We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is okay but the food is not that great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #137 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It is okay but the food is not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Concierge are very helpful and they smile. The reception staff lack understanding of english and they do not smile. The Chinese restaurant is not very good. Disappointed! Breakfast is okay but the executive lounge is really cutting back on the offerings in the evening. Many of the snack items on offer you would not even eat. No variety. No decent meat or chicken to eat.

The milk in the coffee does not taste like milk. Could not drink it. Only one kind of white wine on offer as well. For the amount of money you pay to use the lounge, I would not pay that again

Room Tip: Higher room if possible as you hear too many cars tooting their horns!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    193
    52
    18
    6
See reviews for
15
15
34
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Aachen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, even elegant, with good service. There is a nice spa and fitness center with sauna, whirlpool and swimming pool. It is 5 minutes from the metro, and walking distance from many of the business offices in Pudong. The band in the hotel pub, Flanagan's, is lots of fun, not only when they are performing, but also when socializing with the customers during breaks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is good, not far from Lujiazui financial area, close to subway station, so pretty convenient to tour around. Also many restaurants around, from cheap to expensive. Easy to call taxi, service is average to good. Room is clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is great property but i wish staff should have been trained to understand international travellers. I am not sure if they don't understand English or they don't wish to understand. I have special diet needs and have to depend on ready to eat food i brought during this visit. I always have tough time letting the person on housekeeping line to explain that i need help to heat up my food for 2 mins in microwave. I used many word like warm up food , heat up .. bla bla but they are either not getting it or don't want to understand. To my surprise they make fun when they are talking with other peers looking at you. It's horrible feeling and experience. I am here till end of this week and I wish this trip comes to an end soon and i go back. I will never recommend this hotel if you don't know local language or need anything more than a room. If you looking for service please stay away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Five straight years visiting this hotel and each time the service, food, and friendliness gets better! Excellent club benefits,
spa close by and can't say enough about Jenny at the front desk and the friendly help of the concierge .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A colleague realized that he left a thousand USD in his in-room safe deposit box after checking-out & he was on the plane already. He informed me and the hotel, and they kept it intact for me to collect.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with all of the other reviews about location, room details, food, etc. The hotel did not look tired to me but this was my first time staying here. If you want to stay in the IHG brand try the Intercontinental (nearby on Zhangyang Rd) but then it will cost more. It is close the the #4 Metro or you can walk from Century Ave.

Irish pub (this is a stretch) next door does look worn down but it shows all the latest sports. After looking at the menu I did not try the food. Western pop music on certain nights. Watch out for the "single" ladies that frequent this spot.

Work out room is adequate for an Chinese hotel. Not the latest equipment but all worked nicely so no complaints. Also has lap pool which can be hard to find in China.

Service was attentive and friendly in the restaurant , front desk and curb side for taxis. This would be OK for a tourist hotel. The only downside is that you are on the financial /business side of the river so cab or metro is necessary to get to the typical tourist areas.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, try for a corner room ending in 01, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#115 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#226 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.