We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a five stars!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Save Saved
You added Hua Ting Hotel & Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Shanghai Stadium)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off Towers Room rate
Ranked #210 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
rome
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not a five stars!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

When you enter the hall it seems wonderful, so elegant and luxurious. The best thing of this hotel is the all itself, and the breakfast, with such a variety of items from Chinese and International cooking!!! But now comes the worst part: the bathroom wasn't cleaned up well, the a/c didn't work, the room is quite small (not a five stars one, even if with wonderful view on Shangai), the towels weren't replaced on the second day (i don't say they didn't change them, they did but forgot to give us the new ones), the wifi was free only in the business room on the second floor, in the rooms you had to pay for it. The sistem of room lights didn't work well (the bathroom ones could not be switched on except if you remove and insert again the room key). The furniture was old and a little bit damaged. In summary, not a five stars hotel..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Romangirl79,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TRIPADVISOR. Our ultimate goal is to provide guests with an exceptional environment and superior service.

It is with great regret that I learned of the unfortunate experience that you had during your stay. I extend my sincerest apologies to you on behalf of the entire staff at Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers,

This Incident has allowed my colleagues and I the earnest opportunity to examine our shortcomings. We will strive to ensure that such episodes are not repeated, and that all guests are treated with the superior level of service that they expect here. We hope sincerely that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you under more pleasant circumstances in the future.

Respectfully yours,

Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    220
    73
    23
    9
See reviews for
15
24
13
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

In China to visit a plant in Changshu and wanted to stay in Shanghai before flight home. Good location to visit spots in town for sightseeing and dining. Very nice hotel, excellent buffet, especially for breakfast. Cab fares to other points are very reasonable and easy.

Hotel is right across the street from the Arena and Stadium.

Smoking rooms are available

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear glassman72,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TRIPADVISOR. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
We take pride in offering high standards of service at all times, and your comments will certainly encourage us in our pursuit of excellence. Please accept our sincere appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towels in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was my 5th visit and i have to say a big thank you to everyone.
Especially the band, who as ever were welcoming to everyone and made everyone comfortable in the lounge bar.
I am a business man and i need to know that the entertainment will be morally correct and subtle enough for all to enjoy the ambiance in style. I entertain nearly every evening I am there , which is usually 10 days Well done you guys you tick every box for what a Hotel band should be!
big thanks to all the staff in the hotel
See you all in February 2014.

Room Tip: Yes the executive rooms are really well worth the extra money , just for breakfast overlooking shang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TRIPADVISOR. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
We take pride in offering high standards of service at all times, and your comments will certainly encourage us in our pursuit of excellence. Please accept our sincere appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towels in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was in Shanghai for business and did not get much time to explore the city. From Pudong Airport to Hua Ting it was about 190RMB taxi ride. Shanghai was a large city. While the hotel was close to the metro station (right outside of the door there were entrances to two different lines), it would take about 30-40 minutes to get to the Bund. So in terms of convenience, it was so-so. The hotel was on the old side but it was reasonably clean. There was no wifi connection in the room, and Internet connection was slow and costly. The breakfast was OK. I needed a late check-out because of meetings, and was granted it reluctantly. The concierge and bell hop were quite helpful, though. For a short business trip, it was an OK hotel. For leisure, it might be more convenient to find some place nearer to the sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our final stay in China, 3 nights before returning to USA. The room was clean, well furnished with comfortable beds. The breakfast had many Chinese and Western foods, was in a pleasant dining room. The concierge was very helpful, provided a card with English and Chinese directions for the cabbies to get us back home. Our final night we dined in the 26th floor restaurant. Great food and lovely view, a fitting adventure to our Chinese trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. Conference was held at the hotel, Room was OK located on the front of the building overlooking the indoor sports stadium. Although there was a lot of passing traffic this was not a problem in the room. The location is excellent with entrances to the Metro at either end of the hotel car park. Staff from Housekeeping and in the business centre where very helpful and very efficient. The conference facility is an excellent venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at HuaTing Hotel May 25-28 and could not have been happier with our decision. The location was outstanding,next to the subway station.Besides of the perfect location, the staff was excellent. Every single contact was positive and the helpful attitude made us happy. The view from our window was so beautiful.The room was well equipped The lobby was so impressive and the food were of good quality.The most important thing was the room rate was competitive.We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hua Ting Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Address: No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#157 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#202 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hua Ting Hotel & Towers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star hotel within the city's bustling Xu Jia Hui business district in Shanghai, the Hua Ting Hotel & Towers is an exquisite combination of luxury and convenience. Our guests enjoy the hotel's lavish accommodation, wide range of quality restaurants and excellent transport links. Both the city ring road and an underground rail line are at the hotel's doorstep, with major department stores, offices, entertainment and restaurants all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hua Ting Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Ting Hotel And Towers
Hua Ting Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.