We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Good Prices. Good Sightseeing but Boring Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Oriental Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2727 Riverside Avenue, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 361 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Good Prices. Good Sightseeing but Boring Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is located on the water in Pudong, right in front of the Pearl Tower. It makes a great location for a day to tour Pudong, have some nice views of the Bund, maybe take the underpass to Puxi and have a relaxed dinner. There is nothing to do in the area after the evening, All of that said, the rooms were nice, clean ans spacious, very comfortable with nice views. Extra large and comfortable bed and good bathroom. The only thing they need to change is the towels. They are large and fluffy but they seem to repel water instead of absorbing it, which makes it very uncomfortable to dry. The staff is mediocre, but that is probably the best you can expect in China.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    185
    54
    14
    5
See reviews for
12
28
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Next to the Pudong convention center - really same building. Called Bund view - but not all the rooms have views - need to pay more for those (and the view is worth it - always interesting to watch the river morning, afternoon, and especially night after all the lights are on and the show begins). Place otherwise a bit tired and showing its age. Restaurants unacceptably boring and poor service. Staff at front desk always seem dazed in the headlights - simple tasks take long time - especially with staff staring for a while at computer screen appearing baffled. "Concierge" is well-dressed in tails, but knows almost nothing about neighborhood, restaurants, sights - although he can get you a cab.
Given the neighborhood, would go for one of the more interesting hotels in more interesting buildings (and of course Pudong has one of the greatest collections of interesting buildings in the world.

Room Tip: Non-smoking with view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This looks and feels like a seriously expensive and grand five star hotel - and it is, except that with special internet room rates under $100 per night (with internet but without breakfast) even tourists on a budget can afford it.
The big plusses are the river view rooms - well worth the small extra cost - and the amazing service levels. We had internet problems which their technicians could not solve so they installed a personal wireless router in our room for the duration of our stay! Other staff were equally helpful.
As others have mentioned, the location - on the Bund and near the Pearl Tower, the metro and a huge variety of restaurants, including in the neighbouring shopping centres - is great.
The room was as you would expect from a top hotel and evening pastries was a pleasant extra.
The only serious downside was the extraordinary cost of breakfast - 262 CNY, more than $40 - but there are plenty of alternatives five minutes walk away.
Also, note that the heated swimming pool attendant requires a cap on your head before you are allowed to swim.
You are on the same metro line as the great markets at the Science and Technology Museum stop and have two methods to get to the centre of town: metro and the new Tunnel, pricey but metres from the hotel entrance.
The Oriental Riverside is a classy hotel, with facilities priced to match, but if you get a good room rate and eat outside the hotel you can enjoy Shanghai in luxury without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
463 helpful votes 463 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a hotel room that benefits from great positioning - just off the Bund, a quick walk to the famous Pearl Tower and nearby Malls and next to the Convention Center complex.

Checkin is relatively painless unless you forgot to request a non-smoking room. Almost all rooms are smoking rooms - good luck trying to sleep in these if you don't smoke. The room itself is pretty functional although the bed mattress in this room was hard, lumpy and tired as was the bathroom fittings. Selection of cable channels included some english channels although on one of the nights I experienced problems with a lot of channel freezing.

Views from the room facing the river were very nice and dining in the 'Chinese' restaurant was a pleasant experience. Breakfast was in a ballroom section (I believe the area normally set aside for breakfast was being refurbished) so seating was at large round banquet tables. This made for interesting mixed company. Breakfast selection was relatively international in it's offering but the overall quality was less than one would expect and on my second and third morning I chose to breakfast offsite.

I'd probably choose to stay elsewhere if it was for personal travel but this hotel is perfectly acceptable for business trips and those on a budget. Location within the city is this hotels biggest appeal.

Room Tip: ensure you get a river view BUT most importantly if you don't smoke - make sure you request well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is so overpriced and overrated. If you are in Pudong for an event at the convention center, stay at the Hyatt or Ritz, which are both in walking distance.

