We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem for a cheap weekend in the pulse of Shanghai!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnificent International Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,181 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem for a cheap weekend in the pulse of Shanghai!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok, so i'll keep this short. We stayed in the magnificent for 5 nights over the Chinese New Year holidays in February of this year, during a time when hotel prices very quickly inflate - especially those in a prime location such as the Magnificent. So from reading other's reviews of this place, it seems apparent that people are very hard to please and especially harsh when reviewing a hotel that is quite obviously advertised as a budget hotel. I have stayed in many budget hotels and hostels and this one was one of the finer establishments I've spent my time in.

The rooms are basic and rather shabby, with a definite need of new furniture and paint job. In saying that though, they were very clean and everything was above board. We has a hot shower and the room was serviced everyday. I should also like to note that this hotel offers terrific views of parts of the famous Shanghai bund! From our own window we had a pristine view of the new Shanghai Tower, the world's tallest building (2015).

It's also worth mentioning we received a free continental breakfast every morning. The breakfast was by far great, but they served good coffee and had some tasty veggie and rice dishes which certainly kept me full up until dinner. In terms of staff, I should say they were friendly (for the most part) and some spoke excellent English. There was one receptionist that looked like he should be playing bass for a Chinese emo band! He had very distasteful hygiene and looked rather inconvenienced to deal with us. In saying that however, we really found no faults with this place as a whole. It was amazingly located (about 25 minutes walk from the Bund) and very very satisfying for the price we paid. Just remember before booking to consider the name of this hotel - The Magnificent! Even the Chinese can have a sense of humour and use irony from time to time.

Not a magnificent, or even a great hotel, but this place is a fine refuge for a few relaxing nights for a very humble price compared to other hotels in the area. Very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room for an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    59
    48
    23
    18
See reviews for
14
18
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

The hotel can be a little difficult to find if you follow the instructions from the Internet. However when you arrive the hotel is well equipped and the inclusive breakfast is very well received. The rooms are spacious and clean, with certain floors designated as non smoking. There are many local food outlets close by and the Shanghai metro is only 600 Mars from the Hotel.

Room Tip: We looked at two separate room all seemed to be the same design with ample space and all the facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

First of all it has a good location for sightseeing. We spent only one night there during our short stay in Shanghai. Room is clean and large but furniture and equipment is rather old. I had no problem with comunication with stuff. The breakfast was interesting :) there were more chinese food then continental. Hotel is close to the metro, but for example you can walk to the Yuyuan Garden. Generally this hotel is ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better because of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The bed sheets hadn't been changed, simply remade, disgusting. The bed was like laying on a board - hardest bed i've ever laid in ever in my life.

The toilet didn't work.

Requested more pillows, they brought up an iron. That was funny.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for the second time after one year. Went to Shanghai again on a holiday to have some fun in this amazing city.

The place combines good location with quite cheap price for Shanghai standards. It is 5 minutes walking from the nearest subway station. Also it is within walking distance of Nanjing Lu (~10-15min).

The rooms are big, but old and a bit dirty. The bed is not comfortable (not unusual for a Chinese hotel).

The breakfast was ok, had some variety. Better than most Chinese hotels.

The hotel service was not friendly at all, really bad indeed. The staff was not willing to help when needed, impatient and their English were really poor.

The hotel is a 3 star one, nothing more. It could really improve the service. Maybe I will stay somewhere else next time I go to Shanghai and not return to the same place again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is excellent and the staff were very helpful when services were needed. The check in experience was average at best - not very friendly. The hotel has a decent entrance and the breakfast was very good but the rooms need some remodeling/updating especially the bathroom. Also, wireless internet availability only available in the lobby. Rooms only have hard-wired internet access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel refuses to hold anything at the front desk for guests for guests friends to pick up gifts one-two hours later. Even refuses to call a messenger service to pick up gifts from guests to their in town guests. Completely horrible service. Worst hotel anyone could possibly stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnificent International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Address: No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,181 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnificent International Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Magnificent International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnificent International Plaza Shanghai
Hotel Magnificent International Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnificent International Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.