We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class and very personal service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #59 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 808 Reviews
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top class and very personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed here during the last week of 2012. Had a room with Club Lounge benefits. The staff was very helpful and friendly: at the lounge but also the concierges. This hotel delivers what you expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    321
    71
    30
    9
See reviews for
61
64
71
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Shanghai Pudong is a typical Intercontinental property. Efficiently managed, clean and contemporary. It was nice to be welcomed by name by the Lobby Manager even though it was well past midnight. The room was good but not much of a view since its located in a business disctict. The location is convenient and they do have a Pizza Hut and Papa John's at walking distance for vegetarians. Its also close to the Shanghai market near science museum for those who want to shop. Some of the famous iconic buildings are closeby sine Pudong primarily constitutes the Shanghai skyline. They have nice breakfast and dinner buffet which does have vegetarian optins, though limited. The decor is contemporary and pleasing.
Overall a good business hotel that you can trust to live upto its brand.

Room Tip: Since its a business district hotel, there is not much of a view. Avoid the front facing rooms in ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful property but somewhat soulless as noted by another reviewer. When you enter, if were not for ubiquitous Asian staff, you would swear you were in a 5 star USA location. The hotel is extremely contemporary, scrupulously clean and well maintained.

The front desk crew spoke acceptable English and were so polite they were almost obsequious. This made for an enjoyable smooth check in you won't experience in many locations.

The standard rooms are well appointed but small. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was ver large, elegant and a delight from the beautiful powder room to the large sumptuous bath with wall to wall marble and every convenience you might conjure. The personal amenities were first rate. You will toiletries as well as a tooth bush and razor.

The executive floor provided a luxurious respite from the outside world with wonderful drinks, snacks and a concierge service.

The breakfast buffet was gigantic with made to order omelets, fruit and virtually every traditional American breakfast item. The orange juice was bottled but tasted almost as good a fresh... Usually I abhor the chemical taste of canned or bottled pasteurized orange juice. Perhaps the Chinese bottle orange juice without Pasteurization... who knows?

Maid service and turn down service were excellent.

The concierge arranged an excellent private one half day tour of the city with a guide, small van and driver for two of us for about $100.00. I thought this a very good deal.

The location is a little off the beaten track but still offers a shopping area with blocks and blocks of intriguing tourist free stores. Taxis are plentiful and cheap. We took a taxi to a nearby super luxury mall.. It was fast convenient and cheap.

I down graded this hotel only because upon check out the charge was about a hundred dollars more than quoted when i made the guaranteed reservation with Intercontinental. It was very difficult, for me, to think in Chinese yuan. So I waited until I got home to protest. This prompted days of email exchanges. The hotel admitted to a small mistake in the bill but insisted I was charged the correct price. Astonishingly, when I contacted Intercontinental international headquarters they refused to intervene in any way. I had to remind myself I was negotiating with Communist China.

In all fairness the room was well worth the price and the hotel will not disappoint. Just be certain you bring a foreign currency calculator.

Room Tip: Try to get as high as floor as possible. The view of the river and surrounding city is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

It is not for limited business budget minded travelers but it is worth the value. It is in a very convenient location on the Pudong side. Pundong is a newer area and much less traffic when compare to Puxi side. The rooms are well designed, staff are friendly and secure. Buffet selections are wide ranged and able to cater to different nationalities. Hotel itself is clean and the views from the rooms are nice. Airport to Hotel taxi costs around 65 RMB.. If your meetings are concentrated on the Puxi side, maybe this location is not the best. You will be fighting the traffic going back of leaving the hotels during peak traffic hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Check in:
We had a smooth check in, the receptionist spoke very good English. And for being a priority club member, you get a free drink coupon (fresh squeezed juice or wine) at the lobby bar. Just one thing, no one offered to help us with our luggage.

Room:
Our room was well appointed with a big King bed (newly renovated) with small art pieces around the room. We enjoyed the many TV Channels and used the Shanghai map and stationery provided.

I really liked the bathroom with dual sinks, the closet can be accessed both sides through the room and the bathroom. So you can reach for your bathrobes, without going out the door into the room again. And they have electric blinds to protect your privacy while you're showering.

Buffet Breakfast:
Loved the buffet breakfast, everything from dim sum to fresh squeezed juice to made to order omelets, grilled tomatoes, barbeque duck..endless desserts..the service was attentive too, the manager said hello to us as soon as we walked in and the hostess lead us to our table.

Location:
I was worried at first that the location would be too isolated. But when I walked along the street in the evening, I found plenty of restaurants and shopping malls. There is a must try hot pot restaurant called " Hai Di Lao," (6F,588 Zhangyang Road). The service there is over the top! And while you are waiting for a table, they provide chess,children's area,manicure, drinks and snacks! And they are open 24 hours!

We walked to the nearest Metro station at Century Avenue about 10 minute walk leisurely.

Weddings on the weekend:
There is a beautiful atrium which makes the hotel beautiful and grand. But the wedding banquet area is also the grand floor of the atrium. Seems like every weekend, there will be a wedding going on with loud speakers and music all night. The wedding ended around 11pm that evening we were staying at the hotel and then some noise of cleaning and shuffling chairs continued for a bit.

Would definitely recommend and love to stay here again. Next time I would like to try out the club lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent nearly two weeks here on business. It’s a fairly soulless corporate hotel and you could be pretty much anywhere in the world. However, the rooms are nicely done and a good size, and the other facilities are good.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and the coffee was surprisingly good.

It’s also in a great location where you can easily get out and walk or get the metro to more interesting parts of the city.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights make sure you go for a lower floor as the internal atrium goes all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Was in shanghai for the first time for a seminar in the same hotel.

Ride from the airport takes about 40 mins.. Costs around 210 yuan.. We didnt have to wait that long for a cab at the airport.. Although we were told that during peak hours, the wait could be up to an hour...

Checking in was fast, although my colleague and i were given a smoking room and a twin room respetively... This Cos they ran out of non smoking king rooms.. Understandable given our late hour check in.. But i guess its still annoying not getting what we preferred.. Waited a bit longer than necessary for the housekeeping guy to come spray my smoking room with some air freshner.. Had to call twice, but at least the boy came with a smile and apologised.

The next morning i was given the room change so it was alrite therafter.

Rooms are quite nice.. Well sized and modern. Handy double opening cabinet as well as a large bathroom. The only thing is the blinds from the bathroom to the bedroom gets a bit bent in places and looks a bit untidy.

That bring me to its bad pts..

The hotel location is pretty alright.. Down the road you can find decent malls and a Large IT mall. Food options are also many with the food malls down the road.. However, this area isnt the cheapest... Shopping is pretty expensive compared to other places in shanghai.. So you may just take a cab ride.. Like we did, to other parts for better shopping and sightseeing..

Also the areas pretty dead after 11 pm..

Overall, the hotel is good for work.. Comfortable and clean.. Price is alrite for this level... Location cud be better.
Wud recommend for business travellers. Less for the average tourist.. 4/5

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#232 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are 2 kilometers away.The hotel has 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 sqm of meeting facilities and professional catering team, 2 restaurants and the Lobby Lounge, as well as a chic designed club lounge, offers both business and leisure travelers all the opportunities to discover the vibrant city life of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.