We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magnificent International Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,476 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Blagoveschensk
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Magnificent International Hotel, Shanghai is located about 10 minutes drive from the centre and the railway station. We had a spacious room on the 14th floor with a glass wall overlooking busy Xizang South Road and a park zone. Actually, the view is the only memorable thing about the hotel, the rest – furnishings, lights, bathroom – was just ordinary. The worst was that receptionists speak very poor English, frankly, they hardly understand it and are unable to provide any help. Fortunately, taxis are easy to get in Shanghai, and if you have a map of the city with Chinese versions of the names of the sights, you won’t have a problem. Close from old city area!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    60
    52
    23
    18
See reviews for
12
13
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Clean and convenient place to stay. Breakfast not great, but cannot complaint for the price we paid for the room. Near to the mas rapid line too. Internet services good with free use of the computers at the main lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Don't be fooled by the name - the hotel itself is far from Magnificent!
What it does have going for it are two key things: price and location.
I booked through a travel agent in Australia and paid $55 per night including breakfast. I think you'd be hard pressed to beat that and still be so central in Shanghai.
The hotel is quite central to everything - close to the metro if you want to see the city that way, but close enough to walk also. The People's Square is a 5-10min walk north, and Old Shanghai/Yuyuan a similar distance south then east. I also waled from the hotel to the Bund and To Nanjing Rd, although this is more for those who like to get a feel for a city by pounding th pavements.
The hotel itself is adequate. Mattresses are quite firm but that's pretty common anywhere in China. Rooms are decent but nothing special. Elevator is quite slow so while I enjoyed the view from the 19th (top) floor, at times it was a frustrating wait to get out. Breakfast buffet is fine, but nothing to write home about. The Chinese options are probably better than the Western ones. TV in the room had about 70 channels, and a any time I seemed to be ale to find 2-3 in English, but had to go searching because they varied! Best tips are channel 11, and somewhere between 48 and 58.
Reception staff: it seemed that there was always one person working who could speak English well enough, but only one, which often meant waiting for them to deal with a queue because other staff are reluctant to help non Chinese speakers.
Internet is available on a few computers in the lobby for free.
If you're planning to arrive by taxi, make sure you print the hotel name and address in Chinese characters to give them!! Even then it didn't seem well known, but it is on a well known street so if you know the number you can help them figure it out. The hotel will give you cards with the address in Chinese to use once youre there.

Room Tip: Choose between a good view and waiting for elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel is located 10mins walk to Nanjing Lu which is the main shopping street in Shanghai with numerous locals and tourists walking all thru the day. Hotel is basic with just to sleep at while you tour the city the whole day. Breakfast is included in the rate of RMB:400/- per night. Rooms are average and would be best to stay on a higher floor for a scenic view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The service in this hotel is quite good. However, you cannot exchange the money in the hotel. The hotel is decent for it's price and good for a short stay. You get all you need for 1 or 2 nights and breakfest is included.
The only thing is that nobody knows the location of the hotel so it is hard to find. We used subway and when we knew where the hotel is, took taxis. We felt like we were kidnapping the taxis, because the taxi drivers had no idea where they're going. Not to mention the fact that nobody speaks English in Shanghai....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

You couldn't pay me to stay at this hotel ever again. We checked out the next morning. I was there with a group of friends and we had 5 rooms. Room interiors were old and stained. I didn't want to touch anything. The carpet was disgusting. The ceiling had a leak and there was mold on and around the air vents. The air conditioning didn't work well and the elevator was slow. We even changed one room for a small improvement. The bed and pillows were hard as rocks like sleeping on a floor. The hall carpet smelled and reminded us of scary movie. The breakfast was awful. and the staff was unfriendly. We couldn't wait to leave. Staying at this hotel any longer would have ruined our trip.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We found this hotel was excellent.
It was so central to everything and only 5 mins away from the MTR station. There was a room with internet facilities which was great as we couldn't find any other places for net.
The bad bits: The beds are ROCK solid! And the breakfast is TERRIBLE! We only ate the toast, because the rest was just horrible.

You get fantastic views though! And the rooms are spacious and clean!
A good hotel, we had a lot of fun here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnificent International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Address: No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,476 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnificent International Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Magnificent International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnificent International Plaza Shanghai
Hotel Magnificent International Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnificent International Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.