We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.700 Chang Shou Road, Shanghai 200060, China (Changshou Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #115 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Northampton
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel is located to the west of the city centre and is a short (20 min) subway ride away from the bund/pedang downtown area. The subway station is around 10 minutes walk left out of the hotel.
Check in was quick and easy. The room itself was a good size. We were left 2 bottles of water each day, nice comfy bed, flat screen tv, bathroom with shower only, amenities included toothbrushes & paste, body lotion, shampoo. Free wifi in the lobby bar.
Breakfast (included in our rate) was excellent, lots of hot and cold choices to start the day. The area around the hotel had a few restaurants, there is a Pizza Hut a few minutes walk left of the hotel although they seem to only to take visa not mastercard. We would recommend the hotel when staying in Shanghai

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    190
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
40
31
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baildon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived at 11:00 and our room was ready. Nice large room. Good food in restaurant and bar, with very friendly staff. Situated a way out of town centre and Bund but easy to get there via taxi. The area arround the hotel wakes up arround 22:00 with a large street market, very safe to walk arround

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, lovely new looking hotel, great big rooms with all the amenities you need during your stay. fab choice at breakfast and very helpful staff. Lots of places to eat nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited this hotel for 3 nights as part of a China tour. It's a good hotel and only a 5-7 min walk to Chengshou Rd metro station. Our room was large and well presented, if rather impersonal (not many pictures etc). The bathroom was well presented but they had ripped out the bath and made a walk in shower - nice but we'd have preferred the bath. There are plenty of small grocery stores nearby for beer/water as its in a residential area of Shanghai. The best mini-market was opposite the hotel and down the side of the electrical store - all you need and some giant 'pot noodles' for 5RMB if you just want something light to eat in the room. The pool in the hotel is good with nice views - but do take a swim cap with you or you'll have to buy one.

Breakfast was plentifyl and good quality - the beijing holiday inn was a bit better but this was a close second in terms of selection and quality - all hot foods were indeed kept hot, which could not be said for all hotels in china.

The only issue we had was on check-in when they wanted 1,200RMB as a 'deposit' charged to your card. It was common in china to get 500 charged on arrival and 500 was charged at the Beijing Holiday Inn. I questioned the 1,200 charge - which seemed too much given our room was paid for, and eventually it was reduced to 900 - but still £90 equivilant to cover the mini-bar and room charges - too much in my view. It was refunded on check-out.

The subway is easy to use and cheap - 3 to 5 RMB depending on where you go and all info in English as well as chinese. Do visit the Bund at night which is all lit up - go to 'Nanjing Rd East' station then walk the opposite way down Nanjing Rd to the pedestrianised area.

We visited an acrobatic show whilst in Shanghai - very good standard of show. Also do have a go on the Maglev train (metro to Longyand Rd -a direct train from Chengshou Rd - then cross to the Maglev station). It goes at 430KPH (270 MPH) between 9-10.45 and 2-3.45 but 'only' 306kph at other times, so choose your time carefully. Cost was 80RMB each return (which didn't take long!).

If travelling by air in China, it's worth taking a drinks bottle (empty through security) as both hot and cold purified drinking water is available free from every set of loos, both public side and air side - no need to buy bottled if you have a container. The hot water is for the chinese who all carry green tea flasks about with them and expect the hot water in public places

Room Tip: Non-smoking room on an upper floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Ivor three nights as part of our tour. Our room was looking a hired tired - in need of refurbishment - mould in shower, marks on the walls etc but not too bad.
Breakfast was good lots of choices and dining staff were very friendly.
The most disappointing point of our stay was when we decided to go to the Western style restaurant in the hotel as my husband was in need of steak. I ordered roast chicken and one part of the chicken was cooked and the other part was pink- in other words raw, uncooked. When we pointed this out to the waiter he took it to the chef and when he returned he used his phone to show us what the chef had said which was " the chef had put salt on the chicken and salt makes the chicken turn pink " . We were amazed that the chef would say this and asked to speak to the manager who looked at the chicken and said " this is not cooked". She was apologetic of course but this is very poor in this type of hotel and we definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We got to the hotel in Shanghai around midnight. Check In was quick. They upgraded the one room as I am a platinum member. Honestly, I couldn't find a single difference in the rooms so I dont know what the upgrade was all about except the free wifi.
The rooms are neat and recently upgraded but I think it was an old hotel that has been refurbished and rebranded. The bathrooms look like the regular old size of bathtub, basin and toilet. It has been refurbished, re tiled and the bathtub as been converted to a shower. The breakfast has a very limited spread for vegetarian/halaal. Cereals, yoghurt and fruits. Language is a bit of an issue but there was an Eastern European assistant in the breakfast room who understood English and made sure we were very comfortable. A wonderful asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a big chain hotel. I thought it was a bit of the beaten track but as we were bussed about that wasn't a problem.

Service was good as was breakfast. Restaurant looked OK but we ate out.

There is a convenience store adjacent to the hotel for your daily essentials.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai

Address: No.700 Chang Shou Road, Shanghai 200060, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#99 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#212 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista is strategically located on Chang Shou road at the intersection of Pu Tuo, Jin An and Chang Ning districts, the hotel is only 10 minutes drive distance from City Center.Just 20 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 55 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 5 minutes from the Shanghai Railway station, the hotel is perfectly situated for business, sightseeing and shopping.Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista has 290 contemporarily designed guestrooms including 4 Executive floors, 6 Non-smoking floors, 59 suites and 1 Shanghai Suite.The hotel features 2 Lounges & 1 Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.