We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both good and bad and so depends on what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Mansions Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Mansions Hotel to your Saves list
Broadway Mansions Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Both good and bad and so depends on what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The best part is it's right at the Waibadu Bridge. My room gives me a view of the Bridge and the Bund. So, it's most pleasant. But I have a friend that get me a discount and the guarantee of a Bund-view room. That means, you can't assume the location would mean a lot to you.

If you're Shanghai first-timer, this is not a bad option. It has Waibadu Bridge and then the Bund within walking distance. Particularly, you would find it quite a pleasant walk to the Origin of the Bund (a newly developed Bund heritage). Of course, Nanjing E Road is also a stone away. And then, if you intend to join the Big Tour Bus (double decker for going round the city), the stop is nearby. But you'll need to walk some 10-15 minutes in order to the Nanjing E Road subway station. If you think this is acceptable, you may consider the hotel has a great location.

For the hotel itself, it's a bit of disappointment. With all the special guanxi arrangements, my room -- a room with a view -- was great. But hot water supply for bath in the evening was below standard. And the air-con didn't work well. There are 2 lifts but they were pretty slow. The Chinese reastaurant (which was good and I was told quite famous) was on the 17th Floor, meaning lots of customers would also be waiting for lift service. As a result, you'll always need to queue for getting to the cafe for breakfast or getting back to your room. Quite an unpleasant experience (as there were always groups of loud speaking customers in the lobby).

The hotel itself is a heritage building. Very impressive. You can get a good view of the Bridge and the Bund in the cafe serving breakfast. Regarding breakfast, it's so so. Not bad for a non-international-chain-hotel in China.

Room Tip: X22 is a nice corner room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    237
    70
    26
    20
See reviews for
48
121
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here as the last stop on a small tour (5 people, requiring 4 rooms). When we arrived, we were told that the non-smoking rooms promised were not available. I'm allergic to smoke, so this was fairly disappointing in and of itself. They did provide an upgrade to a higher (executive) floor the next day, but that was disappointing as well. We were told that the new rooms were non-smoking but, in fact, there are actually no true non-smoking rooms in this hotel, as evidenced by the ashtrays on every floor. Though I was given an executive room, when I took a few colleagues to the executive lounge, I was rudely informed (in front of them) that I didn't have access to the lounge and was basically kicked out. I've never stayed on an executive floor without access to the lounge. Basically, the upgrade meant that I had to deal with the pain of moving rooms without any benefits. Also, though the manager, Jerry, is lovely, others were not especially helpful/accommodating. Oh, and the beds are rock hard.

On the upside: The hotel is very attractive (though the lobby consists of seating for 5 people max) and is in a great location. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. Corner rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is my 28th review - and my lowest rating - sadly. We had made reservations several months in advance as part of a package tour. This was our last stop in China and we had selected the hotel based on reviews. The room we were assigned was so small, one could barely squeeze between the bed and tv mounted on the wall. The carpet was beyond dirty. (I have photos.) When we approached the front desk staff, and then the manager, we were told there were no other rooms in the hotel available. Ultimately the manager promised we would be moved the next day. So we dutifully repacked our bags before our morning tour and brought our room keys to the front desk - whence we were again told there were no rooms. Our tour guide intervened and we were given a room more in keeping with what we had expected - and similar to the one our traveling companions were in. That room had a view, windows along two walls, and was clean.

So, having reservations seemed no protection, and it was disheartening that a hotel with this many stars would put anyone into our first room.

Breakfast was included. The food was good and plentiful. The main part of the restaurant was pleasant. But, two of the days, the main portion was full so we were seated in an adjacent area - the carpet was beyond dirty.

So, the hotel has an excellent location - overlooking the bridge to the Bunde, and it has some nice rooms, but apparently there is no guarentee you will get one, so you may have to fight with management when you arrive.

Room Tip: Avoid any room that ends in "16," eg. ours was 416. They are next to an elevator, with ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is located at the tip of the Bund, just across the beautiful Waibaidu Bridge, which is lit up at night. We had a Bund/river view room, which was great.
We frequently used the E. Nanjing Rd Metro (Exit 2), which was only a 10 minute walk, to go sightseeing.
The staff was excellent, especially Jerry, who was very helpful. And also the consierges, who spoke very good English. They had a wide selection for breakfast and provided 2 bottles of water daily. There is an exchange machine in the lobby, which can change paper money to Yuan and also an ATM machine.
Two Notes: 1)The rooms could use a little updating.
2) I don't understand the complaints about not having English speaking staff. How many American hotels have Chinese speaking staff?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in a very good position in the bund of Shanghai. The staff is very nice and tries to help as much as possible. They speak a very good english, not easy to find in China. The rooms are quite big and very clean. People can use the wi-fi service for free in the bar across the hall asking the password to the consierge. Our room was on the 14th floor and we had no troubles sleeping, it was very quiet.
We had a really nice stay and we will definitely keep this hotel in mind for a future trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Broadway Mansions is centerally located. We got a room on the upper floor facing the bund & the bridge, lovely view. The rooms are comfortable. If you are a tourist, Big Bus tour is at walkable distance. One of the drawbacks, You may find it difficult to find food late (after 10pm).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not a family place to stay. No mattress on the bed, only a box spring. Rooms are musty & old. Building is very historic. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Hard to get food late at night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Mansions Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.