We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... absolutely recommended for Shanghai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majesty Plaza Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Majesty Plaza Shanghai to your Saves list
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.700 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 303 Reviews
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“... absolutely recommended for Shanghai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a really nice, genuine ***** hotel in Shanghai, in a really excellent location - 15 mins to the Bund, 5 mins to People's Square. It's not as glitzy-modern and tall as other ***** hotels, and Shanghai (especially Pudong) leans towards the privileging of such glitzy-modernness, but I don't, and I find hotels of this style very nice.

There are three things I would single out: First, the excellent, large pool with good facilities which really makes lap swimming possible, a really big asset for the stressed business traveller both before and after meetings.

Second, we received an upgrade to a very nice, spacy suite with a nice jacuzzi bath - because something we had specified in our reservations was not available. That was not necessary on the hotel's part, but it was a very nice touch.

Most importantly, third, I forgot a very valuable item in my safe and only realized that after having left for a provincial city far away. The problem was solved to perfection - the item was found, well-wrapped, sent via express and insured, and arrived very well just after two days at my new place. A great many thanks and commendation go to Tom, the Assistant Manager! I should add that my ID etc were carefully checked so that it was really me who got the item. All of this, by the way, cost me €5. If a hotel is that honest, reliable, pro-active, and also courteous to a former guest, that is the place to stay. Hence, this is my recommendation for Shanghai, and I would always come back here.

Strongly recommended - in the end, stay in a great hotel where you can be sure of the safety of you and your belongings!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    136
    77
    19
    14
See reviews for
31
38
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have stayed here on two occasions, both with business groups I organized. You cannot beat this location in Shanghai; right on Nanjing Road's pedestrian walkway. Plus being centrally located in the city, it is not too far from most of the sights and businesses in Shanghai. The rooms are above average (not 5-star, but an average 4-star) and very clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and everyone in my group loved it. The only reason I am giving it a "4" rating is because the rooms are not quite Marriott level, but everything else is excellent. I would definitely stay there again (and will probably do so next year).

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Nanjing Road pedestrian walkway so there is no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in majesty plaza for five nights in october 2011. am taking all this time to write the reviews as i know being a solo traveller for the first time, how much is this helpful. shanghai: was visiting for the first time that too alone. had done a lot of research before traveling on trip advisor and that really helped me. firstly, my conference was near youhua road, quite far near the china pavilion. the hotel, again too far from the airport. but the connectivity to the city it has is too good. firstly, i landed to pudong airport at 8.30 in the evening it took me 9.15 to come out of the airport. well, i read in one of the reviews before i left that the last metro train from pudong airport leaves at 9. so i was quite sure that i will have to catch a taxi to reach my hotel. it was quite easy to catch, money would have been around 150-200 rmb as advised by few travellers. but in the night the rates may vary. but i inquired and came to know that the last metro leaves at 10 in the night. so i had enough time to catch line 2 straight to east najing road station and reach the hotel.
took the train, but unfortunately took a wrong exit out of the station and then got lost in shanghai at night 10.45 p.m. well, it was bit scary as the exit which i took might be some of the minor roads and there were few romeos roaming in the street. they tried to follow me with some indecent proposals, but make sure u never even see them. fortunately, after 15 mins of brisk walking and inquiring minimum five times, could reach my hotel. well, the hotel is quite good, big and when i reached, my chek in was fast. but few things about the hotel.
1) i was given a room 2410-A. was wandering what does A mean. it was on 24th floor, so i reached, saw only 2410 room. so opened it, and found two doors next to each other. 2410-A and 2410-B. ridiculous i thought as whenever me or the guest in the other room would come or go, will have to open two doors and that used to make a lot of noise. well, didnt bother much as was out whole day and stayed in the hotel for the short time.
2) staff too good and helpful but not smiling at all.
3) for the breakfast, i was greeted by the girl standing at the door again with no smile and used to jump on asking the room number than any courteous things. but was fine with that as its pretty much in shanghai not to smile or greet as we do in other places or other hotels.
4) breakfast was very good.
5) room service too good and worth a stay.
6) they ask for the credit card or the cash as a security even though i had paid the full amount of my stay many days earlier
7) so when i checked out, they did the formalities and told me that i am done and i can leave. i had to remind them about my deposits i had given via credit card. and then they returned me back. so make sure, you get all your things back.
8) otherwise the hotel's location too good. in the middle of the nanjing road, wow.....amazing.
subway, costa coffee, dumkin donuts, jamaica blues just at the ground floor of the hotel. macdonals and pizza hut just opposite to the hotel....what else you want for food, being a traveller. starbucks one building away.....nothing better than this. am a pure vegeterian so was very choosy about my food before i left. so, subway could offer veggie delight, mac could offer french fries and icecreams, dumkin donuts could offer me veg as well.....
9) well, being a male single traveler, was offered a lot of indecent proposals. as soon as i used to get out of the hotel, was offered massage and females and what not. it was quite annoying to everytime you come out and listen this. but make sure that you don't interact with those guys or girls to even say "no" or else you might hear something bad from those guys.....
10) loved the hotel very much. two exits of the hotel. you go left and there is peoples square metro station and you go right there is east najing road station. peoples square carries line 1, 2 and 8 and so i had chosen this hotel as line 2 takes to pudong airport and line 8 would take me to youhua road to my conference.
11) concierge was very helpful and did write the chines for me and that was pretty helpful.
overall its a good hotel but few fascilities you would expect from a four star hotel so would not appreciate that much.
surely a very good hotel that would make anyone to think of staying again at this hotel when he or she comes back......

