We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Rooms - Good for a overnight stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai International Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai International Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Shanghai International Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.368 Yingbinyi Road, Hongqiao District, Shanghai 200335, China (Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Rooms - Good for a overnight stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Shanghai International Airport Hotel is located close to the Hongqiao Airport. One advantage is the Airport shuttle they offer, but the Hotel itself is poor quality.
I stayed at this Hotel for one night, which I think is the average stay at this Hotel. The Hotel is good for a overnight stay, when you have to get up early to catch a connecting flight at Hongqiao Airport. They offer very early breakfast, which is convenient.
The rooms are of poor quality and the floor is very dirty. At least the bed was clean. The bathroom is old style and you get the feeling, that this Hotel is already very old and used.
The staff tries to be friendly, but the chinese style of friendliness is different. Maybe also because it is such kind of Hotel, where you only stay for a night and furthermore located in Shanghai.
So if you want to stay in Shanghai to explore the city or for several days, this Hotel is not recommendable. It is only recommendable, if you stay for a short night and you do not have high requirements to cleanliness and friendliness.
All in all this was one of my first not so good experiences in China.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
2
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

the hotel is close to the airport, connected (so no external walk is needed).
The personnel speaks a little english, so it's not easy to understand.
The room I had was big and well served, the shower was fine and everything was working.
I stayed only onenight, so no big issue

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Shanghai is an amazing place, so mainly went sightseeing when in this hotel. Staff were very friendly, food was a bit bland and not much choice for the internatioanl visitor. Good transport to station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel to be close to Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station and the hotel offers a shuttle service to the station. The hotel appears to be a renovated old-style Chinese hotel with the aim of appealing more to Westerners who were not to be seen at all during my stay. The staff are enthusiastic about practicing their English on a foreigner but the level of English speaking is low. The restaurant features western and Chinese food, but the western food is less appetizing. Dinner options are limited - no restaurants nearby so eating at the "Main Restaurant" in the hotel is the only convenient option.

The decor in the lobby and rooms is dark and lighting is limited. Lamps and furniture are old-style, but the shower, fancy Japanese-style toilet and lighting control buttons by the bed are new-style. The rooms are air conditioned with individual control. The TV is modern, but reception is poor. The one English station is CNN but is snowy in appearance, staticky and drops out frequently. I found I had to switch away from CNN frequently and then back to recover reception.

Breakfast is a mix of Chinese and Western food and has a good selection but the Chinese vegetables are overcooked. Some basic sushi and fresh salad are available at breakfast. Waiters carry coffee around but ignore the customer unless significant effort is made to get their attention. The coffee is hot and tastes reasonably good.

The area around the hotel is uninteresting unless one has a predilection for staying near an airport. Internet was excellent: wireless in lobby and I used the wire in the hotel room. Good place to stay briefly for a business traveller but I would not recommend this place for a tourist. The hotel room is overpriced. I would stay here again for one night if I am in transit by plane or train at Hongqiao.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I thought it would be next to the airport, bu I had to walk quite a few time under the rainto reach the hotel. Otherwise, quite ok service and rooms quality. Rooms were clean and not noisy. The experience was average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cHICAGO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Certainly if you must stay overnight at the Shanghai Airport this is an adequate option as it is confidently connected to the facility with easy access to the terminals, train and metro.

The hotel is somewhat run down by China standards whereI have become spoiled since the late 1980's with their magnificent hotels.

The service is nonexistent with little girls that could care less and greet you as if you have interrupted them and they grudgingly help you. The restaurant was the same both in the evening and in the morning when we arrived at 6:10 am and we're told there would be nothing until they opened at 6:30 so we just left as we were headed to another city and needed to take a taxi to the bullet train before the road traffic became unbearable.

So stay if you must but if you can escape to a decent hotel, please do. Full disclosure; United put us up here because our flight was 8 hours delayed an
D we could notate to our final destination where we were paying for a fabulous hotel as a no show:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is adjacent to terminal 1 of Hongqiao airport and extremely convenient if you have only a short stopover. The garden is one of the nicest of any airport hotel we've seen, and the public areas are well furnished, with great breakfasts (the best we had during a recent trip to China). The down side is the bedrooms. Some a pretty shabby and have seen better days, but we found our room very clean and everything worked. As is common in China, the minibar was empty. But at 480 Yuan a night, who is complaining?

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be well insulated - no worry about aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Argyle International Airport Hotel Hongqiao
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Pudong Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#56 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#228 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
#102 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai International Airport Hotel

Address: No.368 Yingbinyi Road, Hongqiao District, Shanghai 200335, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Hongqiao International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai International Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shanghai International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai International Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.