We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 585 Hengfeng Road(Greatwall Wing) No. 285 West Tianmu Rd(Plaza Wing), Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #186 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I spent 6 nights in this Hotel. This is very standard business hotel. Average size room, good bed , good variety at the breakfast buffet. Train station and underground is just behind the hotel (200 meters).

Air-cond was not good and humidity raised because no warming in air-cond - that made rooms little un confy.. Windows are locked, so can't get any ventilation?

Otherwise very positive atmosphere and good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear arska50,
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking your time to share your experience with us. We are so happy that you have enjoyed our service and ambiance of the hotel. Please kindly accept my sincere apologies for discomfort caused by air-conditioning. This incident that happened during your patronage indicates more attention is required by our team and has been treated with great concern. Thank you once more for bringing the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    307
    184
    41
    9
See reviews for
43
112
55
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A decent hotel in an area where there's little to do except to catch a train to certain destinations (not all, southbound trains depart from Hongqiao station which can be reached by MTR line 2). The nearby MTR station makes commuting to the more interesting parts of the city fairly convenient with an access to lines 1 and 4 (the circular line). The staff was also extremely helpful in finding destinations from the map and writing addresses down in Chinese for the taxis. In terms of the rooms and services, they were pretty much in line with what one would expect from a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Hoomoilanen,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and your constructive comment on T/A. Our hotel is in a really central location and easy access to the subway. Our staff is dedicated to providing the high quality service you have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Thank you again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My general view on this Hotel was OK but as we arrived late at Night with little or no sense of Direction in the Northern hemishpere it became the butt of our experiences that were coloured by events nothing to do With the Holiday Inn Chain.

Getting back to the Hotel at 2130hrs local time we arrived thankfully by seeing the Big Holiday Inn Neon Sign from the Train Station across the square.

The Hotel had been selected purely as a base from which to work as we had to visit a couple of Factories in Hefei and the Train was convieniently placed.

The Room was OK but there was some form of refurbishment happening and the early morning Noise deafening.

The Bathroom Excellent and all stops had been pulled out in this department.

The Concierge Department was lacking in any understanding of English and as such many hours were wasted in attempting to obtain any local Info.

The breakfast was a sumptuous affair and I could have stayed for five courses but had a train to catch.

The Carpets and trimmings in the general hotel varied quite a bit (I had a bit of a look at Different Floors) fortunately we were on one of the better ones.

The Beds seemed to be a little Harder that I was used to but maybe I am spoiled.

The Internet access was Expensive and limited by speed and I wouldnt be supprised if a little biassed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Greynomad2648,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and your construction comment on TA. I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. I would like to apologize that some aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations. I have addressed the point about English language ability raised with relevant department head and training is being provided for this area. Regarding internet, we are currently negotiating this issue with our third provider to increase connection speed. And in-house guest can enjoy free wifi at our lobby, restaurant, meeting room, executive lounge and public area. Thank you once more for bringing the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the station - which was a poor choice as the station is for domestic only and not for taking the G train to Beijing which was a lot more than hour from the hotel and a 250 Yuan taxi ride. (27 USD). The location is a long way from the Bund and other Shanghai attractions. Depending on your needs this could be a good business hotel.
There is a sign outside the hotel referring to "newly designed" rooms. Well their designer has poor taste. The bathroom has a window to the bedroom - even though there is a louvered blind it does not cover the window there is a good view of whoever is using the toilet ! ! !

Room Tip: If you need to take the high speed train to beijing - THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO STAY
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Smaresident,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the location, however, most of our guests find the location is very convenient. Shanghai is served by three main railway stations, Shanghai Railway Station、Shanghai South Railway Station and Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station. Our hotel is located within walking distance of Shanghai Railway Station. It primarily serves north-south and westward locations. It is the terminus of the main Beijing-Shanghai railway line. There are five overnight CRH trains from Shanghai to Beijing. Most long-haul, non high-speed trains bound for Jiangsu Province, Anhui Province and the North depart from Shanghai Railway Station. It is a 15-minute taxi ride from hotel to the Bund and the other sites such as the Shanghai Museum or the Yue Garden. After Holiday Inn Relaunch Program, our hotel keeps the same standards of design and facilities like all Holiday Inn hotels throughout the China. And we have a planned refurbishment program starting in the 4th quarter of this year that includes guest rooms, so we will see if and how we can work on bathroom’s window. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I confirm all the positive reviews given by those who stayed in this hotel. We were here last Oct 4 to 7 for a short holiday and our experience was excellent. Apart from the great location and convenience, the hotel service was great. The staff were very helpful and considerate. They were quick to address any concern we had.
We stayed at the Great Wall wing which was a short walk to the train and subway station as well as the bus/shuttle stop that takes you to Pudong airport for only 22CNY/person. The room was clean and comfortable, the buffet breakfast was good, the restaurant and hotel lobby ambiance were great..... i definitely recommend this hotel to any one visiting Shanghai for holiday or business trip. Overall, great value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Theresa B,
Thank you for staying with us, and we ‘re glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. We also pleased that you found our staff very friendly and accommodating, so, hopefully you did not hesitate to call on them to assist with any inconveniences. Once again, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent our last 3 nights in this large and busy hotel which is well positioned to appreciate the glory of Shanghai.

