We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lansheng Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lansheng Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Lansheng Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1000 Quyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200437, China (Formerly Radisson SAS Lang Sheng Hotel) (Jiangwan / Wujiaochang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
cebu
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Management problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The hotels name is now Shanghai Lansheng Hotel, does not carry anymore SAS Radisson in its name.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well acceptable. It is however very evident that the hotel is facing a range of management problems. Facilities which the hotel may have had in the past like KTV, disco are closed. The bar most time closed, when I looked into it it was always empty.

The hotel is suffering unfriendly male pe3rsonnel presenting some attitude like not having to serve Non-Chinese guest. The only highlight some friendly female trainees which better than all the other hotel staff.

During 2 months of stay I noted frequent interruptions of the supply of water to the guest rooms due to maintenance. On some occasions these interruptions exceeded the time as indicated on the hotel TV channel.

Negative also the location, no real attractions in the vicinity of the hotel.

Considering the 4 stars and it’s 4 star price, Shanghai certainly to provide better options. Acceptable only at a discounted low rate.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
7
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

We stayed in Shanghai for 4 nights in June 2006 at this hotel. Out tour operator Kuoni offered 2 hotels in Shanghai - this one and the Shrangri La (which was very expensive). We had concerns about the location before we left and were proved correct. There is absolutely nothing around the hotel. You have to get a taxi wherever you go and need to avoid doing this in rush hour as it takes longer. The taxis were cheap but when we tried to get a taxi from the New World to the hotel at night some of the taxi drivers did not know where the hotel was and did not take us. On one occasion, we had to direct the taxi driver to our hotel - not easy when he did not speak english.

The breakfast was average, although the rooms were a good size. The view from the hotel room was uninspiring - a concrete jungle.

Having been there, I think it would be better to stay at Howard Johnson or Ramada. We did ask our travel company for an alternative, but they were unable to offer this to us.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

I loved this hotel, the rooms were big, clean and nicely decorated, we had a king size bed, huge bathroom with seperate shower and bath, breakfast was lovely, there were some works going on outside of the hotel but didn't effect our stay, good location 5 star!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allister
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

this hotel was the worst experience of my life all the rooms smelt mouldy and they even had a dehumidifier in the middle of the lounge area i wouldnt recommend it to my worst ememy

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2004

We stayed here May 2004 for over a week and were disappointed.

Rooms: The rooms were badly in need of a remodel. The carpet was faded and stained. The bathroom wasn't cleaned well. The bedding was old and dingy. The room and entire floor reeked of smoke even though it was a nonsmoking room. The view was interesting, especially in the morning when the bicycle traffic comes by. The breakfast served was good, though the same every day which gets boring.

Location: This hotel is far from nearly everything. You will have to take a taxi everywhere you go. It was about 20 or 30 minutes to get downtown to all of the main sites. Fortunately that taxi ride was often only $5.

Overall, there are many other nicer hotels in better locations. I would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansheng Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansheng Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1000 Quyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200437, China (Formerly Radisson SAS Lang Sheng Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#190 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansheng Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lansheng Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Lansheng Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansheng Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.