We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from IHG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #57 of 3,975 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Everything you expect from IHG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

It's 25kms from SHA airport costs approx 250 yuan one way, 46kms to PVG airport cost similar in a taxi, large skyscraper 35 floors maybe, 4 lifts, reception area somewhat small but check-in fast, wifi charged in lobby it's free, produce your business card and become a IHG member them wifi is free in rooms too, some language problems (English) but nothing major, breakfast spread very good large area buffet so finding your type of food will make you walk corner to corner, 21st floor superior room good but looks tired need some uplifting perhaps, good amenities, spacious WC, close to underground can take it costing 8yuan one way to people's square for shopping etc, good location, good hotel, no hesitation will stay again, enjoy your stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    343
    75
    32
    10
See reviews for
65
70
72
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time staying in this hotel, check in process very quick. The building is very different from others where you can see every floor of this hotel.

The room looks much of my other Intercontinental stay, only the king size bed was merge from 2 single beds where I can felt the gap between them.

24 hours fitness center was a really good option for those who wanted to workout at late night or very early in the morning.

Breakfast was excellent, I did see some comments saying that the staff didn't smile when they enter the restaurant. For me it was a bit similar, but however there were other staff that gave me a very good service so I would say it was an exceptional case.

Great location to the Lujiazui financial districts and lots of restaurants nearby the hotel as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your staying experience.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our check in service and breakfast. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the bed issue you have highlighted, and thank you for bringing it into our attention. Furthermore we have carried out basic service behavioral training to our restaurant line associates to make sure the same standard of service will be delivered in future.

Thanks again for your patience and valued comments. We wish to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Service:
- Front desk check in was good, however check out service was not so good
- Bar service was good
- Resturant was really bad! Servers didn't say good morning or a single smile
Dishes stack on the table, servers walk by many times and did not bother to collect them

Room:
- first impression of the room was clean and tidy
- after two nights in the room, found moldy toilet paper cover (was going to stay 5 nights and changed to 3 nights)
- did not replace slippers
- did not replace toiletry
- maid vacuum the room while I was standing outside the door waiting (this is absolutely not acceptable)

All in all, there are many much better hotels in Shanghai area and I would not recommend this hotel to travelers.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Ms. Juliana,


Thank you very much for taking your time and share with us about your staying experience. We feel sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong.

It is a great concern when we learned that the service provided was neither IHG standard nor in line with the fundamentals of our InterContinental service culture. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We strive to provide our guests with a true InterContinental experience and all guest feedback is of utmost importance.

We hope that despite of your last experience with our hotel we can convince you of our real performance and may welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Have been here a couple of times on business.

Pro's
+ It's a short ride from the exhibition halls.
+ Nice clean rooms. No faults with it.
+ Better then expected breakfast buffet.

Con's
- It's close to the exhibition halls but a bit far out from the "rest" of the city. That's not really that much of an issue since the taxi's are plentiful and cheap. Just get a namecard from the hotel and on the back are some interesting locations.

Can recommend this hotel as a business hotel, but i wouldn't go here in my free time.

Room Tip: One of the rare hotels where i don't have a tip. I think all the rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your staying experience. We appreciate for your loyalty and glad to read that you are satisfied with our location and breakfast. As you mentioned our hotel is ideally located in the center of Lujiazui area with convenience transportation to exhibition center. Most of the business travelers choose our hotel are mainly due to the perfect location and excellent service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very 'comfortable' hotel. Nothing extravagant but all necessary facilities with helpful staff and easy location. I have stayed here 3 times per year for the last 5 years and have not yet had a bad stay. Good international buffet Breakfast is plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


We appreciate for your positive feedback in regards of your staying experience at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. I will ensure that the team is briefed about what you have commented and the same level of the service and quality to be delivered in your next visit.


Thanks again for your time and we wish to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzelia, Israel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Was in Shanghai for an expo, and this hotel was one of the conference options. Had a wonderful experience.

Very good value for money with the conference rate.

Nice room on the 22nd floor. Too bad it was foggy/rainy most of my time there, so didn't get much of a view. Room was decently new, well-appointed and good sized. Clean, comfy enough and good for business traveler.

Breakfast, like other people have mentioned, was very good. Service was wonderful. Lots of different types of cuisine, from Western (ie eggs, bacon, etc.) to Indian, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, etc. And, the food was presented beautifully and was tasty on top of that. Had my favorite fresh watermelon juice for breakfast everyday.

Service was great... Internet was included as part of conference package and when I logged in, the only options were to pay for internet. When I called the front desk to inquire, they said to choose one of the options and would be taken care of at check-out. And, that is exactly what happened--without any issues.

The hotel is a short taxi-ride away (or metro ride) from the business center of Pudong and from the Shanghai New International Expo Center.

Room Tip: Ask for city room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This was a very comfortable hotel with large spacious rooms. I stayed here recently while at a convention in Shanghai. The staff were all very professional and friendly.
I guess the only negative here is location. If you are in Shanghai for a holiday or as a tourist it's not very central for all the sights but as a business hotel it was very comfortable with great facilities - including gym facilities which where too notch!
Recommended for business.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your positive feedback in regards of your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is strategically located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, the largest interchange metro line station connecting line 2, 4, 6 and 9. Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza, Pacific Digital Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, IFC Mall, Super Brand Mall and Riverside Avenue are just 2 kilometers away.
Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#258 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are 2 kilometers away.The hotel has 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 sqm of meeting facilities and professional catering team, 2 restaurants and the Lobby Lounge, as well as a chic designed club lounge, offers both business and leisure travelers all the opportunities to discover the vibrant city life of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.