We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.180 Yixian Road, Shanghai 200434, China (Jiangwan / Wujiaochang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do not stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Upon entering the hotel, we knew right away that it was not a place to stay. Carpet in lobby was so filthy you wanted to sanitize your shoes after walking on it. Staff and Management rude and unfriendly. The rooms were not much cleaner. Definitely would not drink coffee in restaurant - coffee pot hadn't been cleaned in years .We were a group of travel agents and unfortunately were booked into it to sell it for future tours. They won't be seeing any of our clients.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    100
    51
    6
    13
See reviews for
18
18
18
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

in the middle of nowhere, give this place a miss. The staff are unfriendly, the rooms average to poor, minifridge unstocked, and everyone generally unhelpful and unpleasant. Felt like a low-end business accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Good standard Hotel but miles away from the main attractions in Shanghai. Spent hours on the crowded Shanghai roads getting to places. Stayed there in May as part of a China Direct Tour felt that the company had chosen this hotel because being so far out it was cheaper!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed here for just one night along with a large group of about 100 people. The first thing that struck us was that the number of elevators was woefully inadequate to cater to so many people!

However, the rooms were really comfy, and after a long flight - it helped that I got a great night's sleep. The hotel has a really nice seating area in the main lobby - but unless you order something to drink, you are not allowed to sit there!!!

The restaurant for breakfast is large & well decorated, and the menu is quite extensive - across Chinese & continental food. A few vegetarian dishes as well for those who might want it.

Good pricing too for a nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

well, only drawback was location. a little far from public transport. in overall, i am very satisfied with the hotel. one more thing, the hotel will be great if they serve fresh salmon and with freshly brewed coffee machine. it indeed serves brewed coffee but i wish to make it by myself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed here as part of a tour group in April 2011. The tour had not communicated that we needed a non-smoking room so please re-communicate this if you go and it is important. As with all Asian hotels and attractions, please be advised that "no smoking" is a polite request, not a dictate so you will, even on a non-smoking floor, occasionally smell cigarette smoke.

Room was beautiful, hotel common areas were stunning, staff (thanks, Daniel the assistant manager) helpful when issues arise, breakfast buffet was delicious and beds were comfortable with decadent bedding. This is an actual four star hotel by any standards.

This was one of my favorite hotels in China but it was a $7 and 20-minute drive from anything you'd want to see in Shanghai which was a disappointment, but not the fault of the hotel. Also, as with many Chinese hotels, the climate controls in the room are not absolute (the hotel turned off the heat on 1 April, which I understand is common, then turned it back on due to the cold snap).

Really enjoyed the place!

Room Tip: Ask, Nicely, For What You Want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I checked in after received the confirmation letter for accord.com. But the front desk told me no big bed room available. As it was later night I do not have other choices so I accepted the double bed. I enter 830# Room, one of the bed still kept concave which indicate somebody just left. I felt tired to change the room. But, after 20 mins I found the one (I do not know who) stays in the room before did not clash the closestool. I felt sick on this room that I have to change!!

I doubt if it is really MERCURE

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong

Address: No.180 Yixian Road, Shanghai 200434, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#165 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Baolong Hotel Shanghai is located close to major shopping areas, points of interest and cultural centres, including local attractions such as Lu Xun Park, historic Duolun Road and Fudan University. Capturing the essence of both old and newShanghai, this heritage listed hotel has 372 spacious rooms with a warm and elegant decor. Conference facilities, 3 restaurants and 2 bars make this an ideal destination for business and holiday travellers seeking convenience, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Baolong Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Grand Accor Baolong Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.