We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 1970's!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
City Hotel Shanghai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back to the 1970's!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Friendly, keen & biddable staff, but the overall experience is let down by the following:
Wi-fi that you have to pay for separately, but which keeps on logging you off & is as slow as a tortoise moving backwards. As a result it was virtually impossible to send emails,
A very tired & dated feel to the hotel throughout,
Average breakfast,
A/C with a mind of it's own,
Dirty rooms & public areas.

Room Tip: You want a good room? Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    92
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
4
15
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spent 5 nights early April 2013 in this old hotel. It was my fifth time here and I never noticed a change while the hotel was aging.
Breakfast is in the middle range of quality and quantity, room are not so confortable and clean for westerne standards. The only positive thing is the location in the centre.
Never come back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay the final night of our business trip is a good 4 star hotel in Shanghai close to our supplier. The price of the city hotel was good and the pictures of the room and facilities on booking.com looked great! This was not the case on arrival, the room and bath room was dated, small and there were stains on the carpet!!! To top it off we wanted to use the swimming pool but the hotel wanted to charge 100 RMB (approx £10!!) what a joke!!!! It definitely goes to show its to a good idea idea to pick hotels from pictures! I travel around China a lot with work and stay in a number of hotels, this was in my bottom 5%!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Because of its location, I returned to this hotel on my third and fourth night in Shanghai. The hotels seems to had undergone minimal renovation. The bathroom somehow looks cleaner than before with a much better show head, although the bathtub is still as swallow as I remembered it to be. Breakfast skewed more towards your chinese spread, noodles and buns. Wifi and internet access remained chargeable still, where other hotels are offering free access at least at the lobby. Front desk service was great, the staff had super fast in check-in and check-out procedures.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

For a city with so many mid range choices, I probably wouldn't go here again. The location is good, but about 10 minutes walk to line 1 and 10 south shaanxi rd metro. Efficient, poker faced service. Damn small superior rooms... Barely could walk around!

The breakfast was so average. Weird mix of western and Chinese dishes (e.g chicken nuggets, congee, noodle). Only one breakfast included so a second breakfast was 80 cny. I ended up skipping breakfast all together. Also gym and pool was not included in our rooms which was annoying.

Paid about $70 aud for double superior room + 1 breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although the hotel is not exactly near the subway it is within walking distance to either the West Nanjin Road station (1.6 km) or the South Shaanxi Road station (700 m).
The hotel is inside the French Concession where you will find lots of restaurants and clothing stores (mostly for women).
The room was spacious and clean, WiFi was reliable but it wasn't included in the price of the room (60 CNY per day, about $10 CAD) however the breakfast buffet was.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I am in Shnaghai I always stay in this hotel, specially now that the renovation is completed.
Good value for the money, near Hongqiao airport, near the subway, nice places around..
Great breakfast, rooms are clean and fully renovated ... So if you think in a good hotel with a decent price in Shanghai, you can try it, no regrets...

Room Tip: The restaurants at the hotel also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#351 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your City Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai City Hotel
City Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.