We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Galaxy Hotel to your Saves list
Galaxy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.888 Zhongshan West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China (Hongqiao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 251 Reviews
shanghai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very clean hotel with excellent city views,check in facilities a breeze especially with the executive check in desk on level 33. Beakfast on level 33 is wonderful,very relaxing area with great views.Free internet is a bonus with the executive rooms,king size beds,work desk and large room makes this hotel ideal for the business traveller.Recommend if you are looking for value for money.

Room Tip: 10 mins from the heart of shanghai
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    129
    60
    23
    5
See reviews for
4
5
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Reasonably priced. Hotel is good as a business stay and not for leasure. Service is not at par with international standards. Food quality and variety is OK. Located in a good locality. Good dining options.

Room Tip: Not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We have booked early so we have got better rate. Room was very good, bed was not so soft . My colleague stayed in non-smoking room which was much better than mine . Bath room was better than smoking room. We have an excellent view of flyovers and skyscrapers. Breakfast has excellent choice of foods.
Only problem with staffs as most of them are very poor in English.
One can get English news paper from 1st floor (resurant for breakfast).

Room Tip: Book room early to get better offer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was the last hotel on our CITS tour of China and it left something to be desired. The two-tier lobby (of which they are VERY proud!) is nice but not useful when you need to go to breakfast on one floor and check out on the other floor.

The room was tired and the bathtub was dirty and moldy along the edges. The bathmat was so moldy I chose not to use it at all for fear of foot fungus - better to take my chances in the tub itself. The toilet did not flush consistently.

The beds were not as hard as some we had experienced, but the windows were pitiful - you could hear every honk and car drive by on the freeway outside the window 19 stories below.

The breakfast in the hotel restaurant did have lots of choice but tables were scarce some mornings.

The drive to the main sights was easy because of our tour guide and private driver, and they were only about 15-20 minutes away for the most part. There are a few local restaurants around if you are willing to walk 30 minutes to find them but the hotel does have several restaurants (we did not try these) if you don't want to venture out into the traffic.

It was an okay hotel, but we would stay elsewhere if we were to return to Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hotel was reommended by my Chinese business assorciates as a 4 stars hotel. As price was excellent on Agoda booking website 75$ for single room), i booked an upgraded room (95$), which was an excellent choice - free breakfast (wonderful Buffet with everything you can want), free use of business center, afternoon tea and happy hour at the bar. Staff very polite and speak good English. Will stay there again in coming trips.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

i stayed here for 3 nights...this is my 5th time in last 4 years....i like this hotel very much as location of this hotel is very good...as it is centrally located....you can reach Nanjing street with in 10/15 minutes...it takes hardly 30 RMB....room were nice and cozy...also room service was very good....even at late night you get taxi to go any where and it is very safe.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel was booked as part of our China tour. Unfortunately the hotel is miles from the main city area. We agree with the reviews left by other travellers. The outside of the building looks great as is the foyer and lift lobby but the rest of the hotel is in need of some renovation as it is looking tired and carpet in the dining room really should be replaced as it was really stained. There was mould in the bathroom and the shower setup didnt work properly. Water came out of the tap at the same time as it came out of the shower head. The thermostate on the airconditioner must of been broken because you either froze or it got hot and stuffy in the room.
Reception staff were far from helpful unless you were Chinese. Most of the time you had to wait to be served and then it was as if they were doing you a favour in serving you.

Definately wouldnt stay there again if we ever went back to Shanghai. Book a hotel somewhere closer to the city centre. There are plent of hotels closer to the city and shops in Nanjing Road and the Bund area. It appears that the hotel's main clientele are tour groups. Made for a dissapointing start to our tour.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: No.888 Zhongshan West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#335 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jin Jiang Galaxy Hotel is a 4-star hotel located at Changning District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditionined guestrooms, all of which have broadband Internet access, mini-bar, and color TV. It is a must to dine it at the hotel's restaurants such as The Milky Way Café, which is a 24-hour café serving Chinese and Western dishes, The Terrace Restaurant that features Shanghai cuisine, and Tang Gong, which specialties include the abalone, shark's fin, and other Hong Kong-style snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.