Room Tip: make sure you get your room number with no "a" or "b"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

my 8 nights in this hotel has been a pleasant one. Just a stone's throw from all the malls and plenty of good food around. Just a 1 minute walk will take you to a foodcourt with some of shanghai's favourite dumplings!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose,ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We totally enjoyed this hotel the best, after stayed at at least 3 other hotels in Shanghai. It is in the prime location. We could walk out and so much food and shopping. If you'd like to taste local flavor, this is the place. One of the small ally across from this hotel had tons of local food to eat. They were all good. Room was big, compared to the Le Meridien just next door. Price was more reasonable. It was also walking distance to the Bund. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great service upon arrival. Room was spacious enough for 3 people even with the addition of a rollaway bed in our deluxe room. The location of the hotel is fantastic. If you leave from the front entrance, you can walk to the People's Square train station in 2 minutes. If you leave from the back entrance, you're surrounded by specialty food stores as well as shopping malls. There is a Subways, Coldstone Creamery, McD and Kosta right around the corner for those missing home.

This hotel has spa services, a gym and a pool. You need a swimming cap to enter the pool. If you don't have one, you can buy it at the spa desk. You can only use the sauna if you buy spa services.

We ate at the Chinese restaurant within the hotel one night. I think it was on the 3rd or 4th floor. There is a small aquarium there but the food was delicious!! Service was also very good.

If you're craving Shanghai dumplings aka "xiaolongbao", there is a restaurant to the left and down a block once you step out of the front entrance. Ask the concierge as they recommended it to us. Apparently they have a Chinese opera dinner show on certain days at a certain time although when we went, there was a wedding going on. Food and service was fantastic.

The Bund is about a 15-20 minute stroll away. The "food court" there is a bit lacking there as 75% of the restaurants looked like they were either shut down or under construction. You can get to the Pearl Tower and Shanghai World Financial Center via the tourist tunnel but that entire package is pretty pricey. We took the train after walking around the French Concession and that ends up being cheaper. I highly recommend the SWFC (4th tallest in the world) and go for the higher price ticket as it allows you to go up to the 100th floor observatory.

Overall, definitely worth what we paid and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very large, fancy foyer with lots of marble, high ceilings, and a nice bar/lounge area. The rooms were quite large and clean. Overall, it felt like a 4-star-ish hotel. Service was prompt and helpful. All in all, a very nice hotel.

Perhaps best of all was the location. Within walking distance to the Bund. Out the back of the hotel, there was a large pedestrian mall, with tons of shops and restaurants - a great place to stroll around during the evening. It was quite easy to get to various spots via short taxi rids (e.g. Xintiandi, etc.). All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majesty Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majesty Plaza Shanghai

Address: No.700 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#253 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Majesty Plaza Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious business class hotel, situated four kilometers from the Shanghai Railway Station, is close to Nanjing Road. Guests will enjoy proximity to the Oriental Pearl Tower, the Bund, Shanghai Grand Theater, Shanghai Government Building, and the People’s Square. The 387 modern guestrooms are adorned with ultra trendy decorations and new furnishings that are comfortable and colored with soothing... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Majesty Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majesty Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Shanghai
Ramada Plaza Shanghai
Shanghai Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majesty Plaza Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.