Our experience in this hotel was largely good although there were some annoying factors. Our room ( 1301 ) was comfortable with beds that were less rock hard than most in China. The bathroom was well equipped and efficient but there was virtually no cupboard and storage space in the room other than an open hanging area.

The breakfast area was large and well organised though it was difficult to get coffee as service was patchy.

Internet in rooms was available for a fee and wi-fi was reliably available in the vast lobby area.

The bar area off the lobby was welcoming and a good spot for a late night drink.

Front desk staff that we encountered lacked sufficient language skills for a hotel aspiring to accommodate international tourism. Worse still on our last morning as we departed we were faced with a surly receptionist who tried to charge us and other clients for water that we/they had not had not consumed and for 'missing' face towels. His obvious disbelief of the denials we made was more than rude. This was a pity as we had enjoyed our stay up until that moment and left a number of clients with a bad taste in the mouth.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear suburbanite12,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and your constructive comment on the website. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, in particular, poor front desk and coffee service. Please be assured that a full investigation into your concerns has been conducted. I have addressed this point raised with the relevant department head and refresher service training is being provided for this area. To make sure this kind of issue won’t happen again in the future.
We have a planned refurbishment program starting in the 4th quarter of this year that includes guest rooms. We will see if and how we can work on storage space.
Thank you once more for bringing the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention. I do hope your travels will bring you back to us one day. We would be delighted to look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

the hotel offers good price, comfortable room and it looks new, wifi acess on complimentary, and the superb location to access everywhere, walking distance to train and subway station, lots of food outlets surrouding the hotel, i will definately come back whenever i am visiting Shanghai.

Bear in mind, the hotel divides into 2 different buildings, which categorised into South wing and North wing, make sure your booking is clearly indicated. I was told that South wing is newer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear PYP0721,
Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and we are glad to learn your last visit with us was relaxing and memorable. We would definitely look after you again. Our hotel has 2 wings, the Plaza Wing and the Great Wall Wing. The wings are connected by the basement and the walking distance is maximum 2 minutes. To avoid the inconvenience we also provide a shuttle service. Once again, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai

Address: No. 585 Hengfeng Road(Greatwall Wing) No. 285 West Tianmu Rd(Plaza Wing), Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#144 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the dramatic, twin-towered Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown for its vibrant Puxi district location and excellent rail links.The grand Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is a landmark in commercial Puxi district with its 2 towering wings with separate marble atrium Lobbies. High-speed CRH trains whiz to the Jiangsu Province and Beijing from Shanghai rail station, 200 metres away, and Hongqiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive. Arrive via the close North-South Inner Ring Road and use our underground parking area.It's just 15 minutes on the Ring Road to The Bund, where historic merchants' buildings line the Huangpu River. Meet in the huge Lobby of our 14-storey, tourist-orientated Plaza Wing for tours of the affluent shopping district of Xin Tian Di, 4km away. Fast trains transport you to Ming and Qing eras at water towns around Suzhou and Hangzhou, in under 30 minutes.Our 20-storey Great Wall Wing is tailored to corporate guests staying at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown with its top-floor Executive Lounge. Conferences take place in 2 ballrooms, one in each of tower, and Shanghai Exhibition Centre is 20 minutes by car. You can walk to the glitzy Pacific Department Store for shopping.Dim sum and seasonal hairy crab are served in Yue Garden Chinese restaurant, overlooking the courtyard between our 2 uniquely designed towers at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.