We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel in Pudong Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #138 of 3,929 Hotels in Shanghai
Indianapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel in Pudong Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is good, not far from Lujiazui financial area, close to subway station, so pretty convenient to tour around. Also many restaurants around, from cheap to expensive. Easy to call taxi, service is average to good. Room is clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    188
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
15
14
33
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is great property but i wish staff should have been trained to understand international travellers. I am not sure if they don't understand English or they don't wish to understand. I have special diet needs and have to depend on ready to eat food i brought during this visit. I always have tough time letting the person on housekeeping line to explain that i need help to heat up my food for 2 mins in microwave. I used many word like warm up food , heat up .. bla bla but they are either not getting it or don't want to understand. To my surprise they make fun when they are talking with other peers looking at you. It's horrible feeling and experience. I am here till end of this week and I wish this trip comes to an end soon and i go back. I will never recommend this hotel if you don't know local language or need anything more than a room. If you looking for service please stay away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Five straight years visiting this hotel and each time the service, food, and friendliness gets better! Excellent club benefits,
spa close by and can't say enough about Jenny at the front desk and the friendly help of the concierge .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A colleague realized that he left a thousand USD in his in-room safe deposit box after checking-out & he was on the plane already. He informed me and the hotel, and they kept it intact for me to collect.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with all of the other reviews about location, room details, food, etc. The hotel did not look tired to me but this was my first time staying here. If you want to stay in the IHG brand try the Intercontinental (nearby on Zhangyang Rd) but then it will cost more. It is close the the #4 Metro or you can walk from Century Ave.

Irish pub (this is a stretch) next door does look worn down but it shows all the latest sports. After looking at the menu I did not try the food. Western pop music on certain nights. Watch out for the "single" ladies that frequent this spot.

Work out room is adequate for an Chinese hotel. Not the latest equipment but all worked nicely so no complaints. Also has lap pool which can be hard to find in China.

Service was attentive and friendly in the restaurant , front desk and curb side for taxis. This would be OK for a tourist hotel. The only downside is that you are on the financial /business side of the river so cab or metro is necessary to get to the typical tourist areas.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, try for a corner room ending in 01, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my default hotel at Pudong. I keep coming back to the the hotel just because i am familiar with the area. The location is walkable from the century station (10 mins walk). However, I think the hotel standard has gone down (room quality, maintenance, food, etc.) The ipod clock in my room did not work and my coworker's room has water leak marks on the ceiling. The only nice thing though is some of the staff had been there for a few years (very abnormal for a China hotel), so it is like meeting a family member when I go back. But I would definitely like to try out some other options next time as the rate is getting outragous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location and service, free wifi all area such a great thing. Foods are great, variety and complete your taste. Love all thing for 2 nights in here especially the bed, such a great comfort.

Everything helpful for tourist, service are very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#118 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#273 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.