We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Must” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai International Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Shanghai International Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Shanghai International Airport Hotel
No.368 Yingbinyi Road, Hongqiao District, Shanghai 200335, China (Hongqiao International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #586 of 3,926 Hotels in Shanghai
cHICAGO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If You Must”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Certainly if you must stay overnight at the Shanghai Airport this is an adequate option as it is confidently connected to the facility with easy access to the terminals, train and metro.

The hotel is somewhat run down by China standards whereI have become spoiled since the late 1980's with their magnificent hotels.

The service is nonexistent with little girls that could care less and greet you as if you have interrupted them and they grudgingly help you. The restaurant was the same both in the evening and in the morning when we arrived at 6:10 am and we're told there would be nothing until they opened at 6:30 so we just left as we were headed to another city and needed to take a taxi to the bullet train before the road traffic became unbearable.

So stay if you must but if you can escape to a decent hotel, please do. Full disclosure; United put us up here because our flight was 8 hours delayed an
D we could notate to our final destination where we were paying for a fabulous hotel as a no show:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
1
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is adjacent to terminal 1 of Hongqiao airport and extremely convenient if you have only a short stopover. The garden is one of the nicest of any airport hotel we've seen, and the public areas are well furnished, with great breakfasts (the best we had during a recent trip to China). The down side is the bedrooms. Some a pretty shabby and have seen better days, but we found our room very clean and everything worked. As is common in China, the minibar was empty. But at 480 Yuan a night, who is complaining?

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be well insulated - no worry about aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012



I guess this was a good hotel in the past, but it seems dated now by modern western standards.

The staff at check in did as much as possible to please, and did speak English. The lobby gives a feeling of rich oriental from 1970's, but some how that doesn't work today.

On entering the corridor to the bedrooms, there was a certain feeling of dismay. The room doors were very old wooden standard, and the corridor had a very strange uncomfortable smell.

The room was not much better. There was no safe available so, with the condition of the room door,  ( even with the electronic key) one  felt uncomfortable about leaving valuables.

There had obviously been an attempt at upgrading the decor of the room and bathroom, so it almost worked. The bed -  oh dear! It felt like a wooden board with a thick blanket and sheet on top. The carpet on the floor seemed softer.

They did supply a kettle for boiling water, and supplied tea bags for green tea. However there was a big notice in the bathroom which said the water was not drinkable. They did supply a large bottle of water but charged for it.
Internet is free. However the wifi reception to the rooms was almost non existent . I was able to use the LAN cable for the laptop. Wifi in the check in area seemed to be the main place for iPad users.

The towels and bedding smelled like they had been washed in dirty water. 

Breakfast was not very interesting, catering mainly for Chinese tastes .  However, when in Rome.......

All in all, I don't intend to go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Delta shagged me on my flight out of Hong Kong and i ended up flying out of Shanghai instead. This was a last minute booking and seemed harmless enough. The price was really cheap, around USD75 a night.

Check in went without hitch, the lobby was a bit dated and the check in counter looked like a 4th grade art project that went horribly wrong.

I got the room key and headed to the fifth floor as ordered by the staff, I have no idea how they came up with the number system on the doors, odd then even then it skipped 10 numbers in between every 2 rooms. i walked the entire floor before finding my room.

First impressions...OMG...not a round bed! Everything in the room looked like an episode of the Brady Bunch. Nothing is clean, the walls are dirty, the bed is typical concrete hard Chinese style. No iron. Mini fridge but it is empty. The shower looks like a transporter from an old Star Trek episode.

But on the plus side, FREE INTERNET. no wireless so that could be an issue if you forgot your router. and travel with a Mac Book Air.

Next time I think I will try a hotel of site from the airport, the extra 30 minutes it would take to get to the airport in the morning could be worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get on the side opposite the jet way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel lobby is nice and there is a restaurant with smoking and non-smoking sections. You may have trouble with being understood if you don't speak Chinese because the staff have very limited English. At the restaurant you can get by ordering from the pictured menus.

The breakfast buffet is nice.

A nice Japanese style garden encircles the hotel (nice to sit and ponder if you have time).

Internet is available in the rooms (cable available in the drawer), the WiFi however is intermittent both in the rooms and the lobby (It appears to work during 7am to 9pm fine after that they either shut it down or it gets overloaded by guests and you cannot connect)

I was here for a business trip and the location was perfect, right by the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I only ended up staying here because United Airlines canceled my flight. They booked and paid for the room, so I have no idea what the regular rate is.

Because our flight was canceled, a whole airplane full of people were trying to check into the hotel at the same time. Thus there was a long wait and a lot of confusion, but I can't really fault the hotel for that.

The room was spacious and clean, with all amenities provided -- tea, coffee, hot water, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, etc. I think there was a wired ethernet connection in the room, but I could not use it. There is no wireless available at the hotel, but there is free wifi at various points throughout the airport. Also, the lady at the front desk allowed me to borrow the computer in their back office to use the internet for awhile.

We weren't hungry, but we ordered room service because it was expensive and United was paying for it. There were only a few plain rice/noodle choices on offer. We ordered 2 congee rice dishes. It didn't arrive until 3 hours later, at 2:30 am! And this was only after we called to complain that our room service had not arrived. And, they only delivered one of our orders. In the end, we didn't really care. They were flooded with angry passengers that night, no big deal.

Breakfast was quite nice, with the standard array of Asian/western foods that you would find at any hotel in Shanghai. The only fruit was sliced oranges, which was a little disappointing.

The location is most convenient, as it is already inside the airport and only a short walk to the check-in counters of Terminal 1 or Terminal 2, or the metro entrance. However, if you don't mind sacrificing a lot of convenience, there are much nicer hotels at very good prices just a short taxi or metro ride from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The internet is non-existent. For all practical purposes there is no internet. I never managed to completely upload one web page.

Note that this hotel is located in the Airport and is actually two hotels. The North tower is a 3-star property with small run-down rooms. The South tower is a 4-star property that is decent and clean with more attractive rooms.

The staff is indifferent, which is not entirely atypical for Chinese hotels. But don't expect them to treat you as other than a needy person out to cause them to have to work.

Surprisingly, the airplane noise was not a problem. The rooms must be well insulated!

Both hotels are within the airport property. Just walk...no shuttle bus. 10 minutes walking to checkin, all within a concourse. It's super convenient.

Room Tip: South tower is 4-star while North tower is only 3-stars. The 3-star property is "168 motel"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai International Airport Hotel

Address: No.368 Yingbinyi Road, Hongqiao District, Shanghai 200335, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongqiao International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 3,926 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai International Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.