We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Holiday Inn - good pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.700 Chang Shou Road, Shanghai 200060, China (Changshou Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #117 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Classic Holiday Inn - good pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited this hotel for 3 nights as part of a China tour. It's a good hotel and only a 5-7 min walk to Chengshou Rd metro station. Our room was large and well presented, if rather impersonal (not many pictures etc). The bathroom was well presented but they had ripped out the bath and made a walk in shower - nice but we'd have preferred the bath. There are plenty of small grocery stores nearby for beer/water as its in a residential area of Shanghai. The best mini-market was opposite the hotel and down the side of the electrical store - all you need and some giant 'pot noodles' for 5RMB if you just want something light to eat in the room. The pool in the hotel is good with nice views - but do take a swim cap with you or you'll have to buy one.

Breakfast was plentifyl and good quality - the beijing holiday inn was a bit better but this was a close second in terms of selection and quality - all hot foods were indeed kept hot, which could not be said for all hotels in china.

The only issue we had was on check-in when they wanted 1,200RMB as a 'deposit' charged to your card. It was common in china to get 500 charged on arrival and 500 was charged at the Beijing Holiday Inn. I questioned the 1,200 charge - which seemed too much given our room was paid for, and eventually it was reduced to 900 - but still £90 equivilant to cover the mini-bar and room charges - too much in my view. It was refunded on check-out.

The subway is easy to use and cheap - 3 to 5 RMB depending on where you go and all info in English as well as chinese. Do visit the Bund at night which is all lit up - go to 'Nanjing Rd East' station then walk the opposite way down Nanjing Rd to the pedestrianised area.

We visited an acrobatic show whilst in Shanghai - very good standard of show. Also do have a go on the Maglev train (metro to Longyand Rd -a direct train from Chengshou Rd - then cross to the Maglev station). It goes at 430KPH (270 MPH) between 9-10.45 and 2-3.45 but 'only' 306kph at other times, so choose your time carefully. Cost was 80RMB each return (which didn't take long!).

If travelling by air in China, it's worth taking a drinks bottle (empty through security) as both hot and cold purified drinking water is available free from every set of loos, both public side and air side - no need to buy bottled if you have a container. The hot water is for the chinese who all carry green tea flasks about with them and expect the hot water in public places

Room Tip: Non-smoking room on an upper floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    190
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
40
31
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Ivor three nights as part of our tour. Our room was looking a hired tired - in need of refurbishment - mould in shower, marks on the walls etc but not too bad.
Breakfast was good lots of choices and dining staff were very friendly.
The most disappointing point of our stay was when we decided to go to the Western style restaurant in the hotel as my husband was in need of steak. I ordered roast chicken and one part of the chicken was cooked and the other part was pink- in other words raw, uncooked. When we pointed this out to the waiter he took it to the chef and when he returned he used his phone to show us what the chef had said which was " the chef had put salt on the chicken and salt makes the chicken turn pink " . We were amazed that the chef would say this and asked to speak to the manager who looked at the chicken and said " this is not cooked". She was apologetic of course but this is very poor in this type of hotel and we definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We got to the hotel in Shanghai around midnight. Check In was quick. They upgraded the one room as I am a platinum member. Honestly, I couldn't find a single difference in the rooms so I dont know what the upgrade was all about except the free wifi.
The rooms are neat and recently upgraded but I think it was an old hotel that has been refurbished and rebranded. The bathrooms look like the regular old size of bathtub, basin and toilet. It has been refurbished, re tiled and the bathtub as been converted to a shower. The breakfast has a very limited spread for vegetarian/halaal. Cereals, yoghurt and fruits. Language is a bit of an issue but there was an Eastern European assistant in the breakfast room who understood English and made sure we were very comfortable. A wonderful asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a big chain hotel. I thought it was a bit of the beaten track but as we were bussed about that wasn't a problem.

Service was good as was breakfast. Restaurant looked OK but we ate out.

There is a convenience store adjacent to the hotel for your daily essentials.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went with a tour and stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was very clean and decent size. The location is great. Across the building is an ATM, bars, convenient stores. I felt very safe at the hotel. The breakfast was great. They had a wide selection. I had Chinese congee every morning. The omelet was also tasty! The hotel is connected to a major mall. We went shopping and ate at the food court. You can also go the spa here too. It was a great experience. I would def stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A nice hotel, with friendly staff and several good resturants.

