We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have been staying at Intercontinental across the world, and this one stands out. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are well-deisgned and spacious, and if you get a river-facing room, like I did, and an upgrade to a suite, that's icing on the cake. The lobby is also elegant and the hotel provides free access tot he internet. The breakfast spread is very tempting and the staff are extremely courteous. I took 6 couple friends to this hotel on a vacation to China and they all concur with me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    341
    73
    31
    10
See reviews for
65
68
71
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The rooms were fine, but a little dated. Had the basic amenitites for a business travler. Houskeeping was not great. One day, I came back with all my toiletries literally pushed to the side of the sink so they were in a small pile. The second day, I found my toiletries arranged nicely on a white towel (what I would expect from a hotel), but they took my toothbrush out of the cup it was resting in, put the cup back in the place in the drawer, and left my toothbrush lying flat on the side of the sink, which I found to be unsanitary and really did not appreciate the fact that they touched my toothbrush and left it on a public hotel sink not even on the white towel with the other toiletries.

Concierge and dining staff were both great and very helpful. Unfortunately, the buffet lunch at the downstairs restaurant was not good, and breakfast was only decent. But the waitstaff had fantastic service, and was quickly on hand to pour drinks or take away empty plates. Concierge very nicely helped me with a number of questions, and I feel like Merlin (the guy as opposed to the front desk female Merlin) went out of his way to be helpful.

The front desk management was terrible. I asked for late check out my last morning, and the front desk granted it after first placing me on hold, but apparently not noting it in the system. When I asked for a new key b/c the room had reset, the manager questioned who I had spoken to about the late check out. Obviously, I didn't jot down the name for this, but was giving details of the time of call, etc. He rudely said "fine fine fine, but this is the last time. This is only for gold card members, and be advised that next time you will not receive this." Obviously he needs to tell his staff to properly note it, and if he is going to grant this concession that is not that big of a deal for them, then to be gracious about it.

Most likely I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your feedback. We are disappointed to read that you did not receive the right level of service.

We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for using IHG hotels as a priority card gold member. The service you have received from our Front Office Team was totally unacceptable and we do apologize for the inappropriate behavior. Procedures have been revised and actions have been taken to avoid a similar situation in future.

We are sorry about the attitude displayed this was neither IHG standard nor in line with the fundamentals of our InterContinental service culture.

We hope that despite your last experience with our hotel we can convince you of our real performance and may welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked with our ambassador card on the website for a price included breakfast upon arrival the manager told us we needed to pay another 250 rmb per person for the breakfast
This all added up the room became 1700 rmb per night while you have could booked on booking.com for 1100 rmb including breakfast after explaining this to the manager he told us to book om booking.com and come back to him after

This service is bad bad bad this manager should have been fired for this

Room Tip: If you are a member please check first on booking.com you might find cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback. It is with great concern that we learned you did not receive the right level of Intercontinental Service. We take your feedback constructively and strive to do better. We will increase trainings for our employees especially for the management team to deliver better service to our guests.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology and we hope to see you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

good location, and consistently provided recognition of my platinum Ambassador status, and provided upgrade to corner room every time i stay there. Rooms are starting to show its age, but still well maintained. recommended mainly for its location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental Pudong for 1 night . I really liked this hotel. It is in a very good location for me as my companies China headquarters is in the China Telecom building about 5 blocks down Century Blvd. The Jin Mao Hyatt is closer and that where i stayed last time but I like the Intercontinental just as much if not slightly better. I like the Intercontinental becuase it is just very comfortable. The employees are noticeably friendlier than other hotels and the rooms are very comfortable with a large bathroom with shower and tub and a kind of interesting shaded shower that can see through to the bedroom if you raise the shades! The bedding, TV and overall room is not huge but big enough and well laid out. Of course the views are great I had a 7th story room that looked down Century Blvd. Oh did I mention the awesome breakfast buffet with a bakery section, fruits, eggs, meats and a traditional chinese fare section. Best of all I had an exceptional cappucino. They also gave me two free drink coupons at check in because I was a member of their rewards program. I liked this hotel and will return

Room Tip: Stay above the 7th floor and ask for a view of Century Blvd so you can see 3 of the worlds 6 tallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here twice for a short business trip and both times I was very happy with the service I received. Big, comfotrable bed with many pillows. Good facilities and well equipped room. Very clean. Breakfast has a lots of different options to choose from - asian and western. Staff is helpful and discreet. Only downside is that there are not many places to eat near hotel, however it only takes 10 minutes to get into central part of Shanghai. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good corporate hotel, good service, nice and clean.
I think there isnt much to pick on.

The only problem is the pillow are just tooooo soft for neck support.
After 2 nights I could no longer bear it and then to realise that they have a pillow menu!
(I should voice out earlier....)
There are many different varierty of pillow to choose from and its free of charge.

So if the pillow do not suit you. (which is really too soft - my colleague suffer a neck ache too)
Get the pillow menu and order one which is right for you.

Room Tip: request a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#257 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are 2 kilometers away.The hotel has 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 sqm of meeting facilities and professional catering team, 2 restaurants and the Lobby Lounge, as well as a chic designed club lounge, offers both business and leisure travelers all the opportunities to discover the vibrant city life of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.