We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel to your Saves list
Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.205 Wusong Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200000, China (Qipu Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Not the best place I have stayed in and have stayed in worse, staff not very friendly, average rooms, a 20 minute walk to the Bund with restaurants all around, in a very local area with lots of construction happening everywhere, great to walk the local streets and watch the locals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    127
    75
    35
    12
See reviews for
16
29
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights before traveling to Beijing and X'ian then3 nights on the way back home.
Stunning apartment style room on 8th floor,luxurious fittings ,separate dressing and makeup room and the most amazing bathroom with all amenities.
The bed was double kingsize and heavenly to sleep on
The views of the river ,city lights etc were breathtaking with light shows every night
The only fault was the exorbitant prices charged for food and beverages,a cappuccino ,costing Au $15.00 !!!
The free international calls for the 1 st day. Was a bonus
Staff were exemplaray.
Will definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our room was very large and had a view across the harbor. The beautiful new and amazing buildings across the harbor were so great. They had a light show in the building every night. Service was outstanding. This hotel is very new and is the lasted hotel built in the Peninsula chain.It had free international calling. Everything in the room was controlled by an ipad like computer. One on each side of the bed. Bathroom even had mood lighting and a tv. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I fell for the most common scam in Shanghai and got dragged into a bar on level 5 of this hotel and was extored for over $1300 after imported whisky I never ordered came flowing and I was physically held in a room until I ran the bill through on my credit card. After reporting to the police the following day the hotel management gave me most of the money back in cash, but were completely complicit in this operation. Be wary!!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile


This hotel must have been better at one time to get a four star rating.
The main doors are not in use , entrance via small doorway into equally small dingy reception area.
Check in was ok & staff spoke good English. Trying to find lifts that worked was a game. The corridor from the lift to the room on. 15th floor was dingy & plenty of litter on floor.
The room looked tired , pictures missing from walls , mini bar not properly stocked so a trip to rdception to make sure I wouldn't be charged for things missing.
Then discovered the laminated notice to say that 4 th floor gym & pool were under renovation that had begun in March.
When I went to check this I found three equally unhappy Chinese guests in a heated debate with the staff - no need to.understand the words the tone & gestures said it all.
Decided at this point to change hotels which I did. I had stayed in several hotels this trip one of which was four star & the standard was far above this hotel just what you would expect.
The location seemed to be the wrong side of the river , the views not particularly great although I have to admit most of my time here was spent trying to get another hotel.
I was surprised on checking out neither of the staff on reception asked what the problem was or if it could be remedied.
The best part of this hotel was the very kind gentleman who had a business on the building who helped me find a taxi & gave the driver the directions to the hotel I was going to -most taxi drivers weren't interested in a short trip they only wanted a trip to the airport.
This hotel may improve after the renovations are complete but I wouldn't ever book it again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The deco of the room was modern. Bed was very comfortable and the size of the room was decent. The bar at the top floor has a very good view too. I've also tried the Chinese restaurant and it is not recommended. I requested for an in-room massage but they said "no no no, it's only for men"! I was so embarrass but I guess I am in China! On the day that we've checked out, my mum and I decided to go for last minute shopping but we've checked out already, so we left our luggage at the concierge. After returning, we were boiling hot and we asked if could pay them some money so we can take a shower in the room. The receptionist was very helpful and offered us to take shower at their health centre at no cost.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Terrible experience at this once excellent hotel!! Have stayed at his hotel 6 times before over last 5 years an always given it a good rating, but just booked 5 night stay and left after 2 nights.I think hotel is nearly bankrupt or something. FIrst reception area is now just a small desk hidden on now empty botton floor (where is the big reception, restaurant, travel agent, gift shop etc...) Was given room with no windows being told all fully booked, was told could change following day. Noticed first night that A/C didnt work at all and room was a sauna. Complained to maintenance men who admitted to chinese firned that they turn it off to save money and they gave me a small portable unit. Next day asked to change and again told hotel was full, but strangely i could see nobody else in lobby (surely fully booked hotel is buzzing with people at 10 in the morning?). Once excellent buffet breakfast on 3rd floor is noe coffee and choice of 4 items on 1st floor, I went to Starbucks for btreakfast. Next day was again lied to about hotel being full and not possible to change room, again NOBODY around at all either in breakfast room or lobby. 4th fllor pool and gym closed for renovation but no work being done or has even been started. SO I LEFT TOO. Shame because excllent location and was always excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel, they have turned the A/C off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel

Address: No.205 Wusong Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200000, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Shanghai
Shanghai Peninsula
Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel Shanghai
Hengsheng Peninsula Intl Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hengsheng Peninsula International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.