We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice for business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great choice for business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights for business trip on Shanghai. The room is spacious with sofa, large window, and luxury bath room. The service was really good, especially when I got problem with my luggage. I lost my luggage padlock key and called room service, the staff came immediately to my room and cleared up my luggage problem. The receptionist also helped us so much when we asked location or wrote some places in Chinese letter. When we ordered Taxi, the staff also helped us to refer our destination to the driver (most of the driver can't read Latin letters).

The breakfast buffet has so many various menu. Even many pork menu, but we can still find plenty various of no pork foods. That's why even as a moslem i didn't feel bored with the breakfast buffet menu. There's also free Wi-Fi connection at the lobby. It's really helpful for doing business and connected with family and friends in our country (if we didn't use local number).

The location is not really the center of Shanghai, but close from business center of Shanghai. Don't expect something interesting for explored in this hotel neighborhood, only some offices and shopping centers that have been closed at 9 pm. Not so many tourist attraction around here, you need to take a taxi to center or go to the train station across the hotel to go to the center of Shanghai such as Nanjing Road or Yu Garden.

But overall, this hotel is a good choice for business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your stay experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoy your stay with us.

As you said we are ideally located at the center of shanghai, and with easy access to the tourist attractions. 8 minutes walking distance to reach Century Avenue Metro station which contains 4 lines.

We wish to see you again soon during your next visit in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    321
    71
    30
    9
See reviews for
61
64
71
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

One thing to remember for IHG group (which this hotel is part of) .... there is no added service for even a Platinum member. There is no access to the lounge.

As for the "privilege" of "room upgrade" and fruit platter is really a joke and pale in shadow against the program from other hotel loyalty program.

The bed in the room (1105) I got is simply putting two large single bed together. And even when I sleep on one side of the bed, the mattress is sunken in the middle and not supporting the body enough for a good night sleep. Bad sleep.

Though it was not part of my Platinum benefit, I was invited to use the Club lounge and was lucky to still find something good in this hotel. Their service staffs there at the lounge. Kudo to the them there. (Foods serve in the lounge for breakfast and happy hours are limited and really very basic. I would have given a 2 points on this rating)

Spa or Gym, it is actually being sub-con to a 3rd party. Overall, if you are someone that want a good workout, then do not expected much from this very small outfit. There are like only 4 treadmills, 3 elliptical, 1 bike, a few static weight machine and some free-weights. Though it is meant by some cleaners, do not expect these cleaners to have the sense of cleaning the machines between being used. So, you are all solely responsible for the cleanliness and hygiene. Yuck!!

(and if you need a spotter when you do weight training, forget it. The attendants won't be helping at all)

Pool? Forget about it too if you are looking to do lap swimming in this circular-sized pool.

Overall, this hotel is well located with a train interchange station (for up to 4 train lines) about 10min walk away. But it is very old and aged. If not for the fact that it is part of IHG and the great service staff at the Club Lounge (this is tricky as I may not get this access the next time), I would definitely advice readers to look for another hotel.

(BTW, on weekends, the central foyer (at the 3rd) usually have wedding function. The doors and walls are not sound-proof and your weekend afternoon nap will therefore not in peace and very disturbed)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing with us about your recent staying experience. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we do apologize for the unsatisfactory service we provided.

As an IHG Rewards club Platinum member we are grateful for your loyalty, and we honor Platinum member benefits like room upgrade and late check out. Unfortunately a complimentary access to the Club lounge is not part of Platinum member benefits. We do recognize that the service attitude and errors occurred during your visit were unacceptable. We take your feedback constructively and started already to re-visit internal procedures and policies. Besides that we will re-enforce training sessions for all our front line employees to avoid a similar situation in future.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you grant us another opportunity to extend the true InterContinental service that you can expect as a loyal IHG guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong in a club room for two days in May 2014 while on business, my first stay at this hotel. While the location is not convenient for those doing more than business, this was a first class property with nice large rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful staff and an ambiance that I found better than most hotels in which I have stayed. It was a bit noisy during part of my stay due to a wedding celebration held at the hotel, but it did not detract in any way; indeed, it was a bit of fun to see the people celebrating the event. My experience with the Intercontinental brand in China was only enhanced though this stay and I look forward to returning at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Get a club room - for the price, it is the most cost effective in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your positive feedback in regards of your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalons en Champagne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Good hotel and quiet, good service and enormous breakfeast. Nothing to do in this area and Taxi is neede to go to the centre of Shangai.
Not a lot to do in this area but hotel is quiet, confortable and really clean. Room are spacious .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The intercontinental Hotel in the Pudong Area in Shanghai is very conveniently located near the main attractions and business centers in Shanghai. The Hotel has been greatly updated, the rates are very acceptable, the breakfast buffet plentiful and the staff is very attentive and friendly. This hotel is a great choice for any business traveler to Shanghai.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

To start, the hotel entrance is on the side of the building, there are no lights lighting the passage to the hotel and it gets worst when it gets dark, there is no passage for people to walk in so if you are walking back to the hotel you have to be careful of the car turning into the hotel behind you.

Now When i read the reviews of the hotel that went on and on about excellent staff, which I think they couldn't keep up with staff, the thing they lagged most was to smile, it felt like there was no connection.

Rooms were okay, bit small for club level rooms, my AC didn't work well, i complained and they brought be a fan, they left a note in my room next day with a small token that they fixed my AC but same night I had to call them again and then just gave up that it could have been fixed.

Overall rooms were good, everything was plush and amenities were excellent.

Breakfast had a good variety of things, but staff there as well was not up to the mark.

I guess most disappointing part was the entrance of the hotel which made everything follow.

Will I stay there again? Will for the money I paid, I don't think so I will

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your feedback. It is with great concern that we learned you did not enjoy your stay experience with us.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. The services you have received are totally not acceptable, and we take it as constructive criticism and will strive to do better and seeking for further improvement in future.

Thank you for your compliments about our room amenities and breakfast food variety. We do receive a lot of great comments related to our breakfast. We hope you give us another opportunity to extend the true InterContinental service that you can expect as loyal IHG guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

check in no club floor access given as platinum ambassador for standard room … breakfast already close 10:00am … worst is the noise level from road around the hotel is like sleeping on the it … location ok … room good like expected

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your stay experience. It is with a great concern we read that you did not receive the right level of service.

As a platinum ambassador member we are grateful for your loyalty, and we do provide additional benefits such as room upgrade to next category including fruit amenities, late check out till 16:00 etc. Unfortunately club lounge access is not a part of the platinum ambassador benefits. On the other hand we are glad to read that the room upgrade we have selected for you meets your expectation.

Again thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#239 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are 2 kilometers away.The hotel has 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 sqm of meeting facilities and professional catering team, 2 restaurants and the Lobby Lounge, as well as a chic designed club lounge, offers both business and leisure travelers all the opportunities to discover the vibrant city life of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.