We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, centrally located in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.396 Yan'an Road West, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #359 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 213 Reviews
China
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel, centrally located in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

When needing a cheap hotel, I used to go to the "Donghu guesthouse" on Donghu road, but recently discovered the Rendez-vous Merry. I have to say that for a budget hotel (less than 400 CY per night on booking.com) it is a really good option for Shanghai: the location is quite central, on Yan'An road, close from the French concession (10 mn walk) and not far from the metro line 2 (15-20 mn from Jiangsu station). The room size and amenities are superior to the other hotel of that price range: relatively spacious room, large king bed, quality linen, decent marble bathroom with shower AND bathtub, quality towels, working desk, water kettle, free nescafe bags, and lounge area by the window. Honestly it is really satisfactory. Now of course, being a budget option, the hotel has no charm. It looks a bit old and dusty, the typical medium-range 4 stars Chinese hotel. Definitely not the place you want to bring your girlfriend to impress!! But if you are traveling alone, it has everything your need, and the cleanliness is really satisfactory. The only small down-side for me was the breakfast: priced at more than 100 CY with taxes, it was quite disappointing: the croissant came rock-hard, as if re-heated 10 times. Coffee was good, I simply wish they filled the pot a bit more. You are far better off at the nearest coffee shop (Costa Cafe on Zhenning road, 5 mn walk).
Another small down side was the staff: not the friendly type (Donghu guesthouse, on this aspect, was better): when checking-out, they rushed me into paying, while I still wanted to clarify some cost components on my bill. Same goes for the bell-boys: I wanted to book a taxi, they were not so helpful or proactive, so I was better off on the road myself hailing a cab.
Useful tip: there is an ATM right next to the hotel, on the left.
If alone and in the mood for some nice diner and wine, go on Zhenning road and head to the French concession: either Anfu road (try "Enoterra" or "La Maison Gourmande") or Wukang road (=> "Ferguson lane"). Another of my favourite nearby restaurant is "Ginger", on # 91 of Xingguo road (close to Hunnan road). All these are really cool places, with lots of atmosphere, quality French or fusion food, and excellent wine. Perfect to chill out after a long day visiting factories, or sitting in dull meetings. They are also really good places where to bring your business partners. If you really want to impress a Chinese business partner, crack your budget and bring him to "Frank", the best French restaurant in town, with pub atmosphere. (in Ferguson lane. Book ahead, the place fills fast!)
If you need other advice on where to go / what to do, do not hesitate to contact me separately by email: I have lived in Shanghai for 5 years, and still travel there every month. I will be glad to help.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, really choose a non-smoking room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future.
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    103
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
12
35
25
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Location - on a busy road, but they all are - it's a bit irrelevant in Shanghai, it's too big to walk to anything, everyone drives!
Service - polite and adequate. Cash currency exchange machine in lobby, ATM outside front door, slow lifts as only 4 lifts for a 27 floor hotel.
Accommodation - first class rooms, execpt the smell of smoke throughout a lot of the hotel. No different to anywhere else in China.
Eating - Breakfast, extensive buffet. Coffee in the lobby bar - very expensive. Beer not so pricey! (but even cheaper if you buy it from the little shop at the back of the lobby and take it to your room!)
Wi-fi - expensive, not included in room price.
Summary - Very nice hotel, would recommend

