We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but a little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
City Hotel Shanghai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #458 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good location, but a little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Actually the exterior of the hotel is under restoration so is not possibile have any view and during the day could be a little noise.
Apart this temporary problem the hotel is an average 4 star hotel, with normal size room, but for sure quite old like furnishment and decoration.
The price deserves more the position of the hotel than the rest, so if you are not really interested in the position you can just skip this hotel and pick something other, maybe with more services.
Anyway inside you can find a swimming pool and several restaurant, but few walk around and you are in one of the most popular road in Shanghai: HuaiHai Road; so will be say satisfy any different taste.
Near the hotel you can find also a supermarket and the subway station. A private park is available on the ground.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    90
    61
    14
    6
See reviews for
4
14
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were travelling across the China by last 3 weeks and this is definitely not four star hotel. We stayed sometimes in 2 star hotel, but we had better service and accommodation then in this one. Maybe there are restaurants and other business amenities in that hotel, but air-conditioning is set up centrally and you are not able to adjust temperature in the room. It is set up to 21.5 Celsius degree, so like for me it was to high. Outside temperature during the night was 11 Celsius, but I wasn't even able to open the window because there was sealing tape around and there was scaffolding outside around whole building. When we asked for help with air-conditioning they send somebody who doesn't speak English and that person just switched off the air-conditioning in our room and then temperature gone up to 23 degree. We had Deluxe room with internet included in the price, but we were told during the check-in that we need to pay additionally 60 RMB per day, if we need access to internet. After our complain to manager we finally get free access to internet. This is definitely not what you expect from 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Cozy business hotel with great staff and an excellent breakfast restaurant. There is also a Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse on the fifth floor if you're craving a good steak, french wine or a hoegarten. The bartender can make just about any drink.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Business hotel with everything you would expect from a 4-star hotel. The plusses are good breakfast, nice pool area and central location. The minus is (except from the hard beds) - this is a construction site. When we were there in the beginning of April 2012 they were rising the scaffoldings. We had to fight to make them give us a room which still had a view, above the scaffoldings. But they were working fast and I would guess that by now the whole hotel is wrapped in green plastic. If you don´t particularly like that, make sure the construction is finished before you book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Good service, kind and polite and certainly helpfull.
The hotel itself is renovating (which is nescessary).
The rooms are small.
Breakfast buffet was very bad. I have been in other hotels in Shanghai, but this was the worst I had. So if you book, don't book with breakfast, and go to the Starbucks at 50m from the hotel.
The location was fatastic. You can discover the vibring centre of Shanghai on foot.
And for dinner or supper, take a taxi to Hongmei Lu Pedestrian street (for only a few euro/trip), here you have a hole street with fine restaurants and bars, and off course a nice ambience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The city hotel is quite a nice place, especially for the cost, given its location. They are undergoing a renovation right now, so occasionally we were disturbed by carpet shampooing or elevator repairs, but all in all no big deal.

The rooms have all of the basic things that a traveler needs, a soft bed (by China standards, anyway), a nice LCD TV, and the usual suspects of international news programming.

The included breakfast buffet was very good, a nice selection of western and chinese foods, and an omelet bar.

My only complaint is that it is a few blocks away from the metro station (Shanxi South Rd), but this was only an issue when we got caught out in the rain one afternoon, and my fault for not bringing an umbrella.

In addition the Pinnacle Peak restaurant at the hotel is quite possibly the best hotel hamburger that we have ever had outside of the USA; the decor is such that you would swear they packed up a kitsch western bar and burger joint in Tucson, AZ and shipped it here to live inside of the city hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I am actually a resident in the City Apartments adjacent to City Hotel and have access to the gym. My review is confined only to the gym. It's ok for what I want to do conveniently, but I plan to join a real gym. The gym has 2 decent treadmills from a not very famous brand (and calibrated to what seems to be specific 'Chinese kilometers'). The elliptical trainer is fine. The amount of space that can be used for core work out is great. The pull-down weight bar equipment (not sure of the official name of this) is broken, has still not been repaired since I moved here over 2 wks ago. The towels sometimes look like they might not be very clean, and the bubbler water is lukewarm and I suspect it is filled up with unfiltered tap water. Summary: not a great gym, but hey, this is not a high end hotel, so it's actually good for what you pay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai City Hotel
City Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.