We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.180 Yixian Road, Shanghai 200434, China (Jiangwan / Wujiaochang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
East Amherst
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beautiful. Great rooms. Otherwise a full rip off. We went to the lobby to have a drink. Not only was it a major overpriced situation, but they also hide a service charge. A local beer was 48 RMB plus another 8 RMB service charge. In US money it was $10.00. A mixed drink was even more.... I do not have a problem with paying for value, but this was too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    90
    43
    6
    11
See reviews for
16
15
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I would like to recommend this hotel to everybody who is traveling to Shanghai.
The location is not exactly in the center, but it will take 10 minutes by taxi to city center.
English speaking staff will help you with everything and will recommend you the best possible options how to organize your trip and your program.
Excellent breakfast with Western and Asian food. On the evening there is a buffet dinner with various Western and Asian food also and price of this buffet dinner is including drinks.
Room was clean with comfortable bed, free internet connection.
Hope that you will enjoy your stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I checked in at this hotel on May 10th, 2013. The lobby and the other areas are very nice. They also offered me welcome tea. The room was also very nice with transparent bathroom. Though the bathtub was not useful as the water level of the bathtub was very low and the handheld shower on the bathtub was not working properly. The most pathetic experience I had with the air conditioner. I didn't realize in the morning when I checked in because I went outside for city tour after an our. I finally realized at night that the ac is not working at all and was literally sweating. I threw out blanket and tried to sleep because it was very late at night and had to go to a place called Yiwu early in the morning by Bullet train. I thought I'll tell them in the morning about the AC but didn't get time. On the second day I again came very late at night but I still called the room service. A manager on duty came and check and said the AC is working fine, they do not feel hot. I was staying in room # 913. Upon request, he changed the room to # 909. I thought may be the problem with this particular room. When I moved to the other room on the same floor, I realized that the AC is not working here either. The room service manager also told me if you feel hot, then you can open the windows which didn't make any difference for cooling but of course was getting outside noise. Didn't feel like to bother them again. Somehow managed to sleep with sweating. In the morning once again I went out for business. After coming back, I complained at the reception that AC didn't work for the last two days. They apologized for the same and accepted that the AC was not working but they repaired it and today it's working. I happily entered the room and turned the AC on. I t was better but still can't sleep with the blanket. Next day once again I woke up early in the morning and went out for business. Again came late at night and found the AC is not working again. I became frustrated but didn't complain because the next day was my check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at hotel 2 nights before and after a tour. The first night the room was smaller and window facing a wall. The 2nd night, we had a bigger and better renovated room facing the highway. Like all hotels in China, big and impressive lobby but always something not quite right in the room furniture or fixture in the washroom. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, it was ok for 2 nights. Wifi was not free. The included breakfast, selection was good but forgettable coffee. Had dinner at the hotel 'Shanghai restaurant'. Food and service were good, the portion was huge and cost was reasonable (considering it is a hotel restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room not facing the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Like some other hotels, this one also has a "Grand entre" all big and shinning, whiles the rooms are just ok. The breakfast not good. the staff dont know how to smile, and are in need of training in the art of hospitality. They dont seem to like their job. I had a room service burger as well, which was ok, unfortunately to salty.

The swimming pool however was nice, and the gym very ok. Location in Puxi little out of the centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel room is very clean and bed is comfortable, friendly staff in front desk. Valuable price but it is quite far and not easy to found Subway and transport.
Both lobby and room can not access wifi, it is a bit disappointed. Need to pay for wifi access (in the day time only).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for leisure and was disappointed. This Grand Mercure is an ordinary four star property one would expect- no surprises and nothing exceptionally impressive about. Location was out of the city centre and one would need to rely alot on the taxi. The nearest shopping area is a 10min taxi ride away to "wujiaochang" where you can find big brand labels such as uniqlo. It is basically situated in a residential area.

Rooms were clean, modern and well maintained. Bed were comfortable but yet definitely not the best Grand Mercure i have stayed in. Service were mediacore but the conceirge did help us to get a taxi. Not extremely helpful but ok.

Breakfast have a decent selection and the ambience was commendable. It would have been better if there are more seatings at the lobby for guests. Was also disappointed as there are no complimentary wifi in room. Wifi at lobby was also unstable.

In short- a poor value stay given the price I have paid, probably never again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong

Address: No.180 Yixian Road, Shanghai 200434, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#369 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Baolong Hotel Shanghai is located close to major shopping areas, points of interest and cultural centres, including local attractions such as Lu Xun Park, historic Duolun Road and Fudan University. Capturing the essence of both old and newShanghai, this heritage listed hotel has 372 spacious rooms with a warm and elegant decor. Conference facilities, 3 restaurants and 2 bars make this an ideal destination for business and holiday travellers seeking convenience, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Baolong Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Grand Accor Baolong Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.