We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 585 Hengfeng Road(Greatwall Wing) No. 285 West Tianmu Rd(Plaza Wing), Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #188 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 651 Reviews
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was part of a group that stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai for 3 nights. My room was clean and well appointed. The bed and pillows were fine and my room was smoke free which was good.
The hotel is very close to Shanghai Railway station which is a bonus.
I didn't notice any noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear burgew,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    307
    186
    41
    9
See reviews for
44
113
55
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As expected from the Holiday Inn chain the hotel was clean and confortable. I was there for a conference and business trip and all facilities were clean and well maintained. The hotel is very well located a few hundred metres from the Shanghai railway station.

Breakfast was the usual buffet with an a good selection of western and Chinese items to satisfy a broad range of tastes.

Rooms are well appointed with the usual toiletries. Some people may find the beds hard but they were to my liking. You also get a choice of pillows. Overall I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First I have to mention that the hotel is built next to the most noisy intersection in China... or at least it seems like it. All night long, without stopping, the cars kept honking their horns. And the same story for the whole week... After a week at this hotel I was so happy to have a quiet night-sleep.
The hotel was no clean and the standards for "clean" are different at this hotel from any other hotel in the chain. Everybody smokes everywhere, the glasses in the room are dirty, the mirrors in the washrooms, etc.
The location is only good if you are looking to take a train in the morning. Otherwise, not a great location.
And, one more thing. The staff does not speak English.
The price was good, but in the end, I think I made a bad choice by selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Lillam Trusky,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on the TA website. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations and service received. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience about noise you’ve encountered. Should you have any troubles during your stay, please contact our staff and we could change room or provide earplug for you. Also we will refresher cleaning and language training. We truly hop you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence. I would hope you would give us the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown in the future, to which I am sure you will experience a marked improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour group. Very spacious and comfortable beds (all beds in China are very hard). Breakfast was good, coffee excellent and very centrally located. The bar area wasn't that atmospheric though but plenty of places around the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Von_Smiles,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel November 11th thru the 14th 2012, It was so shabby. The lobby chairs were torn and soiled. The carpet in my room was badly stained and frayed. The TV was 20 years old.
The breakfasts were good, the coffee never warm. after the Penta in Beijing this was a real disappointment.The staff was friendly and helpful.The traffic noise was bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear lajollabay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Our staff does their utmost to provide you with excellent service and an optimized stay. Therefore we are delighted to hear that you experienced this as such. Additionally, I am happy to inform you that we will start with a refurbishment of the guest’s rooms at the end of this year.
Therefore we hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me at mary.han@ihg.com

,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

All above plus typical Chinese breakfast, I would rather go to one of the Holiday Inn Express, there is a quite new one just a few streets away.

The location is convenient to access everything in Shanghai, plenty of taxis around but with the already mentioned downsides.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mr/Ms. Andie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
As we highly value our guest’s opinions, we are delighted to hear that you experienced our location to be a great advantage. As we have an extensive variety of guests, we do our utmost to also let this reflect in our breakfast by providing Continental as well as Chinese elements. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully experience this as such. Therefore, if you have any suggestions that might enhance both your general experience and breakfast experience, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you once again for your valuable evaluation and we are looking forward to getting the chance of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels in China, being frequent travellers there - this hotel is by far the worse. We stayed 4 nights in July, and when booking chose the hotel based on location. It was central & close to Shanghai Train Station so this is a plus. The room we booked was a suite - queen bed with a separate room with lounge & TV, desk etc. The TV in the lounge did not work, but the one in the bedroom did. As the front office staff were surly upon checkin, we could not be bothered to ask them to fix the TV, we just used the one in the bedroom. The suite itself was old & very shabby. Thread-bare carpet, small bathroom. The worse thing was the bed. It was like sleeping on a rock. After 2 nights of hardly any sleep we rang down to front desk to ask whether we could move to another room with softer bed. We were informed all beds were the same quality. The solution was to add an extra underlay on top of the mattress but ran into trouble with the housekeeping staff who refused to put the extra underlay down for us as she stated emphatically that we already had one & only one allowed per room! The Duty Manager was called & apologised for this & the matter was resolved. We were given oranges & apples as an apology gift. I would not recommend this hotel as there are many other better choices. I've personally realised that I would rather sacrifice good location for a great night's sleep & good service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear ebonytravels,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on the TA website. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations and service received. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you’ve encountered. Please be assured that a full investigation into your concerns will be conducted. I have addressed these points raised with the relevant department head and refresher service training is being provided for this area. We have a planned refurbishment program starting at the end of this Nov. We truly hope you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence. I would hope you would give us the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown in the future, to which I am sure you will experience a marked improvement. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future assistance by mary.han@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai

Address: No. 585 Hengfeng Road(Greatwall Wing) No. 285 West Tianmu Rd(Plaza Wing), Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#146 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the dramatic, twin-towered Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown for its vibrant Puxi district location and excellent rail links.The grand Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is a landmark in commercial Puxi district with its 2 towering wings with separate marble atrium Lobbies. High-speed CRH trains whiz to the Jiangsu Province and Beijing from Shanghai rail station, 200 metres away, and Hongqiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive. Arrive via the close North-South Inner Ring Road and use our underground parking area.It's just 15 minutes on the Ring Road to The Bund, where historic merchants' buildings line the Huangpu River. Meet in the huge Lobby of our 14-storey, tourist-orientated Plaza Wing for tours of the affluent shopping district of Xin Tian Di, 4km away. Fast trains transport you to Ming and Qing eras at water towns around Suzhou and Hangzhou, in under 30 minutes.Our 20-storey Great Wall Wing is tailored to corporate guests staying at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown with its top-floor Executive Lounge. Conferences take place in 2 ballrooms, one in each of tower, and Shanghai Exhibition Centre is 20 minutes by car. You can walk to the glitzy Pacific Department Store for shopping.Dim sum and seasonal hairy crab are served in Yue Garden Chinese restaurant, overlooking the courtyard between our 2 uniquely designed towers at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.