Room Tip: ask for non-smoking - you may get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here. I am the newly appointed Public Relation Manager of the Hotel and we apologies for the late response to your review. We will try to response to all review as soon as possible in future.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Like a large number or reviews we stay at this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour. This in fact was the first hotl of 13 we stayed in over 28 days. I expected in a major city that it would be the best but really it was average.
There was the usual smell of previous smoking users even though it was a non smoking room. However the rest of the room was fine. The hotel was close to a family market store for your snack needs.
My only gripe was the wifi, non in the room and you were expected to buy a drink to use it in the bar. Somehow the batman was able to connect your ipad so it did not remember the password and that meant another drink each time.
The breakfast was very good but breakfast starts at 6.30 and don't expect a cooked egg until 7.30 as they do not get round to opening the egg bar until then.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Hotel management pay attention on every guests feel. We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience to you. And thank you can point out our shortage, it’s good for our ascension.
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel. The location is excellent, right in the center of actions and attractions, the Jingan District. It's close to Line 2 underground,which takes you to Hongqiao Railway Station for the bullet trains to many places and to the Hongqiao airport that serves most domestic flights including HK. The hotel has decent size guest rooms that are well maintained and clean, with the only exception of smelling smoking by some previous guests, even in a non-smoking room. The price in an off-peak month like November is about 500 Chinese yuan, about 80 US dollars; no where in Paris or London or New York would you be able to find a hotel of such location in the city at such a rate. The service is good; the breakfast I'd included is extraordinary with dozens of Chinese and western foods. One major con is no wifi; it's only available at the hotel' bar, and of course you are expected to buy a drink in order to sit there. Also, forget by taking a car there as there's practically no parking there. Taking a taxi should be super easy, so there's no need for a car.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future.
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is part of an Australian chain. The beds are average quality for China (slightly softer than a bamboo mat). Most hotels in China supply one bottle of drinking water per guest per day. The Merry Rendezvous is no exception, but the taste of their own branded water is really bitter. Don't let that tempt you into drinking Shanghai tap water (unless a bout of dysentery is something you crave). Step down the street to the Family Market or one of the other local shops for inexpensive and much better tasting bottled water.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Several speak English to help with basic needs.

The breakfast buffet is included in the room cost. It is more than adequate, offering both traditional Chinese fare and an assortment of breads, cereals and fruits for Western tastes. There is enough variety, plus an omelette chef, to meet everyone's taste needs. Eat later and eat plenty and you can likely skip lunch if you're trying to save money.

The hotel's wifi is pricey and undependable. Free wifi is available at both nearby Starbucks (but only if you have a Chinese mobile number or Starbucks code). Hint: the hotel offers free wifi in the piano bar. Nurse a drink for cost-effective wifi.

If you're here as a tourist, you won't find any major attractions or sites nearby. However, the cost of the hotel, coupled with the ease of transportation may still make this a good choice. Taxis are reasonably priced (but few, if any, drivers understand any language other than Mandarin Chinese). One of the main Shanghai subway lines is nearby (10 minute walk to the #2 line, Jiangsu Road Station) so you can get just about anywhere in the city with little difficulty. The subway requires ticket purchase from a machine. It isn't too hard to figure out (look for the button to switch the menu to English and you'll do fine). There are often student around that speak decent English and they are happy to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future.
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Like other reviewers I stayed there as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The hotel exceeded my expectations having read some of the reviews before staying there. The room was comfortable and clean with all the facilities that one could want with the exception of free Wi-Fi.

The breakfast buffet was the best I had experienced on the trip and my only complaint would be that the staff were slow in coming round with the coffee jug - other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future.
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here on a Wendy Wu China experience holiday and was pleasantly surprised by the room, it was large and clean. The bathroom was good with a separate shower and bath.
The bed was a comfortable king size and the room quiet, there was a flat screen tv with CNN news available etc.
Breakfast was in a large dining area on the 2nd floor and there was a good selection available during my 3 night stay, bacon, eggs any way you wanted and even baked beans one morning, fruit, juices and all the Chinese options.
Overall it was a good clean base to explore the delights of Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here. I am the newly appointed Public Relation Manager of the Hotel and we apologies for the late response to your review. We will try to response to all review as soon as possible in future.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.396 Yan'an Road West, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#338 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, we are delighted to announce that we will soon be renamed Rendezvous Hotel Shanghai Merry.Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, you will appreciate the convenience of having many of the city’s major attractions and offices at your doorstep. Conveniently located along Yan An West Road in Shanghai’s Puxi district, you can walk to Nanjing Road in five minutes, and popular sites like the Bund, Xintiandi, Yuyuan Garden and People’s Square are just a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Merry Shanghai
Shanghai Rendezvous Merry Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.