We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the Pearl Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Oriental Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2727 Riverside Avenue, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Near the Pearl Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked this hotel by accident having not visited Shanghai for 16 years, but what a pleasant surprise. We thought it was on the other side of the river, as some websites inaccurately show its location. It's tucked away but nicely alongside the Huangpu river. Not necessarily easy to find it/ the entrance from the Metro on your first visit, but not a real problem the second time.

The big positives are the rooms - large size, quality fittings and clean; staff - courteous, attentive.
Good value, would definitely book again

Room Tip: Ask for a Bund view - it's spectacular and busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    192
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
12
32
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the best located hotels for for sightseeing. The Bund rooms at a small extra cost are a must. The hotel is central to the Glitz of Shanghai and only a few hundred yards from the metro. The hotel itself is a genuine 5 star international standard, expensive for Shanghai but well worth it.

Room Tip: Get a bund view room, the lower the rom number by floor the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I might be kicking myself for writing this because everytime I find an awesome place that's just off the beaten path, it seems like the next time I travel down that path, it's worn and tattered. Well, let me first say that my taxi driver didn't even know where this place was, but when I got to it it was nothing short of grand. The staff was friendly, the place was immaculate and the room was bigger and better than I could ever have expected, especially for $165 USD/night. The location is right on the Huangpu with great views of both the river, the bund and the financial district of Lujiazui on the other side. It's a quick walk to the Oriental Peart TV Tower, Shanghai World Financial Center Tower and the Jin Mao Tower which all surround the Lujiazui Metro Station. For around $18USD you can get the buffet breakfast (if it doesn't already come with your room) but I might skip it...there are way better places for way less. Overall I would definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to return and i would definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a magical hotel, spotless, with all the amenities one could ask for.
Located literally in the shadows of Shanghai's skyscrapers and a breathtaking view of the Pund especially at night. Underpass to Nanjing road across the road from the main entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarzana, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stay three very nice days ! Good hospitality and very nice swimming pool on the roof! The breakfast is very complete and in a very big area. In the center of the city in fromt of the bund I hope to stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent location on the riverside with spectacular views across to the Bund. Some good places to eat on the riverfront , steps from the hotel.
Rooms spacious and luxurious with lots of amenities. The hotel has a nice pool with views over the city (but swim hats are obligatory) Staff ok, could have been friendlier. Check-in was efficient and we were in our room within ten minutes of entering the hotel. You can walk straight across the street to the sightseeing tunnel, which takes you across to the Bund within 5 minutes (although the tunnel itself as a little strange, and tacky). Alternatively the nearest Metro station is only five minutes walk from the hotel, right underneath the Pearl Tower.
Would stay here again if I returned to Shanghai

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed for a night and didn't totally explore in details of the hotel and surrounding area. In general, room is comfortable, view not very nice as block by the hotel roof, front desk are helpful but don't expect more as lack of english but still acceptable. The main point before you book a hotel in Shanghai, make sure it close to metro station and this hotel is very near to one of the metro station by walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Hotel

Address: No.2727 Riverside Avenue, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#117 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#260 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oriental Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Riverside Shanghai
Hotel Oriental Riverside
Oriental Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.