We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, great service, near Pearl tower” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai to your Saves list
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
¥1318 per night
Ranked #10 of 3,929 Hotels in Shanghai
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, great service, near Pearl tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

although rooms may not be brand-new furnished, they are clean and modern and well kept up.
service--there is an attendant at the lobby elevator who pushes the elevator button for you!

breakfast buffet excellent and extensive--wanted to take a picture but thought it would be crass.

near the river; can walk to the riverside.
Bund across the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    778
    104
    16
    12
See reviews for
83
158
80
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I travel a lot, and this is the best hotel i stay in, they remember me by name and make sure i have my favorite room with views over the Bund.
The service is excellent and the rooms are large and very comfortable.
You get your own nespresso machine and every time you come back into your room a little suprise awaits you from almonds to chocolate cake.
I stayed on my birthday and they relaised this from my passport, made me a birthday cake and delievered it with flowers to my room with a card from all the staff.
Best hotel in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Everything was done so well from the lobby to our room. Our room was just super, large, spotless and quite. Internet was wifi and eithernet and free. We had their buffet breakfast and it was very good. Dinner was even better with all the unreal the types of food that were available. What we had was excellent, it just doesn't get any better than this. To top it off, the staff were fantastic, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We only had a partial river view but would prefer total river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the limo pickup at the airport to the limo dropoff at the airport, this is one of my best hotel experiences ever. The welcome on arrival at the hotel was warm and friendly, my room very well appointed, with a superb view of the river and the city skyline, and the staff were utterly charming. Room service was top notch, accurate and attentive. Great location in Pudong. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading your room to avail of the Horizon Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My second visit to the Pudong Shangri-La, and this time I stayed in the Bund suite. It has a full kitchen, dining & sitting areas, office, dressing room, bedroom, 2 bathrooms.

It was, simply, unbelievable perfection. The view of the Bund is incredible, and the hotel room even comes with binoculars and a map of the skyline so you can enjoy it. A great room for meetings or hosting event, or for your own indulgence and luxury.

And the breakfast buffet remains a highlight of any trip to Shanghai!

Room Tip: Request a view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First class all the way except smoking is permitted in the beautiful lobby.The restaurant is amazing with foods from around the world.As far as value I have no idea what we payed here as we where on a uniworld tour.We.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was in Shanghai for the Chinese new year in January and what a great way to see the city. The city empties out for the new year so walking around was great - the fireworks everywhere were insane. The Pudong Shangri-La has amazing views of the fireworks - fantastic places to eat - luxury rooms - and outstanding service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#10 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#326 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.