We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for your first time in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Mansions Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Mansions Hotel to your Saves list
Broadway Mansions Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Hongkou)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 3,985 Hotels in Shanghai
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good choice for your first time in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Location and view are great, but rates could be lower and breakfast needs to be improved !!!
By the way, around 9am you can't find any free table, you have to join someone... or some
nice lady, if you are more lucky, hehe !!

Room Tip: Ask for a standard river view room, it's fine, no need to pay the big difference for the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    245
    72
    27
    21
See reviews for
49
127
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice location but rock hard bed. I was annoyed by the horns honking but learned that it is normal. If higher up and a soft beds I'd recommend it. View is nice and location convenient and very nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Back in 1937 when this hotel first opened, it was "the place". In 2012, it still has location on its side and wonderful art-deco motif.. Staff are competent, speak English and do try their best to make your stay a good one.
If I had one problem with the hotel it would the hotel buffet breakfast. The buffet is presented well but if you are a party of 2, you will be sharing your table with others. Not a bad thing, necessarily, but the space if tight. I appreciated the fact the chefs did their best to not have the same breakfast items everyday, there was variety and enough items to select from. But the one problem I continually experienced every morning of my four day stay, the coffee was lukewarm to cold. Small thing, yes, but I can't understand how it could that way day after day.
Other than that, the experience was going back in time to a different era when you entered hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Bund...the night lights on the Garden Bridge and other buildings is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hotel is heritage listed and forms an integral component of the historical Bund experience. Firstly however don't miss the high speed Maglev experience from the airport but whatever you do avoid the "Red Cabs" as they will rip you off inflated fares. The Bund is the old english side of the Huangpu River with essential the Mansions as the start of the heritage trail. The staff at the Hotel are warm and courteous and accomodation is very comfortable and rooms well decorated and king size bed extremely suportive of good rest. The addition of a loofa in the bathroom is a nice touch. The TV system incortporates a computer with Internet features but is an outdated and slow feature that was superseeded by better ethernet. Our room had access to the executive lounge which is a pleasant quiet getaway with views over the river and surrounds. Whilst breakfast can accepted in this lounge we preferred the usual guest facilities for a broader selection which was top qulaity fair and excellent table service. The views from this area were spectacular even during the day but at night is when you appreciate the location of the hotel. The Bund is alive with colours and all the buildings are floodlit and a wonderful experience. However once you leave the Hotel and cross the minor bridge you see the opposite side of the river and experience the new version of the city, The Pudong. At this point you recognise that the Hotel's location is paramount to your appreciation of the visit. From the perspective of the historical Bund and the newer Pudong we highly recomend the property. The feeling is akin to viewing Hong Kong from the Star Ferry. Nonetheless you are close to transport and the shopping of Nanging Road is also an easy walk away. A stay at this Hotel is a very memorable experience for so many reasons.

Room Tip: For city lights ask for the river views. They are however more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From the bellman standing ready at the street to open the cab door, holding umbrellas over our head to keep the rain off, taking our bags from us and escorting us to our room to the roomy old-style comfort of the rooms, everything was first class at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room on the side of the Bund; the views are amazing, and it is well worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We got the metro to the hotel but managed to get a lost finding it! It is probably a 15-20 minute walk from the nearest metro station so on the way back to the airport we got a taxi which was well worth it, for 76 Yuan. We had read that taxis in China never use their meters but we did not encounter this even once so used taxi's quite a lot and found them to be the cheapeast we have ever used anywhere in the world!

We paid extra for the river view rooms having read the reviews on here, but the first room we were given was in the corner of the hotel so was very pokey, with a tiny window and no light (room ending 16). We asked if we could be moved and they quickly accommodated this and we were given a much nicer room with a huge window and the biggest bed ever (room ending 11)! We were much happier with this room.

The location is great, walk just across the bridge and you are right on the Bund with the sightseeing tunnel and the Big Bus Tour leaving only a 5 minute walk away.

As the previous reviewer said it does look like it's in need of an update from the outside but once inside everything is great.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights.

This is a great hotel, with art deco style evident all round. Not to everyone's taste, and probably not mine but I can appreciate when things are put together well and how they are meant to look. It was built in the 1930's and still has a lot of the original features tastefully added to the rooms and the public areas.

The staff are friendly and polite and the rooms very comfortable. The location is great, just at the end of the Bund. Not right in the middle with the busy tourist areas, but situated just at the end away from the crowds.

On approaching the hotel, it does look in need of a bit of a facelift, or at least a good clean.
It does look a little unappealing, especially when looking up at it from close by. But don't let that put you off. Once inside it feels comfortable and welcoming.

Breakfast was probably the only thing that let it down a little for us with the lack of choice when it came to hot western foods. Not a major thing and we probably missed a number of dishes as we were in a rush, but we didn't really fancy cold Chinese veg for breakfast. There was plenty to choose from, especially among the local dishes but the variety didn't strike us as amazing with regard to other items.

All in all though, we were very happy with our room and the hotel.

Room Tip: If the room is at the back of the hotel, request a floor higher than 4th to avoid looking onto air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#361 of 3,985 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#97 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#116 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People's Square
The Bund Riverside Hotel
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#187 of 3,985 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#163 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#144 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Mansions Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.