We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New World Shanghai Hotel

Save Saved
You added New World Shanghai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New World Shanghai Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1555 Dingxi Road | Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China (Zhongshan Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 3,843 Hotels in Shanghai
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Extremely Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at New World Shanghai Hotel. I loved the food (especially the dim sum), the location was very convenient, the staff was very professional and everything was very clean. I've been back here a few times now and will be going back again soon, this time for business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Plaxico B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy you had a good stay and thank you for nice words about our associates.

We agree with you that our location is extremely convenient for both business and leisure travelers. Your positive remarks about the cleanliness in the hotel will most certainly be shared with our housekeeping team!

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    210
    54
    15
    5
See reviews for
32
42
45
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was on a holiday with my family there and had a great time. The staff were extremely nice and helpful, even became good friends with one of them! Breafast buffet each day was excellent, a lot of variation. Includes a gym and a pool which overlooks the city and has a great view. Hotel is very close to your major shopping centres and the train line is very easy and close to use. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: near the pool ie level 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Shaz A,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your kind words about our Associates.

We agree with you that our location is extremely convenient for both business and leisure travelers, right next door to three major subway lines and conveniently located between both of Shanghai's airports. Our Executive Chef will be most pleased to hear your positve comments about the newly renovated NONG Cafe breakfast buffet and I thank you on his behalf for your observation.

I thank you again for your words of encouragement and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on three ocassions. The first one was our first stay in China. We stayed for two nights. Room was great they supplied everything you could need. Staff was more than friendly and helpful. They even have people waiting to call the lift for you. Breakfast well what can we say but excellent they had everything you could think of. They catered for everyone's tastes. The food quality and taste was great. Position was good metro was closeby is you wanted to venture yourself. We then travelled around and came back here two more times and we couldn't wait to get here because we knew what to expect. The only thing was the internet wasn't free. Most hotels we stayed at had wi fi in foyer free.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the front overlooking street and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear gtkelly_11,

Thank you for your review following your recent stays in our hotel. I am very pleased that you selected us for all three of your Shanghai stays and will most certainly share your kind comments with the rest of the team here.

I thank you for your remarks about our convenient location and quality of the breakfast buffet. Your comment about the WiFi has been noted.

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. It's very easy to take the subway and it is also not far away from the airport. The room is very clean and the food are deilicious. And also the Hotel services are excellent. The staffs are very professional and patient, especially Miss Jet Zhuang, she helped me with all the questions I had during my stay, not only about the hotel but also about other questions I had. I think when I go to Shanghai next time, I will still choose this hotel because it made me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Laura2618,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree with you that our location is extremely convenient for both business and leisure travelers, right next door to three major subway lines and conveniently located between both of Shanghai's airports.

I will most certainly pass your kind words to Jet who is a great asset to our hotel and thank you on her behalf for your encouraging remarks!

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, very kind staff, special Stephan the chief Concierge. Perfect location near airport and metro. Try the Dim Sum, its great! Very good hotel for business and holiday. Be sure we come back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear DJholl,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. It is very rewarding to read that you had a good stay in our hotel.

We receive lots of positve remarks about our convenient location, right next door to three major subway lines and between both of Shanghai's airports.

Stephen Chen our Chief Concierge is a true asset to our hotel and receives lots of positive guest feedback about his efforts to ensure guests get all the assistance they need during their stays with us. I am also very pleased to read you enjoyed the Dim Sum in our YUE1525 Restaurant which is renowned in the Shanghai market for its excellent cuisine and service.

I thank you again for your words of encouragement and Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this recently renovated hotel. The room was great, clean and nice. The staff very efficient and pleasant, always ready to assist. The transformation of the lobby & restaurant areas were beautifully done and in keeping with the current hotel trend.
The hotel's location is rather convenient for sightseeing and shopping . Highly recommended to friends and associates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel on line only because it was a little closer to where i need to be. I stayed at the swissotel last week and by far exceeded this place. The staff was not friendly, did not smile. Put me in a smoking room in which i did not ask for. Two twin beds when i asked for one. She did Change my room but seemed reluctant. When i asked to exchanged money she gave it to me and pretty much said sign here. Did not count it back or tell me any other info about the rate or anything of that nature. When i got into the room it was small compared to others that i pay the same amount for. It smelled like a mixture of Cigarettes and paint thinner. The carpet is dirty and old, the cabinets didn't close all the way. Furniture is old, seats are dirty, beds uncomfortable. Couldn't sleep all night because the smell was too much. Changed to another room in the morning that doesn't have the paint thinner smell but still smelled like someone smoked in here. For a floor that is supposedly non smoking and a "5 star" rating hotel nothing was up to par. I paid 5 star price for two star everything. Never coming back and will not recommend anyone paying the amount they do for this hotel to stay here. Not worth it in anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New World Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Shanghai Hotel

Address: No.1555 Dingxi Road | Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#217 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New World Shanghai Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World Shanghai Hotel offers 558 guest rooms, including 138 brand new Residence Club rooms and 17 suites. All rooms are equipped with free Internet access, one king bed or two twin beds with down pillows and luxurious linens for a relaxing night's rest. Also included are bottled water, iron and board, daily newspaper, free local phone calls and parking. All rooms have in-room safe, mini bar, LCD TV with Satellite channels, individual climate-controlled air conditioning. All guest rooms have full views of either the city or Zhongshan Park. Pool and gym access provided to guests of the hotel. Brand new Residence Club guest rooms from 32nd to 38th floors offer guests full Club access including, daily breakfast and all day beverage service in the 38th floor Residence Club Living Room. Residence Club guests can also enjoy free pressing of one garment per stay, late-check out and 2 hour use of club living room per day (subject to availability). Cosy comforts of home awaits at the Residence Club Living Room, including a library, fireplace, dining room, carefully chosen art pieces and subtle, Oriental-influenced decor. New World Shanghai is located next to Zhongshan Park in the heart of bustling Changning district. The hotel is two metro stations from Jing'An commercial center and close proximity to the architectural gem of French Concession. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hong Qiao airport and 60 minutes drive from Pudong International airport, with metro line 2,3 and 4 located right at the hotel's doorsteps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your New World Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Shanghai
Mayfair Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New World Shanghai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.