We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #65 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for business trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is huge. we've stayed in the executives suits on the 25th floor. the rooms were absolutely beautiful, with large space for work and lots of extras. the staff were kind and helpful. one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. i just wish they could offer more variety for vegetarians at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    327
    72
    30
    9
See reviews for
62
66
71
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I booked two nights online and wheni arrived, they upgraded me to a club suite and they gave me late check out. Service is excellent and the facilities are well maintained. I think the area where they can improve further is the buffet breakfast. Not too many options

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I only stayed there for one short night before catching my flight back home, but I wish I could have stayed there longer to enjoy this hotel. I really liked the way the rooms were designed and they were spacious enough. The A/C was working well so I could relax before catching the plane. There was so much food at breakfeast that I couldn't try everything. Coffee was also delicious. Finally, two thumbs up for Gordon and Daisy at the front desk for their professionalism and dedicated service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just recently stayed at the Intercon in Shanghai Pudong for 12 nights as I look for an apartment and I could not have stayed at a better hotel.
The staff were great, from the reception desk to housekeeping to the breakfast staff and to the door men.
Breakfast was complete even though we stayed there for 12 nights, there were enough selections that one could literally try something different every day.
We had a low, sports car to park which would have been tricky with the dip in the garage so the door men allowed us to park at the front of the hotel besides the bus.... everyday!!
Housekeeping always respected our privacy but would always offer us fresh towels and bottles of water without being prompted.
The staff mostly all speak English and always try to provide service with a smile.
One negative may be the pool area. Difficult to get to :-(
Overall - I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Shanghai for business or pleasure or while apartment hunting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is complete and long time span. No great alternative restaurants in the building, but easy access and fairly well known by taxis. Be careful that you know Intercontinental Pudong, not Expo. Zhangyang Lu.

Rooms are a good size-easy layout. Some renovations underway at the moment, so a little dusty and a little noise, but mostly contained.

Location is good for business in Pudong. Good for a getaway from normal Chinese cities. Two metro stops close by. Staff speaks English fairly well - enough to help.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although I arrived after an overnight flight at 10.00am my room was ready which was a welcome start to my stay. Very well appointed room with comfortable bed and effective, quiet air conditioning (outside it was 40c). There is Free Wi-Fi for two hours but simply log out and back in to restart. I was on the 14th floor with proper soundproofing from the street noise below.
Gym and small pool are to a good standard.

The staff are helpful with the concierge doing a professional job briefing taxi drivers for you. He will also write out your destination in Chinese if required as the taxi drivers usually don't have any English. Pick up a hotel card before you go out, although for back up the address is also on your key card. The drivers are fast (sometime little scarily) but reliable and cheap. The 30km from the airport is only between £15-20. Trips around the city £5-10 depending on traffic. At the airport DO NOT use the taxi touts in arrivals, you will be ripped off, ignore them and go downstairs to the official taxi rank.

A wide choice for breakfast with fresh pastries. Didn't eat in the restaurant, the bar food was fine.

The hotel is well located, but if you are going to move around this large dispersed city wherever you're based you will never be in the right place for everything.

I found a great value price on-line, well under advertised rates, so worth shopping around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is in Pudong, so, mean, close to center and the river... Staff were very nice with us, more especially at the Lounge. These employees, at the lounge, took care of us very much, they were very helpful and friendly. Honestly, it's the best side of this hotel. It's i come back later, it's just for that! I had an upgrade to a suite, i can not complain, but, its was very noisy around our room the week-end we went... Many renovation... painting and clean... but... On my floor level, they decide to clean all the Air Cond Unit/Roof in all room, early, a sunday morning... So, they woke-up us early and without advise... It's let me a bit negative about this hotel... Also, the saturday morning, they renovate and use very noisy tools in the restaurant, during the breakfast... (Can wait 1 or 2 hours...). The building is a bit old, i can understand some clean-up or repair are required, but, it's wasn't well managed...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.

On the other hand, regarding the renovation in the hotel we do apologize for any inconvenience caused. I agree that despite of sending out the guest letters to the room, our receptionists are also supposed to inform you upon check in so that you are aware about it.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#223 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are 2 kilometers away.The hotel has 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 sqm of meeting facilities and professional catering team, 2 restaurants and the Lobby Lounge, as well as a chic designed club lounge, offers both business and leisure travelers all the opportunities to discover the vibrant city life of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.