We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Save Saved
You added Hua Ting Hotel & Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Shanghai Stadium)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off Towers Room rate
Ranked #198 of 3,837 hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Passable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was in Shanghai for business and did not get much time to explore the city. From Pudong Airport to Hua Ting it was about 190RMB taxi ride. Shanghai was a large city. While the hotel was close to the metro station (right outside of the door there were entrances to two different lines), it would take about 30-40 minutes to get to the Bund. So in terms of convenience, it was so-so. The hotel was on the old side but it was reasonably clean. There was no wifi connection in the room, and Internet connection was slow and costly. The breakfast was OK. I needed a late check-out because of meetings, and was granted it reluctantly. The concierge and bell hop were quite helpful, though. For a short business trip, it was an OK hotel. For leisure, it might be more convenient to find some place nearer to the sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    222
    73
    23
    9
See reviews for
15
25
13
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sedona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our final stay in China, 3 nights before returning to USA. The room was clean, well furnished with comfortable beds. The breakfast had many Chinese and Western foods, was in a pleasant dining room. The concierge was very helpful, provided a card with English and Chinese directions for the cabbies to get us back home. Our final night we dined in the 26th floor restaurant. Great food and lovely view, a fitting adventure to our Chinese trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. Conference was held at the hotel, Room was OK located on the front of the building overlooking the indoor sports stadium. Although there was a lot of passing traffic this was not a problem in the room. The location is excellent with entrances to the Metro at either end of the hotel car park. Staff from Housekeeping and in the business centre where very helpful and very efficient. The conference facility is an excellent venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at HuaTing Hotel May 25-28 and could not have been happier with our decision. The location was outstanding,next to the subway station.Besides of the perfect location, the staff was excellent. Every single contact was positive and the helpful attitude made us happy. The view from our window was so beautiful.The room was well equipped The lobby was so impressive and the food were of good quality.The most important thing was the room rate was competitive.We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel near downtown, near metro, nice view on the city.

All the staff in every department. They were all friendly and helpful.

Excellent service and help from the staff in the business center, assisting in sending a parcel to Hong Kong.

House keeping on 12th floor. very friendly made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have just eaten dinner at this hotel, and has also eaten breakfast.
It's disgusting!

The chefs (two people), take the food with their bare hands, without any kind of plastic gloves or fork.

This applies to my experience every morning and evening.
This evening it was too much, and I informed the hotel that they lack training.

Breakfast was generally ok, price 200 CNY.
The evening meal was lousy, especially for the price, which was 300 CNY it was not hot, the committee was not particularly good. The meat was dry.

I must admit that here I will not eat again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Was part of a group tour April 26-29. Third hotel in China. Lobby was impressive, but the room was small and carpet/furnishings were faded. Worst of all in late April - the AC shut down on multiple floors at 9 pm at night. Called front desk, told to call housekeeping, who sent engineer. Nice guy, no English. He used laser temp to show room was 80 degrees. Housekeeping translated that the hotel shuts down all AC. Ok..why did you send engineer?? The only option was to open window a crack. No breeze to pull in cooler air.
Next day, we all complained - including Chinese host. No joy.
Buffet was good for breakfast. Nice choices and clean area.
Wi-fi only worked in 1st floor restaurant or bar next door.
We ate at Japanese restaurant, and we were fooled by seeing English speaking front desk that maybe someone in the Japanese restaurant spoke. Nope. Good meal, but language was so frustrating it kinda killed the meal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for choosing Hua Ting Hotel & Towers Shanghai! Also thank you for giving us feedback. We apologize for your unpleasant experience in our hotel. We already sent this comment to hotel management. We will strengthen management and training to improve the quality of service. One thing we need to explain is that the Japanese restaurant is not run by our hotel, we have no right to ask waiters in this restaurant can speak english. We hope you can understand. Thanks again and looking forward to your coming in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hua Ting Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Address: No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#178 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hua Ting Hotel & Towers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star hotel within the city's bustling Xu Jia Hui business district in Shanghai, the Hua Ting Hotel & Towers is an exquisite combination of luxury and convenience. Our guests enjoy the hotel's lavish accommodation, wide range of quality restaurants and excellent transport links. Both the city ring road and an underground rail line are at the hotel's doorstep, with major department stores, offices, entertainment and restaurants all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hua Ting Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Ting Hotel And Towers
Hua Ting Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.