We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star lobby but unless their housekeeping improves, you are better off staying in another hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hua Ting Hotel & Towers to your Saves list
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Shanghai Stadium)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
National Day from ¥559
Ranked #197 of 3,848 Hotels in Shanghai
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“5 star lobby but unless their housekeeping improves, you are better off staying in another hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our group of 81 persons stayed here for 3 nights (April 12-14, 2013). Their spacious lobby was impressive with fountain & shops but their housekeeping needs total reorientation. They don't vacumm clean their carpet everyday coz the cigarette butt we clearly saw on the carpeted hallway floor going to our room from day 1 was still there until we checked out. Their carpet floor was so dirty (my white socks became dirty white while walking in our room in just a few minutes) & dusty that i had coughing from dust allergy so i did not have good sleep during our 3night stay there. No free wifi in our room (only in lobby) and their bathroom is quite small & its water closet has no bidet spray for a hotel claiming to be 5 star. Air con control is antique and air con did not work so well so it was hot con instead of air con. And when we asked front desk to check air con, we were told "our air con is not working at this season." Plus points: There is a business center on the second floor where there is free wifi, its buffet breakfast has wide choices and a convenience store is nearby. But unless their housekeeping improves and understands better the difference between what is clean and dirty and they improve their air conditioning, you are better off staying in another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    226
    78
    23
    9
See reviews for
17
27
14
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this hotel is conveniently located next to a subway station. They offer a wide selection for breakfast in a very comfortable restaurant. Only gripe is you have to pay for wifi in the room, but it is free in the lobby and breakfast restaurant. The rooms are very comfortable so value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was on a business trip and the hosting company paid for the hotel - everything was fine but not 5 star for sure, 3.5 stars. the rooms are fine but nothing to remember. the location is fine but not if you want to walk to interesting things. If you don't want to leave the hotel the prices are usa prices. I wouldn't stay here again on my own $'s.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Originally we had a non-smoking room on the 24th floor, but the floor itself is "not" non-smoking so we moved our room to 1207. The view was of the back of the hotel so it was not as pretty, but we liked the room much better (the 12th floor is all non-smoking). The bed was comfortable and the room was cozy. Shanghai's rate of a 5 star is more of the states 4 star. We really enjoyed breakfast every morning in the Garden Court Restuarant (which we included in our room reservation) it is a Buffett and they have everything we are used to eating. Please keep in mind none of the food will taste exactly the same to the United States but it's similar and good. The hotel staff were all very professional and kind. We were able to rent a wireless wifi box from the business office on the second floor and they also have free wifi at several locations throughout the hotel. I know you can get secure wifi at the Garden Court Restaurant (ask your server for the password), the second floor outside the business office (on the desk just inside the door of the business office has the password) and outside has a nice seating area, and the 25th floor which is an executive area. The spa in the hotel appears to be independent of the hotel and it is not up to our standards so we skipped it. The subway is located outside the hotel driveway on the right side. Cabs are always at the front door and we learned the reputable ones are (green, white, and dark yellow) always ask for a receipt which is pronounced (fa pi ow). There is a mall across the street which has a Mc Donald's on the bottom floor and a Big Mac combo will cost you $3.00 US. There are 2 more malls down the street on the same side as the hotel (Gateway Mall) and (Oriental Shopping Mall) both malls have all the stores the states have. We crossed the street from the Oriental Shopping Center and walked throughout the neighborhoods and we found a lovely city park. Our trip was mostly business, but my husband and I had a couple of days to relax with each other too and it was very nice and convenient to have been at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with 1207 or the 12th floor because it is all non-smoking. We had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My favourite hotel in Shanghai and the service is excellent. Room is a bit dated but fortunately still clean. As it is used to be Sheraton Shanghai, the breakfast is still very much maintained. Really value for money. U can just hop into the subway which is just next to the hotel, shg indoor stadium station n is so convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We're spending two weeks here with my husband who's on a business trip, this is the end of the first week. I'm a bit confused. From the outside it really does look like an elegant hotel but don't let it fool you. As you enter you still think that 'yeah, I've made a good choice picking this place' because the lobby is really nice with lots of flowers. Unfortunately the list of positive things I'd like to mention is done here. Staff are not kind and polite. Nobody helped us with our luggage. I mean of course I can carry it but this is supposed to be a 5-star hotel. Never mind, you get over the cold reception hoping your room will make up for everything. Sadly, it doesn't. By the way, don't forget to make sure you get a non-smoking room (if you're not a smoker) because they tend to put everyone on the smoking floors. Even if you are on a non-smoking floor, you can still smell the stink of cigarettes all day. The wallpaper is stingy, so is the carpet. Seems like they never vacuum. There is some mold in the bathroom and everything looks overused. There's no wireless connection in the rooms, just cable Internet access. Mattress is quite firm, that's the only thing I like about this room.
They have a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and a gym which is nice. Breakfast is unreasonably expensive but at least it's delicious and you can eat all kinds of stuff: eggs, fruit, pancakes, local food.
There is a subway stop here (line 1 - Indoor Stadium) which is really good since it's easy to use and gets you downtown pretty quickly.
I definitely don't recommend this place to couples or families who want to spend their hoildays here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is best avoided like the plague!! food awful, if you can call it food almost inedible and who knows exactly what you were eating. old, tatty, major need of revamping or simply knock it down and start again, plus side staff very helpful but limited ability and all most no one had anything but minimum English.

Rooms at best basic and compared to other 5 star hotels this can’t be anything ABOVE 2 star

Power and light lethal an accident waiting to happen,room discription from travel agent was a joke nothing like what we paid for or recieved despite 3 room changes and then only just liveable

internet availability is a joke lucky if its functioning for more than periodic connection

Stay here again!!! I would rather have a week camping in a war torn African republic or sell pork sandwiches in Saudi Arabia with a whisky chaser ..

This Hotel should have a warning notice posted on it disgraceful !!!!!!!!!!!

Date stayed 9th and 10th January 2013 Chris and Liz

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hua Ting Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Address: No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#190 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hua Ting Hotel & Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star hotel within the city's bustling Xu Jia Hui business district in Shanghai, the Hua Ting Hotel & Towers is an exquisite combination of luxury and convenience. Our guests enjoy the hotel's lavish accommodation, wide range of quality restaurants and excellent transport links. Both the city ring road and an underground rail line are at the hotel's doorstep, with major department stores, offices, entertainment and restaurants all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hua Ting Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Ting Hotel And Towers
Hua Ting Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.