We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Mansions Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Mansions Hotel to your Saves list
Broadway Mansions Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Hongkou)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 3,985 Hotels in Shanghai
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband in late 2012. We stayed on the exec floor (10th).
We had a room which overlooked the Bund and the view was amazing.
We had our breakfast on all days except one in the exec lounge. I would recommend this as on each day we were the only ones there and the main breakfast room was very crowded the day we went there. They will advise you to head to the main room as there is more choice... but the choices in the exec lounge were fine.
The room was huge with a separate bath and shower.
The wi-fi in the hotel isnt great but I wasnt there to spend my time on the net - you cant get on facebook in China anyhow!
I would also recommend getting the Big Bus Tour ticket. It was fantastic - not just for the things you get to see but also for the most convenient transport system in Shanghai and all the discounts you get with the ticket (I would advise checking the river cruise times yourselves though).

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra and get a room on the exec floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    245
    72
    27
    21
See reviews for
49
127
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent services despite being located in a historical building. Room is clean and spacious. Try to ask for room view a view of the river. It's definitely value for money so I can't really complain at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A pleasant experience. No complaints. Located in the Bund area. Real clean, lots of eating options, nice and spacious lobby with comfortable sitting areas and service to die for. If you even looked like you needed help or had a question, one or more staffers would be at your side. Must have 2 or 3 time more employees than American hotels. Language was a problem with some but they would always refer you to a coworker who spoke sufficiently in English. Rooms nice and big and clean. Fresh house shoes every day!

Room Tip: Since it often rains in Shanghai, don' worry about umbrellas because this hotel loans you big, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel as they advertise on their website. It is an okay hotel with a good location near The Bund, but it is certainly not a 5 star hotel.
- They charge 80 RMB (13 USD) per day for internet, but the internet is not upgraded to the level which could be expected in 2012, it's gave me big problems as I come to Shanghai for business and need efficient internet.
- Climate system are not cooling in the winter season although the temperature of my room was 26 degrees (celcius)
-The hotel appears a bit worn in different places, it's need renovation and upgrading.
- Service is okay but absolutely not top level.
- Breakfast is not giving value for money as well, they charge a price of 147 RMB (25 USD), the last few days I went to a Starbock's coffee shop nearby instead of having breakfast at the hotel.

I have been here several times in the past 10 years, at this hotel, and they have repeatedly announced that they are in the process of renovation but I can not see any improvement. It will probably be the last time that I stay here.
PS: I have been many times in China and had many positive experiences in other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is located on the edge of the Bund, the most colorful and energetic sight in Shanghai. Adequate room, good service, and great breakfast buffet. The streets can be noisy, but closed windows completely block out the honking horns. Two small grocery stores are a couple block away and a variety of prepared snacks and beverages are available on the Bund.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Location and view are great, but rates could be lower and breakfast needs to be improved !!!
By the way, around 9am you can't find any free table, you have to join someone... or some
nice lady, if you are more lucky, hehe !!

Room Tip: Ask for a standard river view room, it's fine, no need to pay the big difference for the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice location but rock hard bed. I was annoyed by the horns honking but learned that it is normal. If higher up and a soft beds I'd recommend it. View is nice and location convenient and very nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#343 of 3,985 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#101 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#116 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People's Square
The Bund Riverside Hotel
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#185 of 3,985 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#160 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#44 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#143 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Venere so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Mansions Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.