We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel near the bund with local flavor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Mansions Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Mansions Hotel to your Saves list
Broadway Mansions Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old Hotel near the bund with local flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

One of the old hotels from the 30s conveniently located but with not the best views of the bund or the surrounding.

Facilities are few and no breakfast included. Rooms and bath size are good enough but all rooms and corridors have a distinct odor of cigarettes. Can't say much about the F&B and it seem to attract more local clientlete.

Hotel is strict about a deposit policy but all in all a convenient location and value for money gives the extra positives.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    230
    68
    25
    20
See reviews for
46
114
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I stayed in the Broadway Mansions for eight nights during the Christmas/New Year holiday, and we were very impressed with it. We managed to get a deal on a suite on the 14th floor, and the room had what is probably one of the best views of Pudong and the Bund in the entire city. (Due to the length of our stay, we were able to get a discount to 1200RMB per night, which was really great). When we moved in to the room, we pretty much fell in love with it. The views, as I stated before, were fabulous, and the room was very comfortable and spacious. There were all the basic amenities, minifridge, shampoo and soap, tooth brushes, some snacks and a bottle of wine, and a few extra things, like a Chinese tea set, which we didn't use because of it's high price to actually use the tea provided, which looked like some fancy Chinese brand. There were TVs in both rooms; living room and bedroom, which had all the basic channels, some Chinese ones, HBO, BBC and CNN. The room itself was very clean, with none of the stains on the rugs that previous reviewers have complained about, and there was pretty much no wear and tear on the furniture. The bathroom was also quite nice, with one of those crazy Japanese toilets which does pretty much everything, but we weren't able to figure out how to use it. Bath tub was quite nice, but had a bit of grunge around the drain are, which was a bit of a turn off, so I mainly used the shower, which was very nice. The closet in the bedroom was very spacious, and there were a bunch of drawers which provided ample space for clothing.
However, this hotel wasn't perfect; I found there were two problems with it. Firstly, the WiFi was really slow and watching videos online and loading up pages took forever. I realize the Great Firewall of China impedes upon the usual internet access and usage experience everyone is used to in other countries, and can in fact slow down the loading of pages, but in other hotels I stayed at during my trip to China, the internet was much faster. Perhaps if the hotel was able to get some new WiFi boosters or something, that might help? The second complaint I have is all the food in the hotel except for the buffet, which was quite good, was atrocious. We went down to the restaurant on the second floor at about 1:00PM one day, and the food we were served was terrible. However, I repeat, the food at the breakfast buffet was very good.
Overall, this hotel was very good, and if we are ever back in Shanghai, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is a good choice, especially if you are going to Shanghai for the first time. The location is great, with perfect views of the skyline, giving you this special Shanghai feeling. Good, clean rooms. We paid extra for package including breakfast and access to executive lounge. Good value if you like breakfast, as there are not very many restaurants close by. Most staff helpful and friendly, but some still on a learning curve. A bit of a hike to the closest metro station, but taxis are easy to get. Nice place also for walking or jogging along the river.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel, go for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband in late 2012. We stayed on the exec floor (10th).
We had a room which overlooked the Bund and the view was amazing.
We had our breakfast on all days except one in the exec lounge. I would recommend this as on each day we were the only ones there and the main breakfast room was very crowded the day we went there. They will advise you to head to the main room as there is more choice... but the choices in the exec lounge were fine.
The room was huge with a separate bath and shower.
The wi-fi in the hotel isnt great but I wasnt there to spend my time on the net - you cant get on facebook in China anyhow!
I would also recommend getting the Big Bus Tour ticket. It was fantastic - not just for the things you get to see but also for the most convenient transport system in Shanghai and all the discounts you get with the ticket (I would advise checking the river cruise times yourselves though).

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra and get a room on the exec floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent services despite being located in a historical building. Room is clean and spacious. Try to ask for room view a view of the river. It's definitely value for money so I can't really complain at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A pleasant experience. No complaints. Located in the Bund area. Real clean, lots of eating options, nice and spacious lobby with comfortable sitting areas and service to die for. If you even looked like you needed help or had a question, one or more staffers would be at your side. Must have 2 or 3 time more employees than American hotels. Language was a problem with some but they would always refer you to a coworker who spoke sufficiently in English. Rooms nice and big and clean. Fresh house shoes every day!

Room Tip: Since it often rains in Shanghai, don' worry about umbrellas because this hotel loans you big, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel as they advertise on their website. It is an okay hotel with a good location near The Bund, but it is certainly not a 5 star hotel.
- They charge 80 RMB (13 USD) per day for internet, but the internet is not upgraded to the level which could be expected in 2012, it's gave me big problems as I come to Shanghai for business and need efficient internet.
- Climate system are not cooling in the winter season although the temperature of my room was 26 degrees (celcius)
-The hotel appears a bit worn in different places, it's need renovation and upgrading.
- Service is okay but absolutely not top level.
- Breakfast is not giving value for money as well, they charge a price of 147 RMB (25 USD), the last few days I went to a Starbock's coffee shop nearby instead of having breakfast at the hotel.

I have been here several times in the past 10 years, at this hotel, and they have repeatedly announced that they are in the process of renovation but I can not see any improvement. It will probably be the last time that I stay here.
PS: I have been many times in China and had many positive experiences in other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#177 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Mansions Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.