with sound pricing and service. The Highlight is a really nice outdoor café at the road exit. There are many eating options either towards the junction of Jing ‘An Temple (make left when you exit the hotel from street exit onto Nanjing road) or if you walk towards Isetan (make a right when you exit the hotel from street exit onto Nanjing road) you will find Mac and a food court type street in the lane behind H&M.

All in all a Great place for anyone visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the JC Mandarin for 5 nights. It was truly a 5 star hotel.
Plush carpets, fresh decor, clean and inviting. Room was large, with a king size bed and space for a sitting area.
The bed was nice and appropriately firm. Pillows were large and compliant. Towels were soft and fluffy, and absorbent as well. Bedroom slippers were thick and fluffy, the best we've ever had in hotels.
Every day, a little surprise awaits. Either a little memento, mooncakes (it was during the mooncake festival).
Tatlers offers Asian favorites like Laksa and chicken rice. Singapore Mandarin's chicken rice was better.
Great location.
Just across from the hotel, great restaurants on the 5th floor.
Nanjing East Metro is a short 10 min walk, Line 2. Line 2 runs between Hongchiao Airport and Pudong Airport.

On departure, we walked to Nanjing E, took the metro to Longyang Rd Station (4 yuan each, about 23 mins), transferred to the MagLev to Pudong Aitport (50 yuan each. 7 mins). MagLev hit 300 km/hr.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Two nights at JC Mandarin on a whirlwind business trip to Shanghai worked very well for us.
Good sized rooms, well appointed but a little tired, but for the price a bargain.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Good selection of international breakfast.
I will return

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#340 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.