Every member of staff took the time to wish you a good morning when they saw (with sincerity)and although the hotel was not in the best location for the city centre, it was still perfectly accessible via public transport

Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast plentiful - you won't really demand anything else from a chain like Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Shanghai Vista Holiday Inn several times previously, and always enjoyed our stay. Recently we stayed there for 9 days and I think that it is time to write a review.
We stayed in a corner suite, room 1908, quiet, spacious and apparently spotless. It has an easy access to the Club Lounge (on the same floor). The bed was comfortable with choices of soft and hard pillows to ensure a good sleep. The room faces the main road, a nice view at night when it is lit up.
The hotel is not in the centre of the city, but still very conveniently located. Metro stations are nearby and several buses stop at the front of the hotel. However, taxis are extremely cheap in China, 30 yuan (about $5) can take you to the Bund, Nanjing Road or other main shopping areas. During rush hours, or on wet days, it's difficult to find a vacant taxi. Ask the concierge to book a taxi for you the night before, costing 4 yuan (less than a dollar). On your way back to the hotel, if you cannot find a taxi in the street, go to any hotel nearby and they will get you one.
The breakfast at the Club Lounge was good, plentiful, with a greater variety. We dined at the Wen Yuan Chinese restaurant once and two out of four dishes we ordered were disappointing. We dined at the Inn Place Cafe a few times and the food was much nicer: from soup (onion soup), salad, pizza to steak, all being satisfactory. If you want local Chinese food, there are many Chinese restaurants across the main road (Changshou Road), serving delicious Chinese food at much lower prices, plus no 15% service charge.
What impressed us most were the staff, especially in the Club Lounge. Carol, Catherine, Ailinna and Yuri were the best. They looked after us with genuine care and warmth. Carol brought me a glass of warm water to take with medicine as soon as she saw my medicine bottle. After that, a glass of warm water would be provided at my table every morning. My husband liked beer sticks: Carol went down to the main restaurant on the 2nd floor and brought him a handful every morning. When I had a problem to connect WiFi to my Andriad Tablet, Carol tried her best to help me. In the end, she called an IT staff member to help and then she wrote down the procedure for me to follow. All the staff there were willing to go the extra mile to help us, searching train schedules, booking a dental appointment, and much more. Nothing was too much trouble. We felt being spoiled and they also made us feel at home - a sweet home.
Such a pleasant stay was undermined by a last minute check out. On the morning of our departure, we found an overcharge arround 600 yuan . All the drinks from the mini-bar were charged including the complimentary 6 cans of soft drinks daily; a free drink voucher my husband redeemed for a can of coke at Jin Bar came to a charge of 49 yuan for iced coffee, but that bill was printed in Chinese! My husband does not understand Chinese language. It took Aillinna an hour, went up and down to get original dockets, made several phone calls to the assistance front desk manager and corrected the overcharge of soft drinks from mini-bar. I spoke to that manager as well. At last we paid 49 yuan (a very small amount) for the so called complementary drink vouncher to end the matter.
Worst of all, when we came down to the lobby, the assistant front desk manager (Valenna ?) looked at us with a snigger as if we were the people who could not afford to pay 49 Yuan.
Conclusion:
It's a nice hotel. Stay at a room on Executive Floor to have access to the Club Lounge and let those wonderful staff look after you.
Get your bills the night before departure to allow you enough time to check carefully.
To advise the house keepers to vacuum your room daily as we found they didn't vacuum the carpet during our stay although they made the room very nicely every day.

Room Tip: Room 1908 is a corner suite, quiet and large with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Highly appreciate for your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were enjoying your stay with us! Our aim is to create a great hotel guest love. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai

Address: No.700 Chang Shou Road, Shanghai 200060, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#101 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#204 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista is strategically located on Chang Shou road at the intersection of Pu Tuo, Jin An and Chang Ning districts, the hotel is only 10 minutes drive distance from City Center.Just 20 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 55 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 5 minutes from the Shanghai Railway station, the hotel is perfectly situated for business, sightseeing and shopping.Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista has 290 contemporarily designed guestrooms including 4 Executive floors, 6 Non-smoking floors, 59 suites and 1 Shanghai Suite.The hotel features 2 Lounges & 1 Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.