We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jin Jiang Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Jin Jiang Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.161 Changle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best hotel in shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we booked a double room and wanted an extra bed, so we had to pay for the extra bed. The front desk upgraded our room to the an executive room.

The room was very spacious with a great view from the 33rd floor. We had access to the executive lounge which had good breakfast serving a good range of food. The hotel staff are very friendly and the location and price for stay was very reasonable. Definitely will come back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most stay with us.

We are so pleased to know you are satisfied with the Villar Executive Room and have already shared your comments with my colleagues. Please know that we would be eager to have you back again in the future.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    225
    89
    15
    2
See reviews for
20
29
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I wasnt sure what or where to book in Shanghai but ended up at the Jin Jiang Tower based on location and price and wasnt disapointed . The room on 24th floor was nice (showing a little bit of wear in places but nothing to worry about) . The view , bed and shower were great . Breakfast was ok but nothing special .The fridge was hot . I booked online and took an internet package ... was a waste of time and money , the in room wifi was hopless .The staff in the resturant were great , freindly and helpfull and the food was great to . The location was excellent for me , short walk to Hauihai Rd shops and resturants parks and old tree lined areas . Overall a great place to stay and when in Shanghai having said that ... Everynight i returned to the hotel i was hassled by pimps and prostitutes as i tried to enter the hotel . One night i was aproached at the lift on 24th floor and sitting at the bar ....IN the foyer its not to hard to notice the girls working there ways . I really honestly cant believe management dont notice or care .
Nothing against the girls or there work but there persistant sales pitch was bloody anouying and if i returned to Shanghai i would be looking at the Okura Garden hotel or Jin Jiang Hotel (same area ) or a garantee from the Tower hotel they had delt with this issue .
One more thing , being a tall building i thought i would be waiting for lifts all the time but they were excellent , fast and never kept me waiting .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you very much for choosing Jin Jiang Tower during your stay in Shanghai and taking the time to submit a review. We apologize for the security work in the hotel. To avoid the persistant disturbance to the guests and the hotel as well, we keep making efforts to enhance the security and are now undertakint the renovation project of the elevator to allow only the in-house guest to use it. We truly appreciate your positive comments for the location and restaurant staff. Your concern about the in room wifi and room facility will be tried hard to improve. We hope to offer you a better experience upon your return.

We look forward to having you back and hope we have the opportunity to impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good hotel for a quick stay in Shanghai. Very nice room, although bathroom tired. Excellent gym. Great breakfast buffet. Well located within walking distance to Old Street and waterfront (for the fit). We dined at an excellent little bistro type restaurant down the road, wonderful food and super cheap and very relaxed casual dining. (English difficult but possible). (Go out the front of the hotel and turn left and walk no more than about 50m). Nice bar area, and all round a good stay although brief, but will come back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your experiences with us. We regard all of our guests' feedback as an important tool for our training and improvement.

We look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great property to stay. Rooms are good, huge windows. My room had a unblocked sunrise view, which was the best thing for me.
The place is close to the famous Nanjing road and other areas.
I stayed only one night so did not eat there, but there are many options close by.

Room Tip: High floor and east side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share what you enjoyed most about your stay . We are especially grateful for your comments and hope you get more and more familiar with Jin Jiang Hotels, the largest hotel management group in the Asia.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham(UK)
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beware...the rooms are large and definitely setup for business, but with that comes some really nice luxuries, made all the better for us as we were at the end of a long trip around china.

It is ideally placed for the metro, and within quick easy walk or tube of everywhere you might want to go.

The huge glass wall from bathroom to bedroom is interesting...but being able to watch the tele either in the bath shower or even on the loo is curious, (far more people will be trying it than admitting it!!!) Get the right room, and the views are superb.

It is very clean, efficient and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your experiences at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable in your room.
The room type is an attempt we made to create more open space in the room. Concerning about the acceptence for all the guests, we provide a curtain for your choice.

Jin Jiang Hotels is the largest hotel management group in China. We hope you may get more and more familiar with the brand during your next trip to China.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was with my friend .. In a business trip .. It was recommended by my partner in Shanghai .. The hotel is in the middle of shanghai .. The rate is good .. The Taxis available outside the hotel gate .. They provide internet during your stay with additional fees which is recommended. They provide Islamic food by order.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your impressions of our hotel. I am grateful to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our management so they may be recognized for their commitment to service.

We hope that you are enjoying a pleasant journey onwards and we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

For the positive: the rooms are good, the location excellent... for the negative: but the food is overly priced but very very poor quality, the staff is untrained, very very bad service. 80 rmb for a very very small portion of very bad tiramisu served in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your review of your most recent stay with us.

I am pleased to know you are satisfied with the room. However, I am so disappointed to hear that your impressions of my colleagues and the food are so poor; however, we will be sure to use your comments for our development.

Please know that we would be eager to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jin Jiang Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Tower Hotel

Address: No.161 Changle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#125 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#197 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jin Jiang Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the former French concession, near the Huaihai Road Central Business District, Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai enjoys a most convenient traffic, close to Xin Tian Di and People's Square. As a flagship hotel of Jin Jiang Hotels Group, the largest hotel group in China and Asia, the hotel is one of the best venues to overlook Shanghai downtown landscape. Choosing a hotel receiving more than 370 heads of states, foreign dignitaries and celebrities, the guest will experience exquisite oriental-attentive services.The hotel owns 582 rooms and suites, where high-speed WiFi network fully covered including the public area. All the guests may enjoy the cutting-edge digital system during your stay at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jin Jiang Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Jiang Hotel
Hotel Jin Jiang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.