We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel, Great Location for Tourist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Mansions Hotel

Save Saved
You added Broadway Mansions Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Broadway Mansions Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 3,738 hotels in Shanghai
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel, Great Location for Tourist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is located on the edge of the Bund, the most colorful and energetic sight in Shanghai. Adequate room, good service, and great breakfast buffet. The streets can be noisy, but closed windows completely block out the honking horns. Two small grocery stores are a couple block away and a variety of prepared snacks and beverages are available on the Bund.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    229
    72
    25
    21
See reviews for
45
106
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Location and view are great, but rates could be lower and breakfast needs to be improved !!!
By the way, around 9am you can't find any free table, you have to join someone... or some
nice lady, if you are more lucky, hehe !!

Room Tip: Ask for a standard river view room, it's fine, no need to pay the big difference for the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice location but rock hard bed. I was annoyed by the horns honking but learned that it is normal. If higher up and a soft beds I'd recommend it. View is nice and location convenient and very nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Back in 1937 when this hotel first opened, it was "the place". In 2012, it still has location on its side and wonderful art-deco motif.. Staff are competent, speak English and do try their best to make your stay a good one.
If I had one problem with the hotel it would the hotel buffet breakfast. The buffet is presented well but if you are a party of 2, you will be sharing your table with others. Not a bad thing, necessarily, but the space if tight. I appreciated the fact the chefs did their best to not have the same breakfast items everyday, there was variety and enough items to select from. But the one problem I continually experienced every morning of my four day stay, the coffee was lukewarm to cold. Small thing, yes, but I can't understand how it could that way day after day.
Other than that, the experience was going back in time to a different era when you entered hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Bund...the night lights on the Garden Bridge and other buildings is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hotel is heritage listed and forms an integral component of the historical Bund experience. Firstly however don't miss the high speed Maglev experience from the airport but whatever you do avoid the "Red Cabs" as they will rip you off inflated fares. The Bund is the old english side of the Huangpu River with essential the Mansions as the start of the heritage trail. The staff at the Hotel are warm and courteous and accomodation is very comfortable and rooms well decorated and king size bed extremely suportive of good rest. The addition of a loofa in the bathroom is a nice touch. The TV system incortporates a computer with Internet features but is an outdated and slow feature that was superseeded by better ethernet. Our room had access to the executive lounge which is a pleasant quiet getaway with views over the river and surrounds. Whilst breakfast can accepted in this lounge we preferred the usual guest facilities for a broader selection which was top qulaity fair and excellent table service. The views from this area were spectacular even during the day but at night is when you appreciate the location of the hotel. The Bund is alive with colours and all the buildings are floodlit and a wonderful experience. However once you leave the Hotel and cross the minor bridge you see the opposite side of the river and experience the new version of the city, The Pudong. At this point you recognise that the Hotel's location is paramount to your appreciation of the visit. From the perspective of the historical Bund and the newer Pudong we highly recomend the property. The feeling is akin to viewing Hong Kong from the Star Ferry. Nonetheless you are close to transport and the shopping of Nanging Road is also an easy walk away. A stay at this Hotel is a very memorable experience for so many reasons.

Room Tip: For city lights ask for the river views. They are however more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From the bellman standing ready at the street to open the cab door, holding umbrellas over our head to keep the rain off, taking our bags from us and escorting us to our room to the roomy old-style comfort of the rooms, everything was first class at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room on the side of the Bund; the views are amazing, and it is well worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We got the metro to the hotel but managed to get a lost finding it! It is probably a 15-20 minute walk from the nearest metro station so on the way back to the airport we got a taxi which was well worth it, for 76 Yuan. We had read that taxis in China never use their meters but we did not encounter this even once so used taxi's quite a lot and found them to be the cheapeast we have ever used anywhere in the world!

We paid extra for the river view rooms having read the reviews on here, but the first room we were given was in the corner of the hotel so was very pokey, with a tiny window and no light (room ending 16). We asked if we could be moved and they quickly accommodated this and we were given a much nicer room with a huge window and the biggest bed ever (room ending 11)! We were much happier with this room.

The location is great, walk just across the bridge and you are right on the Bund with the sightseeing tunnel and the Big Bus Tour leaving only a 5 minute walk away.

As the previous reviewer said it does look like it's in need of an update from the outside but once inside everything is great.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#207 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Mansions Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.