Pros of this hotel:
-View (the Bund view is truly spectacular although the windows are half the room length)
-Breakfast (included and tasty enough although not great)

Cons:
-Carpets and general room cleanliness is awful. You don't find someone else's pubic hair in your linens, but there is dirt everywhere
-Rooms smell like stale and/or fresh cigarette smoke
-Paper thin walls. You can hear the phone ring in the room next to you and hear the person pick up
-Staff in the breakfast hall is good but elsewhere in the hotel, staff is just okay

For less money, I stayed at the Langham in Xintiandi, which is one of the nicest hotels I've ever been in. Seriously, don't stay here. You'll get way more for your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade to a Bund view if you stay here. It's the only thing remarkable about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Most of the staff did not speak english or spoke very poorly and were not helpfull. Spa closed an hour before it was indicated in hotel brochure.Of course gentelman working there did not speak word of english.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was a bit worried having booked two Bund view rooms and reading recent reviews but I guess I was one of the fortunate ones as I had a great room after checking in at 01:00 following our flight. I had two queen beds instead of one king but as I was alone in my room, it wasn't a problem. Room 427 had a fantastic view of the Bund and I found the hotel to be quiet which was more than can be said for some colleagues also at a conference who stayed at hotels closer to the new conference centre and were disturbed by car horns all night.

Anyway, the room was fine and the hotel was clean. The bathroom was great although I have no idea why they turned the shower head to the wall each night! The sweets left in the evening were pretty hideous though :) Other reviews have mentioned the hard beds and whilst they were a bit hard, I didn't find them uncomfortable. Internet access was reliable and pretty fast but only wired in the rooms (ethernet cable provided). Whilst we were there it was unseasonably hot (42 degrees) and we heard that power consumption was an issue which could explain why they turned my aircon temperature up every day but it didn't cause an issue as I just turned it down again to keep the room cool. There was a notice stating that the hotel was undergoing renovations, but I never noticed anything myself although I didn't try and use the gym or pool.

We checked in at 01:00 without any problem and checked out at 04:00. Check-out took a bit longer but we had two trainee's doing this for us but it went smoothly with no unexpected charges. We did pre-book an airport taxi though which was waiting at 04:00 for us.

Talking of taxi's, it cost us about RMB220 from the airport late at night and our driver did get a little lost trying to find the entrance even though we gave him the address in Chinese.

The location was great. About 5 minutes walk past the Pearl TV tower (always crowded) to get to the Metro over the 'man-roundabout' which was awesome and always totally packed. The Bund Sightseeing Tunnel is literally outside the hotel entrance and is a way of getting across the Bund easily although it is a little expensive at 70RMB for the return -- it does have to be seen to be believed though -- we couldn't stop laughing every time we went through it!

Breakfast was good with a massive selection although red beans in tomato (baked beans) only appeared on one day. The chinese version of western sausages didn't work out too well and they constantly moved the tea each day so breakfast turned into a bit of a game of hide and seek to make a brew. Breakfast was a bit expensive though at around 200RMB (about £20 GBP)

All the staff were pleasant and very helpful and most of them had a basic grasp of English meaning we could communicate. The bar was never busy when we were there and prices for both the bar and the mini-bar and room service were reasonable considering this is a 4* hotel (much cheaper outside of course!)

All in all, it surpassed my expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Even the working girls who stayed around the hotel entrance after dark (only two of them) were extremely polite and when you said that you didn't want a 'lady massage' or 'special massage', they didn't hassle unlike some of the chaps on opposite side of the river. Whilst smoking outside late at night they were happy to chat away.

For reference, we paid around £70 (GBP) for River View rooms in July via hotels.com. Others attending the conference with us paid well over £100 for rooms in hotels closer to the new conference centre. We preferred to stay close to the Bund for evening eating and drinking, but it did take us close to an hour to get from the hotel to the New conference centre via the Metro (cost of 40pence).

If you are heading to a busy conference at the New Conference Centre, think about getting a Day Pass for the Metro for 16RMB - it last 24 hours and means you don't have to queue for 30 minutes to get a ticket once the conference closes. Also, ensure you change at Longyang Road for the final stop on a separate line as it is quite a walk in 40 degree temperatures from Longyang Road!

Room Tip: I would suggest that rooms numbered up to around x33 would get a good River View without the confere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Hotel

Address: No.2727 Riverside Avenue, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#118 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#189 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oriental Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Riverside Shanghai
Hotel Oriental Riverside
Oriental Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.